Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dropper Rig Fly Box

Don't waste time tying dropper rigs on stream. This ingenious fly box stores multiple pre-tied dropper rigs until you need them. It's also an easy way to save old fly fishing leaders for reuse or proper disposal. Fly box has five removable inserts, each of which can hold multiple rigs. Foam inserts for the barb, notches on the side secure the tippet. Fly box measures 4" x 7¼" x 1¼". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
32 of 37(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Review 1 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Rig,
July 15, 2014
By: FlyOneOn
from Nashville, Tn.
"After some initial hesitation, I jumped in on the dropper rig fly box... After the last two weekends of use, I will never leave home without it. Fishing the tailwaters and being able to quickly change out my H/D, D/D, fly rig to match the hatch, time of day, and release schedule, makes this a must! Having the ability to switch to, stowe, and switch back as needed without burning through expensive floro on the river, makes this a huge win. While relativly new double, tripple rigging, the results speak for themselvs! You MUST give this a try! You wont regret making the addition to your regular kit."
Review 2 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for droppers or pre-rigged leaders,
July 3, 2014
By: FlyFisherSWY
from Southern Appalachians
"Got these because I make my own leaders and like to carry pre-rigged flies to the stream rather than reworking leaders on-stream. Really like these as they are fairly compact. Only suggestion would be to have the tabs on each side aimed away from the center so that the end of the dropper/leader could be looped there no matter where it ends up. Glad that Orvis has reintroduced these to the market."
Review 3 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dropper rig - so handy,
July 2, 2014
By: Oonid
from California
"I didnt know such a box existed until I read about it in the book "dynamic nymphing", but Orvis wasn't stocking it at the time.
I made my own nymph rig holder, made out of foam and stacked in a small plastic tub. But now Ive got the real one, and it is perfect for the task. Slightly bulky, but it saves a ton of time on the water.
I can switch fly rigs quickly or simply cut off tangles, saving alot of time on the water."
Review 4 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right...,
June 26, 2014
By: TmHart
"Fishing a lot of dropper rigs these days and have always regretted the time spent re-configuring so this was a great solution. Flexible box capable of storing rigs without tangle. Not too large so still comfortable in pocket. Solid materials and construction."
Review 5 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Expected Better (much better),
June 23, 2014
By: mcppdx
"I expect better from Orvis. I have not even used the product yet and am already disappointed. I concur with the reviews I read (unfortunately after I purchased the product) about the lack of detail to quality such that the dropper rigs fall out of the box at the slightest tilt of the box. I have not used it because I am not willing to risk the rigs falling out on the river until I have fixed the problem (ok, maybe I am more clumsy than Orvis expects but the product should have some with a "Clumsy folks should not use" warning!). I am experimenting with using foam as a spacer for each rig and there appears to be a fix in this approach. However, I should not have to do that with an Orvis product."
Review 6 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More time fishing!,
June 10, 2014
By: Sloweddie
from West Chester, OH
"I love this Dropper Rig Fly Box. I no longer spend valuable streamside fishing time tying dropper rigs. I make them at home in my spare time so they're ready whenever I need them. It's a great size, fits nicely inside my sling pack with my other fly boxes. It holds the dropper rigs very securely. If you use dropper rigs, this is a must have!"
Review 7 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cool, but skip the inscription,
June 10, 2014
By: ColinH
from Colin, Denver
"I bought this fly box as a gift for a friend, and it is exactly what is advertised. If you are a planner, this can save you time when changing out multiply fly rigs. I did have an inscription put on the box, but I was surprised they used a white/clearish font coloring since the box itself is clear. You can barely see the inscription, and I would have expected Orvis to have higher standards. S"
Review 8 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had One & Now Need 2,
May 29, 2014
By: SVGuy
from Afton, WY
"I have used an Orvis Dropper Box for several years, & now that I am using nymph rigs more often I find that I need to carry at least 2 boxes. I have never found anything like these & they save a lot of time on the stream when rigging up 2 or more nymphs by having the rigs already made up. I can put 2 rigs on one insert which makes 10 rigs/box."
