Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ergonomic Snips

The larger size and rubber padding on the handles of our new stainless steel fly-fishing nipper make them easier and more comfortable to use. Specially designed pad to fit the thumb. Made of 420-grade stainless steel. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
1
37 of 45(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ergonomic Snips
Review 1 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for daughter,
December 14, 2013
By: Huronman
from Ann Arbor, Mi.
"I've used these snips for a couple of years now and they are great. They have held up well, are significantly more comfortable and easier to use than the older non-ergo model.
My daughter inherited an older Orvis model from me and has wished aloud many times on the stream for snips like mine. She will get her wish this Christmas! (I also bought an extra pair for backup). Great product!"
Review 2 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality nipper,
August 30, 2013
By: Timbikerdude
from Rathdrum, Idaho
"The nipper works well and is reasonably priced. I have big hands and fingers and the nipper is easier to operate for me."
Review 3 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Snips!,
August 11, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"These are great sharp snips. They take little effort to cut leader and were an upgrade to the snips I had. Only reason I gave 4 stars was due to price."
Review 4 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Ergonomic Snips,
August 5, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I attached these to my lanyard system and find them to be very good for cutting common fly fishing leaders, tippet and fly lines. They are not especially good for wire, fused or braided lines. The shape is comfortable and it fits nicely between thumb and forefinger. I also appreciate the eye cleaning needle on the side. I spend some time at my local Orvis store inspecting and selecting a pair that had perfectly aligned and machined cutting surfaces. Do this if you have the chance; others have also noted gaps in the cutting surface that will reduce cutting performance. Not nearly the quality of the Abel nippers (fraction of the price, as well). However, these are a decent pair of nippers at a reasonable price."
Review 5 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
well...,
April 12, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"It is a good line clipper, easier to hold, less likely to drop it..., but it was definitely not worth as much as It
cost.
"
Review 6 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
February 5, 2013
By: newfisherman
from Nova Scotia Canada
"snip is easy to hold and use and is not bulky on the vest"
Review 7 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Product,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The oversized nipper is very nice, especially when your hands are numb on a January steelhead trip. My issue with it was the jaws seemed to dull awfully fast. The eye cleaning pin is in a good spot on the side."
Review 8 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing-Both Pair Purchased,
October 30, 2012
By: PapaGary
from Los Gatos, CA
"I am replacing some less expensive snips in hopes of having a quality pair that would require little effort cutting leaders and tippets. When I received them I put them right back in the package and sent them back for exchange.
The cutting edges did not line up with flush contact across the length of the blade. There was daylight visible through both ends of the cutting surfaces rendering the outer portions of the blade unusable. The new ones are the same. I will be sending those back as well.
**Not a precision made tool and would not recommend you purchase them. My $5 snips were just as effective."
Review 9 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Clippers !,
October 30, 2012
By: DavidB
from NC
"Every fly fisherman needs good tools and these clippers "fit the bill" nicely. Very ergonomically designed and razor sharp to take care of business. Thanks Orvis for another fine product that only Orvis can deliver."
Review 10 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST NIPPER EVER,
October 24, 2012
By: BMANZ71
from New Paris, PA
"You simply cannot find a better nipper than this one. It fits your hands better and with the eye cleaning pin located on the side it does not get caught on the zinger. Also, with it being black, it does not spook the trout."
Review 11 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It Cuts,
October 17, 2012
By: Kdenver
"This works as well as expected. It is easy to grip and cuts well."
Review 12 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meh...,
October 16, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I ordered two of these at the same time. I like the size and feel of it, but I had a couple of issues.
On both, the poker was too big to use on my smaller midges. I will need to hone the pokers to a sharper point for them to work for me.
On one of the tools, the teeth didn't line up correctly, so it would only cut line on one side of the snips.
For the price, I expected a better functioning tool."
Review 13 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
And I so wanted these,
October 12, 2012
By: Springbranch
"I have flyfished for half a century and during that time have used cheap two pair for a buck fingernail clippers. Sometimes you get a good pair that cut 7X tippet with ease and sometimes you get a pair that is relegated to fingernails - what do you expect for four bits. I had coveted a pair of real fly fishing clippers and finally broke down and got a pair of these Orvis ergonomic clippers. They are wonderful in every way except one. The quality of the cutting edge is not precise enough to cut a 6X tippet. They do everything except the one thing they you buy them for. Oh well back to my 50 cent wonders."
Review 14 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Snips,
September 29, 2012
By: JPort
from Maine
"I've had these snips for a couple weeks now and I really like them. The pads keep wet fingers from slipping. They are sharp and seem to be great quality."
Review 15 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no glasses needed,
August 14, 2012
By: dullevie
from CT and Chapaquiddick
"best nipper on the market, big enough to use w/o glasses, pokes head cement out of the hook eye, large size easy to control"
Review 16 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effective snips,
July 11, 2012
By: SWFisher
from Southern England
"Much more effective than my old (plastic) snips. I particularly like the position of the eye needle"
Review 17 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
May 31, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"Many snips are too small - these are just right for me. Yet, they are light and sit well on a retractor."
Review 18 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not like; returned,
May 27, 2012
By: CGA96
from Providence, RI
"After using these nippers several times, I didn't like how the hook-eye cleaning needle was built into the side of the nippers. Every time I grabbed the nippers, I stabbed myself with the needle, which although it didn't really hurt, it was annoying. Orvis had great customer service as always, and allowed me to return them with no problems."
Review 19 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nippers I have owned,
May 17, 2012
By: DaveR
from Des Moines IA
"For years I used the Orvis Fly Fisher's Nips and when I needed a new pair I decided to order the Ergonomic Snips. I used them for the first time this past weekend and they are great! I especially like that the needle comes out on the side instead of the top. They are very sharp and cut my tippet clean and smooth. These are a winner!"
Review 20 for Ergonomic Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big & Easy,
February 8, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"The work well and being so big helps a lot. They are easy to find and cut pretty well (most of the time)"