Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Porters Lotion

Porter's Moisturizing Lotion has been effectively soothing dry, cracked, and sunburned skin since 1931. This original moisturizing lotion softens skin without leaving behind any oily residue. 8.45 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Porters Lotion
Review 1 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really works,
December 25, 2013
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"Having tried many solutions to painful winter cracked fingers, this product seems to work. After only a week of use, fingers are healing fast and the pain has subsided. Hopefully, this product will continue to perform all winter."
Review 2 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smells great.,
September 18, 2013
By: Sysygy
from Massachusetts
"Many people mention the smaell of this product in their reviews. I love it. Not too strong with a bit of a mediciny twang. Feels good as it soaks into my hands."
Review 3 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprisingly good !,
January 2, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Reykjavik / Iceland
"Very refreshing and special, lotion that you don,t find in many places.
Good stuff and value for money !
"
Review 4 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a MIRACLE lotion!,
December 9, 2012
By: Lobsterman
from Boston MA
"My fingers have split, cracked and bled in the winter time for most of my 59 years. It was common for me to have 8 or 9 fingers bandaged at once. It was so painful but also so embarrassing to have my hands look so bad! Within a week of using Porter's Original Formula the 9 bloody splits I had were almost completely healed and no more started. A month later I can report I still have no cracked fingertips! This stuff is amazing. I wish I discovered it decades ago."
Review 5 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for dry hands,
December 3, 2012
By: geogprof
"This is great for dry hands. It doesn't leave a greasy residue."
Review 6 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best after shave experience,
July 14, 2012
By: alfoglen
from Pocatello, ID
"I wanted to change my after-shaving experience and ordered both the Dominica bay rum (lime) and Porter's lotion from Orvis. My beard is like wire, my skin is very tender and I am difficult to please. However I am very pleased with both Dominica and Porter's. First I use the after shave, then the lotion. The scent is pleasing but not overwhelming. Pain from any nicks or scrapes leaves immediately, I heartily recommend both Dominca and Porter's. I just ordered my second bottle of both."
Review 7 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StillGoodDespiteChanges,
January 16, 2012
By: ArthurH
from Virginia
"I've been using this product for years and I will continue to do so. It's great for dry skin and minor skin irritations, such as wind burns and chafed skin. I also sometimes use it as an after shave lotion. I would have rated Porters Lotion at five stars except there have been some product changes of which I do not give my full approval. Its aroma has been subdued and its new flip-up cap cannot be made leaktight for packing in suitcases. I liked the original aroma better, but I will continue to use this product because it works."
Review 8 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff.,
December 31, 2011
By: FRW1
"Soothes and softens weather-damaged hands, promotes healing of blisters and sores. Strong scent reminds me of the green soap and camphor phenique we used for similar purposes when I was a child."
Review 9 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product, but not a Lotion,
October 24, 2011
By: snoopy
from Rochester, NY
"This product was not what I expected, but I really do like it. If you are familiar with skincare products, this is really a Toner, not a Lotion, and contains Witch Hazel.
My skin is often dry and this product works great for me. My skin does get sensitive occasionally though and when it does, this will sting sometimes when I put it on. You will also want to close your eyes if you apply it close to them because it is quite strong. The sting and smell really do only last a few seconds.
If you have very sensitive skin, you may have a tough time using this product. If you have average to very dry skin, it will work well. I highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Skin Product for Men and Women,
May 19, 2011
By: DrDon
from Ashland, OR
"After reading the other reviews for this product I decided to give it a try. As a rule, I suffer from very dry skin especially during the winter months here in Southern Oregon where the winters are cold and dry. This stuff works GREAT once you get past its initial odor which lasts just a minute or two until it drys on you skin. I use it primarily after shaving as a moisturizer and skin bracer. I really like the fact that it is NOT OILY like skin lotions tend to be. It makes my skin feel cool and moist almost immediately upon contact so it soothes any razor burn created from shaving. I imagine it will be great this summer for over-exposure to the sun or dealing with insect bites. The cost of this item is minimal (less than $20.00) and I highly recommend it to everyone!"
Review 11 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IN DRY WEATHER ITS A MUST,
January 2, 2011
By: 3839tom
"MY SKIN GETS DRY AND ITCHY ESPECIALLY IN THE WINTER. SINCE I STARTED USING IT THE DRYNESS AND ITCH HAS STOPPED."
Review 12 for Porters Lotion
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
April 26, 2010
By: highNdry
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fellas, it smells a bit at first, but once it dries in, you can't feel or smell a thing, other than less dry skin. It's a noticable difference at first. Then only a tiny bit is needed to maintain. It's more like oil than lotion (and I don't care), and a little goes a long way. I do like it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Porters Lotion
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1