Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Woolly Bugger Chenille

The best we've found for Woolly Buggers. The densest Antron chenille available. Pearl Mylar® tinsel adds fish-catching flash. A must. In sculpin olive, tan, brown, white, chartreuse, black, olive. In medium, small. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Review 1 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
March 4, 2014
By: NHflytyer
from Westwood, MA
"I've been teaching a fly tying class for beginners, They all want to tie Woolly Buggers and this chenille is just perfect for them to use. Not only is it easy to handle and tie on the fly but it adds a dynamic to the end product. Looks like they will be catching some fish with these flies after using this great chenille!"
Review 2 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chenile,
February 25, 2014
By: softhackle
"tightly woven, just enough flash to show up, good color."
Review 3 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT for woolly buggers!,
February 18, 2014
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"This product is like it says, perfect for woolly buggers. It stays together great!"
Review 4 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chenille,
February 11, 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"First purchase to start my fly tying hobby and very satisfied. tied up a few wolly buggers and caught some nice trout. Materials very easy to use and quality is good"
Review 5 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A little too big.,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"Ties on fine and I like the look of it, but I do have two complaints.
1) It is REALLY big and is somewhat hard to work with.
2) The "shiny" stuff comes off very easily."
Review 6 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woolly Bugger Chenille,
January 20, 2014
By: BassTracker
from Central Florida
"Just started tying flies and Orvis makes it easy. This woolly bugger chenille is just what it's supposed to be, the perfect body for the perfect fly."
Review 7 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right amount of flash & great thickness,
January 21, 2013
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I have been searching for a way to add just enough flash to my Wooly Buggers without making them too fat. I don't like a real flashy Bugger. The small size makes for a slender profile on size 4 and 6 hooks, and the density makes it easy to get an even body. Just enough flash. My lead free cone head Buggers are tied in a variety of combos of olive and black and have caught multiple species of large fish."
Review 8 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good all around,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"The medium size is working pretty good for bass and the small size works well for trout. I like this chenille because of it's versatility."
Review 9 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Size,
July 5, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Small is the perfect size for the woolly buggers I tie. Would buy again."
Review 10 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Chenile,
January 12, 2012
By: slomo
from Jefferson City, MO
"Orvis nailed it with their signature chenile. I especially like the olive. Add in some brown hackle and the trouts will go nuts."
Review 11 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pretty,
December 15, 2011
By: rsb1
from hudson valley, ny
"This stuff looks very nice to me and I hope fish feel the same. I wondered why the price was less and no length is specified until I received it.
Nothing close to 5 yards like regular chenille. That's why 4 stars.
"
Review 12 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets the job done,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I've been landing a ton of bass all this season on wooly buggers tied with this chenelle! Loving it! :)"
Review 13 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Buggers!,
April 19, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friends kept asking me why my wooly buggers looked so great, and I finally let it slip that I switched to using Orvis' wooly bugger chenile. The wooly bugger is something I have to keep in my fly box for any occasion, in all sizes and colors (with and without weight, or with and without flash) because it's just one of those killer flies (at least for me). Having this chenile on hand makes it easier for me to tie all my buggers at the season's beginning. The material holds up well to the beating it takes during my season and my flies continue to look great (as well as working great)."
Review 14 for Woolly Bugger Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead slayer chenille,
June 18, 2008
By: gfp1
"This is by far the finest wooly bugger body material I have found. I have found, as have the friends I tie for, that the buggers tied with this chenille out fish all the others I have used by a wide margin. I started using this when it first became available and my hookups increased dramatically. I don't even pick up any of the other types I have in my materials drawers when tying wooly buggers anymore."