Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Orvis Scissors

Surgical-quality scissors meet all your tying needs. All-purpose scissors great for general trout tying. Arrow point scissors ideal for larger flies and close-in work. Each has micro serrations on each blade for ultimate sharpness and precision cutting. Razor scissors cut difficult materials, great to trim hair and synthetics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Orvis Scissors
Review 1 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
last scissors you will ever own,
July 1, 2015
By: seemah
from napanoch ny, rondout and neversink rivers
"bought these to replace my 25 year other pair. super sharp, super adjustable for any material. good wide loops for holding while tying. brought to my barber who sharpens his own and he couldn't believe quality for that price."
Review 2 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Razor scissors,
April 30, 2015
By: TheWhiteMamba
"I purchased these scissors hoping they would be a set that lasted me a long time. boy was I mistaken. I thought they were great the first month I had them, then the tips went dull. no big deal right? wrong. shortly after that the entire scissor went dull. When I went to return them or exchange them, I was told they were out or warranty (after 6 months) and no resolve was met. now if I had this happen to one set of these scars I wouldn't have been so frustrated, but since it happened to two, i was absolutely frustrated. Mind you Im not a commercial fly tyer and I tie roughly twice a week."
Review 3 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, quality scissors,
April 15, 2015
By: BentRods
from Englewood, FL
"I really enjoy these scissors, extremely sharp and they give you the ability to be very precise with your cuts. The only issue I found is they are a bit heavy in the hand in comparison to what I am accustomed to, but after a few dozen flies you get used to it and it becomes a non issue."
Review 4 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 31, 2015
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"Extremely sharp all the way to the tip. Makes tying easy and quick."
Review 5 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb product.,
February 6, 2015
By: G0neF1sh1n
from Boston, MA
"The arrow point offers very precise operation. I'm new to the world of fly tying and I must say this product definitely makes it easier on me."
Review 6 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor sharp,
December 13, 2014
By: ShefffieldFlyFisher
from Sheffield England
"Quality I’ve become to expect from Orvis, razor sharp and comfortable in the hand."
Review 7 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Razor Scissors are beauts,
October 29, 2014
By: DeniseCM
"happy to have a pair of quality scissors on the bench"
Review 8 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great scissors,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"My wife purchased these as a stocking stuffer, and what a great job she did. This is a high quality scissor. I am very pleased with this product."
Review 9 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best scissors,
September 8, 2014
By: Dantheman808
"Scissors are comfortable, super sharp, precise, and excellent quality products. They make tying flies even more enjoyable!"
Review 10 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
September 8, 2014
By: wnorthr
from Cali
"Pricey but the best pair of small scissors I've ever used."
Review 11 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent scissors,
May 13, 2014
By: CTsprey
from Guilford, CT
"These scissors are excellent. They are extremely sharp, and the tips permit very close trimming. I highly recommend them."
Review 12 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectation,
March 11, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"The quality and finish on this set of Scissors is out standing. It easily matches the quality or other Orvis branded products.
These scissors are not hobby tools but precision cutting instruments to be treasured."
Review 13 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps an Edge,
February 25, 2014
By: fishingduck
from Eugene, Oregon
"Been using these for about three weeks with no signs of becoming dull. Sharp edge all the way down to the tip. Nice large finger loops that feel solid and help keep firm grip."
Review 14 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect valentine,
February 21, 2014
By: MillersRiver
from Royalston, MA
"These scissors were the perfect valentine for my fly tying husband!
He no longer raids my sewing box and loves using these quality scissors.
"
Review 15 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and Sharp,
February 14, 2014
By: Jeepnut24
from Morrison, CO
"I needed a new pair of tying scissors and these have turned out to be a great replacement. They are very sharp and have nice fine tips. They make exact cuts even on smaller flies. They have cut a variety of material as well. The adjustable tension is also a nice addition."
Review 16 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
January 16, 2014
By: Cyberhag
from Nashville, TN
"Great choice for versatile all-purpose, high-quality scissors at a reasonable price."
Review 17 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size Scissors,
December 29, 2013
By: Budni
from Belchertown, MA
"Perfect sized for my thumb and fingers, unlike so many other manicure scissors I've had. High quality. Also have the forceps from a past purchase and have also been pleased with those!"
Review 18 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor Scissors Are Very Sharp,
December 24, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I ordered the razor scissors. They are of excellent quality with an adjusting screw. The scissors themselves are very sharp and should cut through nearly everything - wire not included.
I like the way they feel in my hand.
I'll be buying the others in the Premium offering soon."
Review 19 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly-Tying Scissors Set,
October 29, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the set to replace lesser quality scissors that I received with a tying set. All three are fantastic; comfortable to hold, small enough to get into tight places and very sharp. Excellent."
Review 20 for Premium Orvis Scissors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scissors,
July 5, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"3 very well made scissors !! Love the razor great for nipping small Excess furs or whatever on small flys ...."