Review 9 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very convenient,
May 29, 2014
By: Lance38ca
from Calgary, Canada
"I have two of these fly boxes, they work great, it's so convenient to have my double nymph rigs and dry droppers all set up and ready to go for when I'm on the water. The more time with my line in the water the better. Great product"
Review 10 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does the ob,
May 28, 2014
By: Otoole
from Cape Cod
"Have vision problems, need to snell flys. Case helps but comes without guidance to use. A product for visually impaired and additional aids would be helpful When you cet older..........."
Review 11 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Rig Fly Box,
May 28, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"I have several of these and they save so much time in the rigging process. Have pre-rigged set-ups for dry/dropper, dry/wet fly & other types of set-ups. Now I have rigged for creeks, larger rivers and still waters.
Tend to go to these before I open the regular fly boxes...
"
Review 12 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just right,
February 17, 2014
By: extroller
from Waterloo,MT
"This dropper rig box is just the right size to do the job of keep things organized and tangle free. Easy to change set ups on stream when you tie them up ahead of time."
Review 13 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really convenient accessory!,
February 13, 2014
By: OleGeezer
from Redmond, Oregon
"Spend less time rigging and more time fishing. Having my dry/droppers and nymph rigs pre-tied and stored in this box makes changes a snap. No more struggling to tie on those size 22's with cold fingers. Just add a new combination to the leader and get back in the water. The box is large enough to hold a good variety of flies but not too large to fit in my sling pack."
Review 14 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product, long wait,
February 13, 2014
By: TimR54
from Medford, OR
"The dropper fly box is a great idea for keeping dropper flies and the tippet from getting all tangled allowing for use at a later time. A friend had this box and I had already seen the utility. I don't usually complain, however the product was not in stock and delivery was about 6 weeks after order. Allow extra time to receive the box if you are ordering."
Review 15 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 3, 2014
By: WWC90
"The Dropper box is very helpful so I can tie up droppers using best light and conditions so it saves me time and frustration while fishing. The clips are easy to use and I can save at least 10 droppers for use on the stream (more if I am careful about wrapping them on the dividers."
Review 16 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very handy,
October 30, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"Bought one this spring and used it on some trips out west. liked it so much bought 2 more. very useful when wading. I don't have to re-tie rigs and i can have multiple combos ready to go. only negative is that the inserts come out too easy and will fall out if I'm not careful."
Review 17 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Saver,
September 13, 2013
By: PBug
"I fish a lot of tandom rigs - Dry/Dropper, multiple nymphs, multiple wets and this box lets me rig leaders the evening before fishing.
Only complaint is that Orvis can't seem to keep these boxes in stock."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
questionable design,
September 12, 2013
By: tomb721
from Colorado mountains
"I have 2 of these. My main concern(beyond the hinges) is the weird design. I could not figure out how to use the hooks on the side and the Orvis salesman at my local store didn't have a clue either. I've concluded they are a worthless distraction. Dividers should be located at the top and bottom with hooks there for attaching a perfection loop. This way, one could easily get 4 or 5 rigs on one insert without creating a unholy tangle."
Review 19 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Euro Nymphing Rig Speed Loader,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"Got a go to set up? Many of us do. I love using this box to keep my go to rigs tied and ready to go.
whether you're using a dry dropper or a gang of nymphs you can rig up and change on the fly when you keep your rigs together in this box.
easy to use and perfect when you have confidence patterns you know how to fish. try this box and you'll always have it locked and loaded ready for the next run.
time is precious and when your prospecting for fish the faster you find what works the better your day will be. Give this box a try and you'll always be ready when things get tough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
August 31, 2013
By: Lakefisher46
from California
"I purchased this box a few years ago. It came with no instructions and the salesman in the local Orvis shop didn't have a clue as to how it is suppose to be used. Turns out from this description I was using it correctly. Turns out the clips on the side serve no purpose. You can accomplish the same objective by wrapping your dropper rigs around strips of cardboard. Total waste of money"