Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Pure Cashmere Sweater

Not all cashmere is alike. Our double-ply pure Mongolian cashmere yarns—unlike more common single-ply cashmere yarns—raise our men's exclusive, handsome sweaters a step above others in luxurious softness, warmth, and comfort. Plus, Mongolian cashmere fibers are some of the finest in the world, collected from goats of the highest steppes of Mongolia. The high altitude results in higher-quality fibers of fine underhair. When spun into our two-ply yarns, they create a superior softness and loft, and a weight-to-warmth ratio unsurpassed by any other natural fiber. The cashmere yarns are then knit by masters who hand link each seam for superior flexibility and longer wear than ordinary cashmere sweaters. Ribbed waist and sleeve cuffs. Hand wash these men's cashmere sweaters. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.057 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
29 of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok for cotton,
October 15, 2012
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Looks ok, a little concerned about pilling; motivation helped by free shipping opportunity; should be fine at least in short run. Shipment quicker than normal. Thanks"
Review 2 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the other one that I did receive,
September 18, 2012
By: Denada
from Seattle, WA
"I ordered two - one in burgundy and the other in heather brown, but only received the burgundy. It is excellent Loving it, but waiting for the brown one."
Review 3 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Sweater,
August 31, 2012
By: Alaskatim
from Anchorage, AK
"I love sweaters. They are my favorite piece of clothing. Much like some women like shoes. This is a very nice sweater. It is cut well. It seems to run true to size. I was a little hesitant about the color but am now glad that I chose it. It is a nicely subdued shade of orange. I would recommend this sweater to anyone."
Review 4 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Sweater,
August 27, 2012
By: Ryanmad2000
from Lancaster, PA
"Very comfortable sweater, not too heavy but feels snug and warm - the blue color is actually much nicer than web makes it look"
Review 5 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool evening cardigan,
August 6, 2012
By: LondonerEW
from Home counties
"Just the thing for cooler evenings,with a touch of class"
Review 6 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color is off,
January 17, 2012
By: sbw2012
from Fairhope, AL
"This is a nice sweater. I have another one of a different color I purchased last year. Two cautions: it runs very small. Buy a size up. Also, the description states "dark navy" in color. It is not dark navy in color. Not anywhere close. So if you are looking for dark navy do not buy this one. Color is closer to a slate blue rather than navy."
Review 7 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall good sweater,
January 12, 2012
By: Thatladyinwisconsin
from Oshkosh, WI
"My husband objected to my buying this sweater last year (in brown) because he didn't like cardigans. It looks great on him & he loves it. It has pilled some, but he wears it a lot, and a little time w/ a clothes shaver makes it presentable. I'll likely be back to buy another."
Review 8 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandfather's Favorite Gift!,
December 31, 2011
By: Anonymous
from El Paso, TX
"I bought this cashmere sweater as a gift for my 93 year old grandfather in what he calls Artillery Red. He punched me in the arm, gave me a huge hug and said, "I LOVE IT!" He even wore it the next day too. The quality is superb and the customer order service from store (in Arlington, VA) to delivery was outstanding. From the Expert Fly Fisherman who helped me to my retired grandfather, also an expert fly fisherman, I could not have been happier. Thank you!!"
Review 9 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
December 30, 2011
By: BG613
"A little thinner than I expected for the price, but real nice cashmere sweater."
Review 10 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size Badly Mismarked,
December 30, 2011
By: DCwoman
from Washington, DC
"I gave this to my husband for Christmas and we were both very disappointed when he tried it on. He has consistently worn a Large for many years. This sweater was way too small. The sleeves were about four inches above his wrists, it was much too short and it did not even go around him. I have concluded that Orvis' sizes cannot be trusted."
Review 11 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 29, 2011
By: PhilipH
from Franklin, TN
"I've had a black cashmere cardigan for a couple of years, and just bought the brown one. Very comfortable, dressy enough for the office, and/or casual occasions. Highly recommend."
Review 12 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
December 28, 2011
By: Elenina
from Berkeley, CA
"The cashmere cardigan fits well, looks great on my husband. The cashmere looks and feels like expensive cashmere, but in just two days of wearing, it is beginning to pill! And it was pricey. Really good cashmere does not pill."
Review 13 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater,
November 26, 2011
By: jfchi
from Randolph, NJ
"I am normally not a sweater person, however this sweater keeps me warm outdoors without overheating me indoors. I was at a party and the house was 75 degrees and I was comfortable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 18, 2011
By: PennyG
"Exactly what I was looking for for my husband. Wonderfully soft.. beautiful color."
Review 15 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
November 1, 2011
By: Safta
from Baltimore, Md.
"We've just received this sweater for my husbands birthday. The color and quality are beautiful----so far no pilling ----as been stated by another review---will let you know--"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
October 27, 2011
By: Retiredgentleman
"Pure cashmere sweater: Skimpy, too short in the body. This should be offered in a tall size. When spending a couple of hundred dollars for a sweater, who cares if it is fifty dollars more."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winter warmer,
October 25, 2011
By: cici1
from Plymouth
"I purchased two of these great cardigans for my husband. One in the bergundy and one in orange. The 100% cashmere makes them so soft and they are a very good fit. Exceptionally good value for money. The colours are exactly as you see them on the website."
Review 18 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As advertised,
October 4, 2011
By: Happyman
"This sweater is what I expected from the catalog description. The fabric, cut, construction and color were very good."
Review 19 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Looking Sweater,
September 25, 2011
By: CAFB
"I bought this olive heather cashmere cardigan for my husband Christmas 2010. it's great looking, and fit well. The problem is that it pilled from being worn, not from laundering. My husband wears it, so I would not return it. However, my son loved it, and said that he'd like to have one like it in the same color. He has not seen it since it pilled. My purpose in writing to you is to request a cashmere cardigan in olive heather that does not pill. I hate to give it as a present to my son or anyone else if the pilling can't be corrected. Please advise."
Review 20 for Pure Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely sweater,
February 3, 2011
By: Mimiquilts
from Ithaca, HY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband needed a proper sweater which would take the place of a sport coat, but still be comfortable. This filled all the needs. He hasn't worn it yet, but will soon. It's hard to fine a tasteful orange garment without seeming to be a fan of a college team; he loves and looks good in that color. This sweater says style, quality, and elegance without shouting! Good work, Orvis"