Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cliff's Bugger Beast

Keep an arsenal of big game saltwater flies and/or streamers in these rugged, lightweight, easily-transported boxes. Both sides of the inside are lined with slotted blue foam that grips hooks, holds them in place, and stands up to hard use. Boxes lock shut with easy sliding closures. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Review 1 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
February 21, 2014
By: Steeliepuller77
from Western Mass
"Really nice box, holds a bunch of my big articulated streamers. Really like the slotted foam, it stands up to everyday abuse. Ordering 2 more, tight lines ya'll"
Review 2 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great big box,
February 11, 2014
By: Foggy14
from Walls, MS
"I just purchased the beast fly box from an Orvis store in Memphis. The way the fly is held in the foam versus having to pierce it is great. Box should last for ever. Preparing for fishing trip in Saltwater, this is perfect."
Review 3 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
September 30, 2013
By: Holyoak
from Pocatello, Id
"Really good box, very durable. This is my second one, I wouldn't have needed this one but I left the other one on top of the car and drove off. Oops! Gone forever!"
Review 4 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Streamer Box,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I use this box as my streamer warehouse. Huge capacity, lightweight, and can take a beating. The slit foam is very soft and of a high quality and holds the flies in very well without dulling the hooks. Killer box!"
Review 5 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Streamer Box,
September 25, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"I picked one of these up after checking it out in the store. It's a rugged box that securely holds a large assortment of flies. I keep all my large streamers and poppers in one of these. I just picked up my third box to hold some saltwater gear."
Review 6 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
May 9, 2012
By: Thewada
from Virginia
"I have three of these boxes to store both salt water and freshwater streamers and poppers. They work great and hold lots of flies which makes it easy to sort through when I am selecting a handful for the day to put in smaller box."
Review 7 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit the bill,
May 4, 2012
By: MWFlyGuy
"Ample storage space for my popping bugs and large streamers. Holds flies securely and the lid stays closed when dropped, as I know from personal experience."
Review 8 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bass ANYONE?,
March 27, 2012
By: Fishingdvm
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I read all the reviews looking for a box to use for BASS flies. This box is listed for saltwater flies but makes a great BASS fly box. Depending on how many flies you plan on carrying will determine if you buy the large or smaller box. I'm a fly junkie, I have to have one of each! I purchased the larger box and was very pleased. I have 32 BASS flies and they fits very comfortably in the larger box.
The box is lightweight and fairly sturdy. Waterproof and convenient for fishing out of a boat. If you were only going to go with 6 to 10 flies I think the smaller box will work fine but neither is small enough to fit into a fishing vest."
Review 9 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pricey but very nice,
March 15, 2012
By: texased
"Holds lots of big flies for saltwater guys...er...people. You could do a do-it-yourself I guess but this is a very good product."
Review 10 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
big storage for big flies,
February 3, 2012
By: JBE2
from Mexico Beach, FL
"Great product for storing large saltwater flies for tarpon, cobia, reds and everything else. big enough to let the flies keep their shape and rugged too."
Review 11 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for tarpon flies,
December 9, 2011
By: brooksie
from ft. lauderdale
"This box is a perfect size for those bulky tarpon flies. They easily slip in and out without mashing the flies agaisnt each other. I have 2 of these,one for the big tarpon toad type and another for cockroaches and similar patterns"
Review 12 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly box for the big stuff,
June 6, 2011
By: strikezone
from Peterborough, ON
"This box is an awesome box for the really big flies used for pike, muskies, or saltwater. The slits make inserting or removing the hooks easy, and the two-sided foam means this box with hold a LOT of flies. The box takes a fair bit of abuse, has positive locking (and lockable) closure clips, and for all purposes, is waterproof.
I've got 4 of them, and will likely be getting a couple more later this year or in early 2012."
Review 13 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 31, 2011
By: tzsdad
from Milwaukie, Oregon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Needed a box big enough to hold a good selection of steelhead flies but small enough to take on the rivers. This box does it. Only suggestion might be to use a camo pattern or muted colors."
Review 14 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer Collection,
January 24, 2011
By: PGACHS
from Alpharetta, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this after returning from the Davidson River, where I was using big streamer patterns. I needed a place to keep all of my oversized flies and this box does that with plenty of space left to use. I keep it in my trunk, so that I can select which streamers I want to use on the day. Also works great for going out on a boat."
Review 15 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Beast,
March 31, 2010
By: Andle7
from AuSable River, Mi
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This box is great for a person that likes to carry a ton of big flies. The blue foam holds everthing tight even in floating the rapids. Very highly recommended."
Review 16 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cliff's Bugger Beast,
March 25, 2010
By: Lefty
from HI. Use these boots in Ak, chasin silvers!
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Cliff's Bugger Beast is as we say in Hawaii Pidgin English: Da Buggah is da biggest and bestest bugga. Really good for large Salmon flies to bonefish flies."
Review 17 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boat Box,
November 21, 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Obviously, not a box for the wader, but if you are fortunate enough to own a drift or other boat, this is a great box for streamers, mice and other large flies."
Review 18 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
April 18, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"Just got one of these for my trip to belize, holds my big 6/0 tarpon flies down to size 8 bonefish flies with ease. No excuses for saying 'now where did I leave my fly box?' bright yellow means no excuses. Good locks on top and comfortable carry handle. A must for any saltwater or pike angler!"
Review 19 for Cliff's Bugger Beast
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great salt water fly box,
January 20, 2008
By: Anonymous
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Last Fall I purchased a "Cliff''s Bugger Beast" fly box from the Raleigh Orvis store prior to Albie season. I transferred most of my "Albie" flies to the new box from plastic boxes. The new box enabled me to better locate a specific fly when the fish were biting and also keep the larger flies straight especially after washing them in fresh water. I label the box indicating which side is the top so the flies don't fall out of the slots when bouncing over waves."