Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Silk Houndstooth Jacket

Pure silk in a houndstooth weave, tailored for a lifetime of enjoyment. Meticulously crafted, the women's four-button jacket has a notched collar, one chest pocket, front besom pockets with flaps, working cuff buttons, and a topstitched back vent. Fully lined in satin-finish polyester. Women's jackets in green multi. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes: 6-20; about 28" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Review 1 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knockout!,
April 24, 2014
By: carolr128
from Spring Lake, NJ
"I admired this jacket for so long that, when it finally went on sale, I couldn't resist.
The fabric is luxurious; the style is classic, and the colors are soft and lovely. The fit is perfect as well.
The Customer Service representative who helped me with my order could not have been nicer or more efficient. Thanks so much!
"
Review 2 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Great,
April 4, 2013
By: Westwind66
from Oakland Ca
"I was hoping for a beautiful Jacket, but it did not hang well and it made me look dowdy. It was bulky looking."
Review 3 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as shown in picture,
January 29, 2013
By: Platt
from Newport Beach, CA
"Unfortunately I have to return this for two reasons.
First, the picture makes the jacket look completely different. It looks very light almost a moss green but in reality it was a strong green and beige color.
Two, if you didn't tell me I would never believed it was a silk jacket. I thought the texture of the fabric was rough and I guess I expected silk to be smooth to the touch.
"
Review 4 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made, a true lightweight jacket,
October 19, 2012
By: Housemarten
from Herefordshire UK
"I have so wished for this jacket for the last two years! Having read earlier reviews was put off purchasing at the original price and when it was in the sale snapped it up. I think the majority of "issues" previously may be resolved as the workmanship is superb, the lining is beautiful.
It is a late Spring/Summer jacket so has little weight. The slight problem is in my jacket the colour is fairly bright green tones not a deeper sage green, therefore not as muted as in the photograph which is not so good. I had hoped to team it with a black business skirt for work but due to the colour will coordinate better with nude or cream colours.
In the sale it is a bargain and essentially warrants five stars. I have given four stars here regarding the original price as I perceive it is expensive.
"
Review 5 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally bought it,
October 2, 2012
By: Jamestown
from Jamestown, RI
"Now that classics are somewhat back in style, I bought this jacket. Glad I did. Lightweight and light color will serve me well on cool days in Florida."
Review 6 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color and cut not good for me,
January 30, 2012
By: Sungrian
from Los Angeles, California
"The color of this jacket in the
catalogue is misleading. I thought it was going to be a creamy beige but the predominant color was khaki green.
I am tall and the sleeves and jacket length were too short. Had I gone up
a size, the fit would have been too
loose. Disappointing because it looked like it would be a great summer jacket.
"
Review 7 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful But Oddly Made,
January 18, 2012
By: Ellie610
from North Carolina
"This jacket is beautiful to look at and the fabric is just perfect but it is fashioned differently than it looks in the catalog."
Review 8 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely jacket,
November 15, 2011
By: thornton32
from Salisbury
"This was a lovely jacket, well made and a good fit but did not like the colour, please make in plain colour."
Review 9 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft Jacket,
October 18, 2011
By: jtools
from Brookfield, WI
"Looks good, soft. I expected something with a little more body, but nice."
Review 10 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic and Comfortable,
August 9, 2011
By: Steamroller
"My husband bought this one for me, not realizing that I had already seen it in your catalogue and was planning on getting it. The photograph doesn't do it justice; this is a " must have " and because of its colors and its style, it goes with so much in my wardrobe. The first time I wore it, I recieved an immediate compliment. And others soon followed. Top-notch quality makes it another of my Orvis favorites. And it goes so well with so many of my Orvis shirts!
Thanks again. This, too, is timeless. Which makes it even more affordable in the long run........"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous,
August 1, 2011
By: CoachSara
from Fort Worth, TX
"I had read reviews about the material being less than expected - and was hesitant, but took a chance. When I got mine, I found the product to be a lovely, light weight silk - perhaps the quality problems have been addressed. I am delighted with quality and fit. It is greener than the photo shows, but I had seen that in another review and was OK with it. This light blue washable silk shirt is a perfect match for this jacket."
Review 12 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 1, 2011
By: classicsfan
"Lovely well made classic jacket. Perfect for the summer and won't be out of fashion by the end of the season."
Review 13 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket,
October 18, 2010
By: Mattiegirl
from Monument, CO
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered this to go with Loden pants. The color is fine. But I have to agree with other reviewers - the color on the web site is not even close to the actual jacket.
The fit is fine. The silk has a nice drape and feel. But I would have preferred the more subtle color as shown on the catalog."
Review 14 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another excellent product,
September 28, 2010
By: jayds
from Redlands Ca
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife loves the jacket.. The fit, style,size,and quality are well. worth the price. The medium weight is perfect for Southern California all year round. Only minor problem is the color in catalogue is not totally accurate."
Review 15 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I Love This Jacket,
August 27, 2010
By: OldSchooler
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great jacket. It has a great fit and comes with a ton of features not normally found on women’s jackets. The cuff buttons actually work. It has a top outside pocket to show off a hint of color with a pocket square. It’s just light weight enough that you can wear it so you can wear it in the early summer months, as well as through the fall and spring.
It a great jacket that goes well with blue jeans or you can also dress it up by wearing a blouse and a pair of dress slacks. While it is lined, my only wish is that it had at least one inside pocket."
Review 16 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the money,
May 13, 2010
By: Jayhawks
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"For the price, this jacket was very cheap feeling. It did not have the sharp look as in the catelogue. While it had a silk lining, the outer material was not silk. I would recommend this jacket for about $75. Also, the $20 price for shipping for such a light item seemed over the top and the operator who I ordered this from was not particularly pleasant. The person I bought this for is thin, but athletic, and the arms were too tight even though a size 8 should have fit and any other size would have been too big. .I was so very dissappointed in this jacket as we have long admired it in the catelogue. I thought it would look very classy. Definitely did not. I do not know if I will be ordering from Orvis again as this was so overpriced for the quality of the product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 6, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the jacket did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure this jacket is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 17 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 25, 2010
By: Lind
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"It arrived very wrinkled. The lining was not even when sewn. The picture is much better then the real thing. I was very disappointed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 3, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the jacket did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure this popular jacket is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 18 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
More green than tan,
March 3, 2010
By: sallyann
from Vermont
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This jacket fit well and looked well. However, the color is more green than the tan it shows, even in the swatch. I ended up sending it back as there was a pull in one of the shoulders. It's an expensive jacket and would have thought the inspection process would have been a little better. If there wasn't a pull (and some loose strings), I probably would have kept it, even though the color was different than I expected."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 9, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure every jacket in our collection is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 19 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous jacket,
February 21, 2010
By: Petoskey
"This is a great jacket. The colors are rich yet subtle, the fabric soft yet substantial. This is the third Orvis jacket I've purchased. They are all classics I will wear for years."
Review 20 for Silk Houndstooth Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely jacket,
January 15, 2010
By: zxcvbn
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered this jacket and it was exquisite. Well designed, beautiful shape and fabric . I didn't keep it because I have a very olive complexion and unfortunately the color didn't work for me. If it had been tans and browns and deep oranges (more of a tweed), I would have bought it without hesitation. These jackets are quite pricey and for that price, it has to be perfect (for me)."