Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tying Material Grab Bag

Half the fun is not knowing what you're going to get. The other half is knowing that whatever you get, it will be a great addition to your materials and save you money. Sold alone, the grab bag items would cost at least twice as much. No two grab bags are alike. Each contains a random selection of choice materials such as hairs, feathers, tinsel, Flashabou, marabou. You never know, but you'll always be pleased. Medium: 15 items. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
30 of 34(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tying Material Grab Bag
Review 1 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas in July,
August 5, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Felt like it was Christmas when I opened the bag and started sorting through the individually packaged goodies. My mind started spinning with ideas for variations of published ties."
Review 2 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the creative type,
July 18, 2013
By: xrayts
from MO
"It is exactly what it says, "...a random selection...", but if you're creative, almost all useful. If you want a cheap way to get materials for common patterns, this is NOT it. If you want to get a selection of materials that you might incorporate into a home-brew pattern, you found it. The only knock I can give it is that the quantities are small and the labeling is poor, with no identification on 75% of the materials."
Review 3 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Item,
February 21, 2013
By: Limefish
"I gave this as a gift to my boyfriend, he was impressed with the quality and variety of materials included in the medium size grab bag."
Review 4 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprising Variety & Quantity!,
January 17, 2013
By: SchnateP
from Dallas, TX
"A wonderful variety of materials. Great way to get started tying. The bag had materials like extra-fine wire, chenille, and dubbing that i've wanted to try but haven't purchased.
Looking forward to learning a few new techniques with these new materials."
Review 5 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so much stuff,
January 16, 2013
By: eag2313
"i love this the product comes with so much stuff not sure i will be able to use it all"
Review 6 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for tying with the kids,
January 12, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I bought each of my kids a grab bag so they could create their own flies. They were very excited to look through the bag and see what they got. We have used the materials to make some original creations and it has been great to see them so excited about tying flies."
Review 7 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Start,
October 26, 2012
By: westgrandfish
"My son wants to learn to tie. and this was the Best deal and it came with tons of stuff to use. thanks!"
Review 8 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good starter bag,
September 25, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"I purchased one of these bags when I first started tying. It came with some pretty cool material, but some of the material I had no idea how to use. There were a few items that I was unable to use. It's a decent grab bag."
Review 9 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Interesting mix for tying flies,
September 3, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Waldport, OR
"I am a novice fly tier and wanted to try a kit from Orvis. The kit has a good mix of products and some of the colors are interesting. Not a kit if you want something with all natural colors, but there is also a good mix of threads and traditional colored items."
Review 10 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
quantity not qulity,
August 15, 2012
By: OliverW
from Greenwich, NY
"I began tying flies last winter as a hobby. I've thoroughly enjoyed doing it and I think that my skills have improved greatly after tying 100+ flies. I started out with a no-name kit from some random company which included a book and enough material for 5 flies and I was hooked (pun intended).
After quickly running to to the local Orvis store, I bought enough material to tie a dozen or so Wooly buggers to hone my skills. Then I wanted to try some other patterns so I bought the Large Grab Bag to fill out my tying materials arsenal. At first, I was pleased with the quantity of stuff and I had a blast researching what each thing was and what flies I could use it for.
I notices that I was very limited in the number of different patterns I could tie unless I made some comprimises in the materials used (ie. using tan saddle hackle instead of Grizzle cock hackle....). I was fine with that because I just started out and I was just enjoying tying and not worrying about catching any fish with them yet.
Since, I have bout this Grab Bag 2 more times with the same results. Great quantity, but not the stuff I need for the most popular patterns. As other reviewers had said, I would have preferred if you could choose a genre of grab bag - bright and cheery or dull and drab (useful for trout fishermen).
Additionally, I noticed that some of the quality of the items was not as high a quality as would expect from Orvis. For example, most of the hackles included had very long fibers - too long for many of the smaller nymphs and drys that I wanted to tie. I was forced to trim the fibers and that always gives the fly an unnatural look. When comparing the hackles in the grab bag to those that you can buy loose at the store, there is no doubt which one is higher quality.
All in all, It is a good product for the beginner to spark some interest in tying. From now on though, I'll be buying my items loose. It's not all bad though, I was able to catch 5 trout and 4 bass this summer on flies that I tied myself."
Review 11 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dream flies,
August 14, 2012
By: pieball
"th\e materials to tye the fly you always wanted to try"
Review 12 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great way to get started,
June 13, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"This is a great way for people starting to tie. I wish everything that came in the grab bag was labeled."
Review 13 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Full Bagger,
April 1, 2012
By: LarryF
from Chicago
"Grab bag was loaded with useful material--yellow thread, brown ribbing, leadless wiire, peacock herl, brown hackle, reddish elk hair, 5 dubbings (including grey, tan and olive) 5 yarns (including olive, yellow and white) lead beads, hour glass eyes, and 2 sets of bright blue feathers (for all my blue tail flies, I guess.)"
Review 14 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Startup,
January 20, 2012
By: HookEmHorns
from Austin, TX
"Perfect for those who just started tying flies (like me) and need to expand their material arsenal."
Review 15 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not what I expected,
December 17, 2011
By: fish2die4
".materials sent are not natural colors.....most of it seems to be stuff that orvis can't sell.. ....only 4-6 of the items sent I can actually use...but I kept it anyway...."
Review 16 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a gamble...,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"If you are new to fly tying, these packages can be a good way to bulk up your tying materials for just a little money. Probably not going to get any nice hackles for tying dries (not that I've seen anyway), but still a lot of good things are typically included in the goody bag."
Review 17 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
large grab bag,
September 5, 2011
By: DelGrosso
from Owasso, Oklahoma
"I just recieved my large fly tying grab bag. It was a large assortment of items ranging from fur to feathers and everything in between. I was pleased with the assortment, but there were several items I did not have a clue about (ie, The red heavy string , some adhesive that looked like frog skin and a green ribbon). I agree with a previous reviewer, it would be nice if all the bags were labeled. Some bags were but they were feathers and it was not hard to determine their use. The odd stuff was not labeled and I have not come across these items in 15 years of fly tieing. Overall a great value and I was pleased with the assortment."
Review 18 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many creative uses!,
August 10, 2011
By: Mommac04
"I do not tie flies, but this grab bag provided lots of interesting materials for use in embellishing traveling altars, rustic carvings and wands."
Review 19 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Confusion and joy,
July 23, 2011
By: TomM19090
from Willow Grove, PA
"What a great idea.. I got the medium sized bag and found a few things in there that I needed, a couple things that I've wanted to try, so I already made more than what I spent.
BUT there are things in there that I have NO CLUE what they would be used for (foam stickers, a shiny rope, guessing salt water stuff) and my kids are going to use that stuff for rt projects or what ever..
Only reason I didnt go 5 stars, I really wish every thing was labled so I would at least know what "That stuff" was...
Other than that, a great deal!
"
Review 20 for Tying Material Grab Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as stated in other reviews,
July 1, 2011
By: JesseB
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got a bunch of cheap stuff in colors that I would never purposely choose to use. 3 different purple feathers green dubbing and some small orange feathers. I am very dissatisfied and will definitely spend my money with other retailers in the future. Don't but the grab bag as a beginner set you will be disappointed as I am. I hoped I would get enough stuff to make a few good patterns but I got junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.