Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dropper Rig Fly Box

Don't waste time tying dropper rigs on stream. This ingenious fly box stores multiple pre-tied dropper rigs until you need them. It's also an easy way to save old fly fishing leaders for reuse or proper disposal. Fly box has five removable inserts, each of which can hold multiple rigs. Foam inserts for the barb, notches on the side secure the tippet. Fly box measures 4" x 7¼" x 1¼". Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.239 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
41 of 46(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Review 1 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As good as it gets,
November 21, 2014
By: DJinVA
from Northern Virginia
"I'm surprised that others haven't replicated/improved/copied this great idea for carrying dropper rigs. There is one alternative that I know of, but it is open carry and tends to get banged around and line unravels. Even Orvis dropped this offering from their lineup for a while. In my opinion, this is as good as it gets right now for carrying multiple dropper rigs. Saves time on the water and doesn't take too much room in your gear bag or vest. I've thought about this box for many years, but when I saw it in George Daniel's Dynamic Nymphing book, I decided to buy one. Glad I did."
Review 2 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great new box,
October 28, 2014
By: hatchtrading
"loved the concept, easy to use.
used it multiple times and will probably buy another for days with lots of nymphing. best product for nymph rigging I have used, also durable I might add.
other products I have used get tangled/flattened, this one works as advertised."
Review 3 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Competitions and Loch-Style Fishing!,
October 15, 2014
By: LochFisher
from Ontario, Canada
"I was introduced to this great dropper-rig box back in 2007 by a fellow Orvis Pro-Guide angler, and I now own two of these great boxes. They're great for storing 5 pre-tied leaders for loch-style fishing with a 3-fly team, and for Czech-Nymphing rivers with 2-fly leaders pre-tied. I don't actually store my leaders in these boxes with flies on them, because I don't know what flies I might use at any given situation. But what a great storage idea that REALLY WORKS!!! My loch-style leaders are 18ft long, 10lb fluorocarbon with 2 8-inch droppers pre-tied. I just lock the top of the leader into one of the top blue side-slot-tabs, and wrap the leader around and around the yellow center, and lock-in the bottom of the leader where my point-fly goes into a different blue side-slot-tab. Yes, it slightly kinks the leader every six inches from wrapping it around the holder, but with 10lb test, it doesn't hinder the leader or delivery and presentation of the flies in stillwater. And the kinks straighten out on the first fish anyway! :-) I'm glad Orvis re-introduced these boxes, becausse lots of other loch-style anglers have asked me where they can get them. I tell them Orvis is selling them again! YEAY!!!"
Review 4 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dropper rig fly box,
September 29, 2014
By: dimebright
from california
"Excellent leader box for flys, streamers or centerpin leader shots."
Review 5 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally,
September 24, 2014
By: Zeke73
from Oregon
"After years of tying multi-fly rigs on the river and so-so attempts at "jury-rigging" a keeper for them, I finally found what I have been looking for. It's not a perfect design, as some other reviewers have already mentioned, but it is way better than anything I came up with on my own."
Review 6 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box,
August 19, 2014
By: Karlk
"Great solution to a hard storage problem. I usually rig up 3 or 4 dropper rigs for the day. This holds them neatly and securely."
Review 7 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Valuable Tool,
August 13, 2014
By: FlyFlinger111
from Windsor, CO
"I love the time this saves me on the river, having pre-tied all my rigs the night before. Having read the reviews complaining about the inserts easily falling out, I stuck a small piece of the soft side of velcro inside the channels and they now hold the inserts very snug (this would be a good product improvement for Orvis to make. I have not had any problems with the lid staying on whatsoever either. Love this product."
Review 8 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drop Box,
August 5, 2014
By: Hanapaa
from Montana
"Dropper rigs are a way of life in Montana and there's nothing that can ruin a day on the water faster than assembling a dropper set up while people are catching fish all around you. With this file system I can practically change on the fly (pun intended). A well designed solution for a frustrating problem."
Review 9 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Rig,
July 15, 2014
By: FlyOneOn
from Nashville, Tn.
"After some initial hesitation, I jumped in on the dropper rig fly box... After the last two weekends of use, I will never leave home without it. Fishing the tailwaters and being able to quickly change out my H/D, D/D, fly rig to match the hatch, time of day, and release schedule, makes this a must! Having the ability to switch to, stowe, and switch back as needed without burning through expensive floro on the river, makes this a huge win. While relativly new double, tripple rigging, the results speak for themselvs! You MUST give this a try! You wont regret making the addition to your regular kit."
