Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dropper Rig Fly Box

Don't waste time tying dropper rigs on stream. This ingenious fly box stores multiple pre-tied dropper rigs until you need them. It's also an easy way to save old fly fishing leaders for reuse or proper disposal. Fly box has five removable inserts, each of which can hold multiple rigs. Foam inserts for the barb, notches on the side secure the tippet. Fly box measures 4" x 7¼" x 1¼". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
0
21 of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Review 1 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just right,
February 17, 2014
By: extroller
from Waterloo,MT
"This dropper rig box is just the right size to do the job of keep things organized and tangle free. Easy to change set ups on stream when you tie them up ahead of time."
Review 2 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really convenient accessory!,
February 13, 2014
By: OleGeezer
from Redmond, Oregon
"Spend less time rigging and more time fishing. Having my dry/droppers and nymph rigs pre-tied and stored in this box makes changes a snap. No more struggling to tie on those size 22's with cold fingers. Just add a new combination to the leader and get back in the water. The box is large enough to hold a good variety of flies but not too large to fit in my sling pack."
Review 3 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product, long wait,
February 13, 2014
By: TimR54
from Medford, OR
"The dropper fly box is a great idea for keeping dropper flies and the tippet from getting all tangled allowing for use at a later time. A friend had this box and I had already seen the utility. I don't usually complain, however the product was not in stock and delivery was about 6 weeks after order. Allow extra time to receive the box if you are ordering."
Review 4 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 3, 2014
By: WWC90
"The Dropper box is very helpful so I can tie up droppers using best light and conditions so it saves me time and frustration while fishing. The clips are easy to use and I can save at least 10 droppers for use on the stream (more if I am careful about wrapping them on the dividers."
Review 5 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very handy,
October 30, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"Bought one this spring and used it on some trips out west. liked it so much bought 2 more. very useful when wading. I don't have to re-tie rigs and i can have multiple combos ready to go. only negative is that the inserts come out too easy and will fall out if I'm not careful."
Review 6 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Saver,
September 13, 2013
By: PBug
"I fish a lot of tandom rigs - Dry/Dropper, multiple nymphs, multiple wets and this box lets me rig leaders the evening before fishing.
Only complaint is that Orvis can't seem to keep these boxes in stock."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
questionable design,
September 12, 2013
By: tomb721
from Colorado mountains
"I have 2 of these. My main concern(beyond the hinges) is the weird design. I could not figure out how to use the hooks on the side and the Orvis salesman at my local store didn't have a clue either. I've concluded they are a worthless distraction. Dividers should be located at the top and bottom with hooks there for attaching a perfection loop. This way, one could easily get 4 or 5 rigs on one insert without creating a unholy tangle."
Review 8 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Euro Nymphing Rig Speed Loader,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"Got a go to set up? Many of us do. I love using this box to keep my go to rigs tied and ready to go.
whether you're using a dry dropper or a gang of nymphs you can rig up and change on the fly when you keep your rigs together in this box.
easy to use and perfect when you have confidence patterns you know how to fish. try this box and you'll always have it locked and loaded ready for the next run.
time is precious and when your prospecting for fish the faster you find what works the better your day will be. Give this box a try and you'll always be ready when things get tough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
August 31, 2013
By: Lakefisher46
from California
"I purchased this box a few years ago. It came with no instructions and the salesman in the local Orvis shop didn't have a clue as to how it is suppose to be used. Turns out from this description I was using it correctly. Turns out the clips on the side serve no purpose. You can accomplish the same objective by wrapping your dropper rigs around strips of cardboard. Total waste of money"
Review 10 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box for the purpose,
July 10, 2013
By: OdinM
from Saratoga, CA
"Saves time on the river, especially with droppers in the 20 and smaller sizes."
Review 11 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a MUST HAVE item!,
June 28, 2013
By: Skippster
from Charlotte NC
"IF you ever fish dropper fly rigs, then you need this system. Think of how much time it takes when you are standing in a stream rigging up a fly with a dropper, and then imagine having 4-5 pre configured multi fly rigs safely stored in a box in your vest! All you have to do it unspool a rig, tie on the main fly and you are back fishing again. Orvis totally hit a home run with this product and I highly recommend it. This system will save you time and you will catch more fish. Trust me, buy one."
