Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater

Pigment dyed and vintage washed for the look and feel of a well-loved favourite, this charming ladies pullover sweater has a classic sailor collar. Textured knitting details the collar, ribbed trim finishes the cuffs and hem. Long sleeves. Ladies vintage cotton sweater in indigo, dusty purple, red. 100% cotton. Washable. Sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
43 of 52(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Review 1 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A classic sweater,
May 26, 2012
By: Bergie
"This sweater is perfect for that spring day with a bit of a nip in the air! Hadn't seen this style anywhere except from Orvis. Soft color and comfy fit was a welcome addition for my outings."
Review 2 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ANOTHER GREAT SWEATER FROM ORVIS,
December 12, 2009
By: Bevy
from Abingdon, Virginia
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a nice, medium weight sweater. It's comfortable but not too heavy. The length is perfect and purchasing sweaters this winter can be a challenge, as most are tunic length. At 5'2", a tunic looks silly on me. Great choices from the best place to shop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jaunty jumper,
October 23, 2012
By: crisp
from Lincolnshire England
"Love wearing this most comfortable, faded look jumper. Collar, ribbed look of sleeves and body give a casual but quality appeal to the garment. Would have given 5 stars had the jumper been an inch longer."
Review 4 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
August 20, 2012
By: Torontorian
from Toronto, ON
"Love cotton sweaters! Love the style and the colour and can't wait to wear it with the Orvis cords recently purchased in tobacco."
Review 5 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Baggy and going back,
August 10, 2012
By: el13207
from Portland, OR
"Sadly, this sweater- which looks so cute in the catalog- turned out to be baggy, shapeless, and heavy when it arrived. It's going back! As always, I find Orvis sizing extremely generous- and I wish they offered more products in petite sizes."
Review 6 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favourite jumper,
August 8, 2012
By: LadyBasing
from Hampshire
"This is now my favourite jumper. Soft, and a bit shapeless, but in a good way, so lovely. The collar is so becoming to the face. I've bought a second one.
Generous sizes."
Review 7 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad fit,
May 31, 2012
By: Metro
from New Jersey
"I love the collar, but the rest of the sweater was a bad fit. Much too boxy. I returned it."
Review 8 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sweater opening too small,
May 17, 2012
By: wgi13554
from Yardley, PA
"The sweater was to hard to get on over my head & I was afraid it would rip. I'm only a size sm. Also the color was not as bright as shown on-line."
Review 9 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it.,
April 19, 2012
By: bearbuddy
from Rochester, NY
"Fits well, is comfortable, goes through the washer and drier and comes out even more comfortable. I've gotten two."
Review 10 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 17, 2012
By: Chuche
from Oakland, CA
"I love this sweater! It's different than most sweaters. It does run big but the style allows it to still look ok. I've had lots of compliments wearing it. Looks great with a t-shirt."
Review 11 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
How to get it on,
March 15, 2012
By: Robino
from California
"The color of this sweater is great. But the band around the neck is so tight I could barely get my average-size head in. Once I got it on, the rest of the sweater seemed to stretch and sag almost immediately, before I'd even taken a breath."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First time disppointment.,
March 2, 2012
By: friedl
from Surrey
"I have bought many items from Orvis & been thrilled with them all, however, even though the design & clour of this sweater are great, it is oversized, has a tendency to 'catch' on almost anything & cannot be worn with the sleeves pushed up the arm as the cuffs are enormous. I shall continue to wear it at home only & I am disappointed."
Review 13 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
3 is Not Enough,
February 27, 2012
By: auntt
from New York City
"I have this sweater in all 3 of the colors it comes in. I love the look and the comfort. You have to like a washed look to appreciate the colors and they are not form fitted but loose fitting. I wear the sweaters with both jeans and slacks. They machine wash and dry well."
Review 14 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
was disappointed,
February 16, 2012
By: hikergirl
from Annapolis, MD
"color was faded and the quality of the yarn was not up to Orvis standards"
Review 15 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Pretty,
February 7, 2012
By: tiza
from eliot, me
"The light blue is a very pretty color and the weave lovely. I returned it because I could not get the collar to lie flat and found it seemed to run short. I was sorry to return it as it really is very nice looking and appears that it will hold up very well after numerous washings."
Review 16 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful color!,
January 31, 2012
By: gammie
"I love the color (blue) and fabric of this sweater. It's comfortable and attractive. My only complaint is the sizing. It seems to run very large. I ordered a medium and had to return it for a small. But I'm quite happy with the small."
Review 17 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely color blue,
January 27, 2012
By: booboo625
from Ft. Myers, FL
"The fit is good and even though I haven't worn the sweater yet I know that I will look terrific in it!"
Review 18 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable top,
January 17, 2012
By: artlover7
from Xenia, OH
"This top has a comfortable feel to it. It's a little heavier than I had hoped - but nevertheless wears well and looks great with jeans and other casual wear."
Review 19 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charming sweater,
January 10, 2012
By: pearl02
from Minnesota
"I've been looking for a shirt or sweater with a sailor collar and this sweater is perfect. I got the blue and it's a nice, soft blue that looks like an old favorite. The fit is perfect and the style is classic."
Review 20 for Vintage-Washed Sailor Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally,
January 2, 2012
By: Nsat
from central New Jersey
"The Sailor Sweater was up to Orvis'hhigh standards and I was very pleased with the color, the knit, and the fashionable style."