Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Power Jaw Forceps

Better leverage and more mass beneath these fly-fishing forcep's hinge makes it easier to debarb hooks. Half serrated jaws for grip. 5" long with three-position lock. Stainless steel fly-fishing tool features special jaws that crimp split shot. Fly-fishing forceps available in silver, non-glare black. Non-glare black has plastic-coated handle
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
31 of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Jaw Forceps
Review 1 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't live wihtout them,
October 8, 2012
By: ChrisR
from NC
"I probably lose a pair of these once or twice a year, and I always go back to buy more. I feel naked on the river without them!"
Review 2 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cheap stainless,
October 21, 2014
By: briansreview
from TX
"Not rated for saltwater rusted after first day. Product advertised to be stainless its not 100%"
Review 3 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect forceps,
August 9, 2014
By: Zellsworth
from Denver, CO
"As always, Orvis delivers. These forceps are ergonomically correct and provide the optimum reach length for freshwater species. A must have tool for any style of freshwater species. Throw your old pliers away and get these."
Review 4 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Necessary tool of the trade,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"These forceps are light, easy to pack, and are very durable!"
Review 5 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome tool,
July 15, 2014
By: scoreby6
"Top quality forceps, the split shot pincher is the best part, my teeth are saved"
Review 6 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality.....AAAAA++++,
January 20, 2014
By: Hobbart
from Pittston,Pa
"Seems like I didn't have to wait long at all for my forceps...but when I opened the package and held them ,,,i could immediately feel the quality,and craftsmanship put in this piece...Thank you,,, at Orvis ,,for making this experience a very pleasurable one......Mark S"
Review 7 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good, solid and high quality...,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Great pair of forceps. Love the power jaw function, great for putting split shot on you leader, de-barbing flies and removing flies from your fish. Highly recommend this product."
Review 8 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so good purchase.,
January 2, 2014
By: Greenlat
from Brooklyn NY.
"I am disappointed with this product.It seems cheap. Its not what I expected.I am going to return them."
Review 9 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Forceps,
December 3, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"I have the black pair with the rubber around the finger holes. these forceps are the best I have used. the jaws stay tight after a lot of use and the side "power jaw" is the best for crimping split. For trout forceps look no further. these are a must for catch and release fishermen."
Review 10 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Way It Should Be,
September 24, 2013
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"The smooth operation and ease of use make these a top of the line product."
Review 11 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great forceps,
September 22, 2013
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"These forceps fit my hands very well and the covering on the handles make them very secure and comfortable when squeezing on split shot or de-barbing hooks."
Review 12 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
September 9, 2013
By: Bill3
from Williamsport, MD
"It's an improvement over my last pair of hemostats. Sturdy and just the right size."
Review 13 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool look and feel,
July 28, 2013
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"There are so many of things on the market. What makes one better than the other. Other than price, I feel it's about design and function. These babies have both. Plus they are just Darth Vader cool looking!"
Review 14 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 6, 2013
By: Storerab
from Wilmington, NC
"Plenty of grip. No slippage. Grabs the smallest of hooks with no problem. A must buy. No more dollar bin fly shop hemostats for me. These are keepers."
Review 15 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my favorite forceps in black,
January 5, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I agree with all the other reviews. These are the best I've found. They have great features for multiple uses. I prefer the black version because they have rubber coated handles that make hadling these with one hand a whole lot easier when you have a fish in the other hand."
Review 16 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long lasting,
December 31, 2012
By: JustCARF
from Chicago, IL
"I absolutely love these forceps. They open and close with ease. They also have an excellent lock feature that allows you to clamp it anywhere on you. (sleeve, collar, or even clamp it on your bag.) I bought a friend these for a gift and he thinks highly of them as well"
Review 17 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Forceps,
December 29, 2012
By: DWWW
from California
"These are the best forceps I have found. Excellent for debarbing hooks and general use on the stream. The power jaw and combination smooth and serrated surfaces on the tips are very handy."
Review 18 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great forceps,
October 16, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I ordered two in black, both worked perfectly. Good balance, good grip. Next time I will order a gold one. The black would be hard to spot if dropped into the drink."
Review 19 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice tool.,
August 24, 2012
By: PhantomIIRIO
from Bethlehem, PA
"I bought the silver forceps so I could see them better if dropped in the water or on the grass. I also bought the ergonomic snips so the forceps would just be used for crimping jobs.
It's a good size and I especially like the hook barb crimper on the handles. That gives it good crimping power and the placement makes it easier to work with the hook."
Review 20 for Power Jaw Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Nice Firm Grip,
August 15, 2012
By: RoyalMoscateer
from Northeast Iowa
"Got these in black; they appeared and are heftier. Enough mass is there to put the "pow" in the power. I also liked how short they were, allowing for easier aiming down a gullet. I'd get 'em!"