Review 10 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for droppers or pre-rigged leaders,
July 3, 2014
By: FlyFisherSWY
from Southern Appalachians
"Got these because I make my own leaders and like to carry pre-rigged flies to the stream rather than reworking leaders on-stream. Really like these as they are fairly compact. Only suggestion would be to have the tabs on each side aimed away from the center so that the end of the dropper/leader could be looped there no matter where it ends up. Glad that Orvis has reintroduced these to the market."
Review 11 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dropper rig - so handy,
July 2, 2014
By: Oonid
from California
"I didnt know such a box existed until I read about it in the book "dynamic nymphing", but Orvis wasn't stocking it at the time.
I made my own nymph rig holder, made out of foam and stacked in a small plastic tub. But now Ive got the real one, and it is perfect for the task. Slightly bulky, but it saves a ton of time on the water.
I can switch fly rigs quickly or simply cut off tangles, saving alot of time on the water."
Review 12 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right...,
June 26, 2014
By: TmHart
"Fishing a lot of dropper rigs these days and have always regretted the time spent re-configuring so this was a great solution. Flexible box capable of storing rigs without tangle. Not too large so still comfortable in pocket. Solid materials and construction."
Review 13 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Expected Better (much better),
June 23, 2014
By: mcppdx
"I expect better from Orvis. I have not even used the product yet and am already disappointed. I concur with the reviews I read (unfortunately after I purchased the product) about the lack of detail to quality such that the dropper rigs fall out of the box at the slightest tilt of the box. I have not used it because I am not willing to risk the rigs falling out on the river until I have fixed the problem (ok, maybe I am more clumsy than Orvis expects but the product should have some with a "Clumsy folks should not use" warning!). I am experimenting with using foam as a spacer for each rig and there appears to be a fix in this approach. However, I should not have to do that with an Orvis product."
Review 14 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More time fishing!,
June 10, 2014
By: Sloweddie
from West Chester, OH
"I love this Dropper Rig Fly Box. I no longer spend valuable streamside fishing time tying dropper rigs. I make them at home in my spare time so they're ready whenever I need them. It's a great size, fits nicely inside my sling pack with my other fly boxes. It holds the dropper rigs very securely. If you use dropper rigs, this is a must have!"
Review 15 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cool, but skip the inscription,
June 10, 2014
By: ColinH
from Colin, Denver
"I bought this fly box as a gift for a friend, and it is exactly what is advertised. If you are a planner, this can save you time when changing out multiply fly rigs. I did have an inscription put on the box, but I was surprised they used a white/clearish font coloring since the box itself is clear. You can barely see the inscription, and I would have expected Orvis to have higher standards. S"
Review 16 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had One & Now Need 2,
May 29, 2014
By: SVGuy
from Afton, WY
"I have used an Orvis Dropper Box for several years, & now that I am using nymph rigs more often I find that I need to carry at least 2 boxes. I have never found anything like these & they save a lot of time on the stream when rigging up 2 or more nymphs by having the rigs already made up. I can put 2 rigs on one insert which makes 10 rigs/box."
Review 17 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very convenient,
May 29, 2014
By: Lance38ca
from Calgary, Canada
"I have two of these fly boxes, they work great, it's so convenient to have my double nymph rigs and dry droppers all set up and ready to go for when I'm on the water. The more time with my line in the water the better. Great product"
Review 18 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does the ob,
May 28, 2014
By: Otoole
from Cape Cod
"Have vision problems, need to snell flys. Case helps but comes without guidance to use. A product for visually impaired and additional aids would be helpful When you cet older..........."
Review 19 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dropper Rig Fly Box,
May 28, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"I have several of these and they save so much time in the rigging process. Have pre-rigged set-ups for dry/dropper, dry/wet fly & other types of set-ups. Now I have rigged for creeks, larger rivers and still waters.
Tend to go to these before I open the regular fly boxes...
"
Review 20 for Dropper Rig Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just right,
February 17, 2014
By: extroller
from Waterloo,MT
"This dropper rig box is just the right size to do the job of keep things organized and tangle free. Easy to change set ups on stream when you tie them up ahead of time."