Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Power Jaw Forceps

Better leverage and more mass beneath these fly-fishing forcep's hinge makes it easier to debarb hooks. Half serrated jaws for grip. 5" long with three-position lock. Stainless steel fly-fishing tool features special jaws that crimp split shot. Fly-fishing forceps available in silver, non-glare black. Non-glare black has plastic-coated handle
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Jaw Forceps
Review 1 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't live wihtout them,
October 8, 2012
By: ChrisR
from NC
"I probably lose a pair of these once or twice a year, and I always go back to buy more. I feel naked on the river without them!"
Review 2 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 1, 2015
By: DaneJohnson
from Portland, OR
"Works great, what you would expect of an Orvis product."
Review 3 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Qualty,
March 30, 2015
By: Flyfishfc
from Garden City, NY
"Very Strong and solidly made. I used them for flattening barbs. Just the right size and very comfortable handle and flat and ridged on the front and split shot crimper and opener. I liked them so much I purchased another for my vest and pack so I don't have to move them around."
Review 4 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works like a charm,
March 5, 2015
By: mistermac
from Winnsboro, TX
"My wife got a pair of these last year and they are wonderful....now I have my own and I won't have to listen to her complain that I'm using her stuff!"
Review 5 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have,
February 10, 2015
By: Blob
from Coorado
"Use these to pinch barbs thread tiny flies remove hooks etc. great quality, this is my 2nd pair, got tired of changing them from my pack to my lanyard when I fish in my belly boat."
Review 6 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential tool for the stream,
November 12, 2014
By: ChrisR
from NC
"I've probably purchased nearly 10 of these so far, but only because i keep losing them (i get forgetful on the water). It's to the point now where I buy two at a time...
They are far and away the most comfortable well designed on stream forceps I've ever used."
Review 7 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cheap stainless,
October 21, 2014
By: briansreview
from TX
"Not rated for saltwater rusted after first day. Product advertised to be stainless its not 100%"
Review 8 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect forceps,
August 9, 2014
By: Zellsworth
from Denver, CO
"As always, Orvis delivers. These forceps are ergonomically correct and provide the optimum reach length for freshwater species. A must have tool for any style of freshwater species. Throw your old pliers away and get these."
Review 9 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Necessary tool of the trade,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"These forceps are light, easy to pack, and are very durable!"
Review 10 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome tool,
July 15, 2014
By: scoreby6
"Top quality forceps, the split shot pincher is the best part, my teeth are saved"
Review 11 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality.....AAAAA++++,
January 20, 2014
By: Hobbart
from Pittston,Pa
"Seems like I didn't have to wait long at all for my forceps...but when I opened the package and held them ,,,i could immediately feel the quality,and craftsmanship put in this piece...Thank you,,, at Orvis ,,for making this experience a very pleasurable one......Mark S"
Review 12 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good, solid and high quality...,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Great pair of forceps. Love the power jaw function, great for putting split shot on you leader, de-barbing flies and removing flies from your fish. Highly recommend this product."
Review 13 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so good purchase.,
January 2, 2014
By: Greenlat
from Brooklyn NY.
"I am disappointed with this product.It seems cheap. Its not what I expected.I am going to return them."
Review 14 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Forceps,
December 3, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I have the black pair with the rubber around the finger holes. these forceps are the best I have used. the jaws stay tight after a lot of use and the side "power jaw" is the best for crimping split. For trout forceps look no further. these are a must for catch and release fishermen."
Review 15 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Way It Should Be,
September 24, 2013
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"The smooth operation and ease of use make these a top of the line product."
Review 16 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great forceps,
September 22, 2013
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"These forceps fit my hands very well and the covering on the handles make them very secure and comfortable when squeezing on split shot or de-barbing hooks."
Review 17 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
September 9, 2013
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"It's an improvement over my last pair of hemostats. Sturdy and just the right size."
Review 18 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool look and feel,
July 28, 2013
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"There are so many of things on the market. What makes one better than the other. Other than price, I feel it's about design and function. These babies have both. Plus they are just Darth Vader cool looking!"
Review 19 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 6, 2013
By: Storerab
from Wilmington, NC
"Plenty of grip. No slippage. Grabs the smallest of hooks with no problem. A must buy. No more dollar bin fly shop hemostats for me. These are keepers."
Review 20 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my favorite forceps in black,
January 5, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I agree with all the other reviews. These are the best I've found. They have great features for multiple uses. I prefer the black version because they have rubber coated handles that make hadling these with one hand a whole lot easier when you have a fish in the other hand."