Review 12 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent versatile tool,
December 28, 2011
By: DriftFisher
from Michigan City, IN
"I fly fish in the summer and float fish for steelhead in the winter. I bought this for fly fishing, but I use it more for steelheading. This is the perfect size to tuck into a chest pack. It is easy to store up to ten leaders. I cannot say enough good things about it. It is more than worth the price."
Review 13 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this is not an orvis salesman,
December 12, 2011
By: chadfrommontana
from darby, mt
"ive read all the reviews and the lid has never been a problem for me. its not waterproof but that hasnt been a problem. montana tested and approved"
Review 14 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i will buy another,
August 17, 2011
By: flytyer71
"if you tie a dropper fly from the back of a larger hook, you have to stretch your line a little to get em hooked right. i have used mine for 5 years and im going to buy two more. they are very handy if you break off in the middle of the river. i break some off in the day, re-tie em at night... a good rig."
Review 15 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At Last!,
August 1, 2011
By: Londonfisher
from London, England
"A really practical cast carrier. Arrived just in time for a sea trout week in Scotland. Saved so much time at night, changing tangled casts. Just cut off the old flies, chop up the nylon and on goes a new cast and flies. I have tried other bought and home made carriers but none match this system. Thank you Orvis, will order another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not worth it,
February 24, 2011
By: chromedome09
from great lakes
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a good idea executed poorly. The box that holds the dropper rigs is very poor. The hinges are open, meaning, when you open the box lid to a certain point, it falls off. Not good while standing in a moving river. The dropper rig holders themselves are fine, but again, they are hard to get back into their slots, and fall out easily. Back to the drawing board on the box system."
Review 17 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Box,
January 31, 2010
By: Cash
from Austin, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great tool to take to the water. Saves time and effort by allowing you to put your flys together prior to going. Last time I went before I had this, I spent 1 1/2 hrs in the dark and cold trying to rig my rod. Great Product|!"
Review 18 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Combo w/Watershed Dropper Fly Box,
July 27, 2009
By: Rustyrat34
from New Hampshire
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought the Dropper Rig Fly Box to store various sets of dropper rigs for my Watershed Dropper Fly Box. I have dropper rigs that I use on Lakes, Ponds, and different Rivers, this box lets me tie them up all in advance and have them ready to place in my Watershed box depending on my location. The rig holder design keeps multiple rigs from getting tangled and/or kinking the tippet material. A real timesaver on the water and currently a great deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box,
June 29, 2009
By: Anonymous
from Woodstock, Georgia
"I use this box everytime I'm on the water. It saves time and trouble."
Review 20 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very useful product,
September 30, 2008
By: Imago
from North Yorkshire, UK
"I find this design a vast improvement over the traditional circular 'cast carriers'. Using the Orvis 'rig box' delicate flies are not crushed and damaged as they are on circular carriers. In addition the design of box and carriers means it is easy to see the details of the leader. Each winding is a foot and as the turns of the leader lie neatly side by side on the carrier you can see the exact length, taper and composition of leaders easily. However, there is a price to be paid for this convenience. With two leaders per winder being the practical limit the box takes up more space than a traditional cast carrier. Also the turn at the end of each carrier is tight so that it kinks the leader more than a traditional cast carrier. It also holds less leaders. Although the 10 it does hold is usually enough I do end up also carrying a traditional cast carrier; I keep my most used rigs in this box and keep the traditional box for reserves. In the end none of these are really serious issues. Even though it is bigger than a traditional cast carrier the similarity to a fly box in shape and size means it is easier to handle and fits standard pockets well. The hinge is less than perfect but has never given me serious problems. The latch works well and although the box is not waterproof this seems uneccessary on a leader box and would just add size and weight. It is a bit unfortunate that there is some wasted space in the box. With just a little redesign it should be possible to get another carrier is a very similar sized box. A final niggle is that the carriers can be a bit fiddly to get out of the box. I've also no idea where the 14 labels enclosed with the box are supposed to go, but some way to easily label the carriers would be nice."