Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

No-Rust Fly Boxes

An Orvis exclusive No-Rust fly box. A chemical additive injected into the plastic during the molding process helps prevent rust by reducing oxidation. This odorless, invisible treatment from the anti-corrosion experts at ZeRust® is the same developed recently for the auto industry. Fly box has adjustable compartment dividers and locking lid latch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Review 1 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great simple box,
October 18, 2011
By: Gifford
from Tennessee
"Thought I'd try one out and took it on a saltwater trip. It bounced around all over the bottom of the kayak and got stepped on several times. Ended up without a scratch. Nice little box."
Review 2 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very functional box,
June 26, 2011
By: GABowhuntr
from Ball Ground, GA
"These boxes are great for storing your flies that aren't quite dry and not having to worry about rusted hooks and ruined flies later. Also use them for inline spinners which always get put up wet. Say good-bye to rusted and ruined hooks!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great idea, Medium size not enough.,
June 21, 2011
By: fontz
from Boston, MA
"I have had the large size box for years now and keep my bass poppers in the box. I saw the Medium on sale and decided that it would make a good addition to my boxes. Once it arrived it's too deep for small flies and not quite large enough for larger ones. So as of yet it sits unfilled. I'm sure as the year goes by I'll find the perfect flies for the box."
Review 4 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product, but...,
June 17, 2011
By: strapman
"This is a great little fly box, but to call a plastic product "rust proof" is a bit obvious. Stick with straightforward product descriptions."
Review 5 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pocket perfect,
June 3, 2011
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"I use the small box to keep bluegill flies in car for quick trips. Do not worry about wet flies left for periods of time in this box. Small box is perfect to stick in pocket on those quick trips."
Review 6 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly box,
May 25, 2011
By: dusty1947
from N W Arkansas
"good, rugged and versital fly box. good protection for all your best flys. design your own configuration."
Review 7 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and functional,
February 20, 2011
By: AWilson
from UK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When trying to decide which fly box to buy the world suddenly becomes very complicated indeed. There is so much choice and such a range of prices. The reality however is that you simply want a watertight box with sizeable compartments to put your flies in. It's all you need. I don't need spring loaded, foam backed or air conditioned, just a functional box that fits in my fly vest.
These boxes do exaclty that. They are strong robust little boxes which will last a life time. I have a number of them and seperate them into dry and wet flies and nymphs and lures. These are a really good little fly box."
Review 8 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Rust Fly Box,
January 15, 2011
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Box holds up well and keeps me up with enough flies while out on the water. Hopefully the large box will be available soon."
Review 9 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not so good,
March 9, 2009
By: sony25
from Downingtown, Pa
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have four of the no rust fly boxes and use them for most of my flies. This year I purchased a small box for my ice fishing jigs and only got out a few times this year and since all the ice is gone now, I checked all of my jigs and more than half of them were rusted. Kind of upset about that but this, all my other boxes have held up fine, just like most of the other Orvis products I have purchased."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 1, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that some of the customer’s jigs rusted. Unfortunately, although these boxes are impregnated with a rust inhibitor, flies will, inevitably, rust if they are stored wet for prolonged periods. In order to maximize the anti-rust property of these boxes, it is recommended that flies are as dry as possible before being stored. Orvis thanked the customer for providing this feedback and, also, for complimenting other Orvis products he has purchased. Of course, Orvis also offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will readily exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 10 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works,
February 16, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"When I go north to Nipigon I bring along a lot of big bushy streamers for the Lake Trout and monster Brook Trout that have made the region famous since the 1900s. I began using these boxes a season ago or so and I haven't had a hook rust yet. It floats, not that you would be likely to recover it if you were to drop it into the Nipigon. I would like more colour options."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet,
July 1, 2008
By: foxboy1122
"i got the jumbo fly box and i have not had a hook rust. this fly box is awsome. i have the orvis safe passage get a way pack in the super mini and i am about to get a small and a med. no rust fly box to put in there."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Who needs expensive waterproof?,
May 13, 2008
By: JDDewitt
from St. Louis, Missouri
"Hands down, Best Box out there. Haven't had a hook rust yet. Great for organizing. Just wish they sold additional dividers. And perhaps different colors."
Ratings-Only Reviews for No-Rust Fly Boxes
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1