Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dropper Rig Fly Box

Don't waste time tying dropper rigs on stream. This ingenious fly box stores multiple pre-tied dropper rigs until you need them. It's also an easy way to save old fly fishing leaders for reuse or proper disposal. Fly box has five removable inserts, each of which can hold multiple rigs. Foam inserts for the barb, notches on the side secure the tippet. Fly box measures 4" x 7¼" x 1¼". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
52 of 57(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Review 1 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Hop-n-drop box!,
July 14, 2015
By: ReelAdventurer
from Rockwall, TX
"Good Hopper- dropper box! I only wish it were a bit larger, to have more rigs, the holders could be a bit thinner might help. Great idea and welcome!"
Review 2 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
June 15, 2015
By: AmyRod
"This box really helps keep nymph rigs from getting tangled. Makes it easy to tied them ahead of time so you don't waste time once you get to the water. A little big big and bulky but I love it!"
Review 3 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dropper Rig Fly Box,
June 9, 2015
By: Bluesky0324
"It works as advertised but it is a little cumbersome on when on the river. The various inserts can fall out if you are not careful. It works fine you just have to be careful"
Review 4 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cat's meow.,
May 9, 2015
By: Wichitaaa
from Durango, CO
"Now you can have 5 pre-sets of multiple flies ready to go for the day. Allows you to tie your flies on at home prior to fishing. Saves time on the river.... Just throw a loose surgeons knot and the flies follow through easily. Can load a new set of flies on in less time than it takes to write this review."
Review 5 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clever!,
April 20, 2015
By: Stegen1982
"Why it took so many years for someone to come up this this I don't know. Truly a great design"
Review 6 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally Found It!,
April 15, 2015
By: Fishace
from Orange County CA
"For several years I made homemade leader holders for trout fishing but nothing came close to this Orvis leader holder. I will order a second one soon!"
Review 7 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Old fingers,
February 4, 2015
By: wetwaders1942
from NC Mountains
"Age makes it difficult to tie on flies in the river. Slight tremors, and eyes that have been better contribute. The use of tippet rings and pre-tying single and double droppers makes set-up and changes must faster and less difficult. Thanks.
Used today for the first time. I could use a simplified system for organizing multiple flies on a board. Maybe include instructions
with product.
"
Review 8 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box....,
January 22, 2015
By: Flyfish52
from NY
"Very well thought out design...one question..When I have a finished leader with 2 flys on it how do you attach your leader in a loop to loop connection..The hopper fly doesn't go thru the loop in the leader..thanks ..but I do love the box"
Review 9 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time Saver,
January 20, 2015
By: SCTroutman
"No time wasted on river tieing droppers, did all that the night before and keep it stocked ready to go. What yse to take up to 30 minutes on river to tie not takes matter of minutes. have already recommended it to all my buddies."
Review 10 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Definite Keeper,
December 28, 2014
By: bobo55
from El Paso, Texas
"I fish the San Juan / NM a lot and tandem nymph set ups are the norm. I've used many different homemade rigs to pre-tie these double set-ups the night before but the Orvis Rig Fly Box is the best! It allows me to tie up my favorites ahead of time and maximize my day on the river. I've been using a back to back Duncan uni-knot with great success when tying my pre-tied to my leader."
Review 11 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box,
December 27, 2014
By: Daddyphilipps
from Johns creek. Ga
"Holds all my pre- made dropper rigs. Just what I needed"
Review 12 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As good as it gets,
November 21, 2014
By: DJinVA
from Northern Virginia
"I'm surprised that others haven't replicated/improved/copied this great idea for carrying dropper rigs. There is one alternative that I know of, but it is open carry and tends to get banged around and line unravels. Even Orvis dropped this offering from their lineup for a while. In my opinion, this is as good as it gets right now for carrying multiple dropper rigs. Saves time on the water and doesn't take too much room in your gear bag or vest. I've thought about this box for many years, but when I saw it in George Daniel's Dynamic Nymphing book, I decided to buy one. Glad I did."
Review 13 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great new box,
October 28, 2014
By: hatchtrading
"loved the concept, easy to use.
used it multiple times and will probably buy another for days with lots of nymphing. best product for nymph rigging I have used, also durable I might add.
other products I have used get tangled/flattened, this one works as advertised."
Review 14 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Competitions and Loch-Style Fishing!,
October 15, 2014
By: LochFisher
from Ontario, Canada
"I was introduced to this great dropper-rig box back in 2007 by a fellow Orvis Pro-Guide angler, and I now own two of these great boxes. They're great for storing 5 pre-tied leaders for loch-style fishing with a 3-fly team, and for Czech-Nymphing rivers with 2-fly leaders pre-tied. I don't actually store my leaders in these boxes with flies on them, because I don't know what flies I might use at any given situation. But what a great storage idea that REALLY WORKS!!! My loch-style leaders are 18ft long, 10lb fluorocarbon with 2 8-inch droppers pre-tied. I just lock the top of the leader into one of the top blue side-slot-tabs, and wrap the leader around and around the yellow center, and lock-in the bottom of the leader where my point-fly goes into a different blue side-slot-tab. Yes, it slightly kinks the leader every six inches from wrapping it around the holder, but with 10lb test, it doesn't hinder the leader or delivery and presentation of the flies in stillwater. And the kinks straighten out on the first fish anyway! :-) I'm glad Orvis re-introduced these boxes, becausse lots of other loch-style anglers have asked me where they can get them. I tell them Orvis is selling them again! YEAY!!!"
Review 15 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dropper rig fly box,
September 29, 2014
By: dimebright
from california
"Excellent leader box for flys, streamers or centerpin leader shots."
Review 16 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally,
September 24, 2014
By: Zeke73
from Oregon
"After years of tying multi-fly rigs on the river and so-so attempts at "jury-rigging" a keeper for them, I finally found what I have been looking for. It's not a perfect design, as some other reviewers have already mentioned, but it is way better than anything I came up with on my own."
Review 17 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box,
August 19, 2014
By: Karlk
"Great solution to a hard storage problem. I usually rig up 3 or 4 dropper rigs for the day. This holds them neatly and securely."
Review 18 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Valuable Tool,
August 13, 2014
By: FlyFlinger111
from Windsor, CO
"I love the time this saves me on the river, having pre-tied all my rigs the night before. Having read the reviews complaining about the inserts easily falling out, I stuck a small piece of the soft side of velcro inside the channels and they now hold the inserts very snug (this would be a good product improvement for Orvis to make. I have not had any problems with the lid staying on whatsoever either. Love this product."
Review 19 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drop Box,
August 5, 2014
By: Hanapaa
from Montana
"Dropper rigs are a way of life in Montana and there's nothing that can ruin a day on the water faster than assembling a dropper set up while people are catching fish all around you. With this file system I can practically change on the fly (pun intended). A well designed solution for a frustrating problem."
Review 20 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Rig,
July 15, 2014
By: FlyOneOn
from Nashville, Tn.
"After some initial hesitation, I jumped in on the dropper rig fly box... After the last two weekends of use, I will never leave home without it. Fishing the tailwaters and being able to quickly change out my H/D, D/D, fly rig to match the hatch, time of day, and release schedule, makes this a must! Having the ability to switch to, stowe, and switch back as needed without burning through expensive floro on the river, makes this a huge win. While relativly new double, tripple rigging, the results speak for themselvs! You MUST give this a try! You wont regret making the addition to your regular kit."