Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit

Get started quickly and easily with general fly-tying how-tos. All you need to get a sound start in taking up a rewarding and money-saving hobby is right here in this kit. Detailed instructions and materials for tying several each of essential nymph, dry, emerger, and streamer patterns. 150 hooks included with a full array of fur, feathers, hair, glue, plus the necessary fly-tying tools such as scissors, a bobbin, and much more. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Review 1 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok but need to upgrade things,
March 31, 2014
By: Kwols
from Avon co
"Good product to begin with but will soon need to upgrade certain items a little disappointed it does not come with materials to make a parachute adams"
Review 2 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect starter set,
February 25, 2014
By: n0nno
from Lafayette, Oregon
"I was looking into starting fly tying and didn't know where to go until I found the "Clearwater" starter kit. After researching the internet and viewing a number of you-tube videos it was a no brainier, it has the right stuff to do the right job."
Review 3 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great beginners kit!,
February 19, 2014
By: annabb
from santa cruz, CA
"this kit is great for beginners! it really does have everything you need in it. Some of the materials were not of the highest quality but I still loved the kit."
Review 4 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Beginner Fly-Tying Kit,
October 30, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I received the Clearwater fly-tying kit as a gift a couple of years ago. This thoughtful gift launched me into another aspect of fly fishing that I wanted to explore, and increased my overall fascination with the sport we love. The kit’s instructions, materials and tools will get you started; if like me you will learn and be able to make replacement decisions as skills improve. I upgrade a few tools and also purchased Tom’s book to supplement the kit. I have also learned witch materials to purchase to make several go-to patterns and get results on the water. Good for anyone wanting to learn all about fly-tying."
Review 5 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fairly decent kit,
July 11, 2013
By: rennit
from Tucson, Az.
"I started tying flys when young, then got away from it for a number of years. Missing it, I came back. Checked with Orvis, and bought this kit about 5 years ago. The first one didn't have a vise, they quickly made good on it, however by sending me another complete kit for which I was not billed for, and within a few days after I was was "stumbling" trying to tie flys, remember patterns, etc,
Their were ownly two downsides to the kit. It came with the book "The Orvis Fly Tying Guide" by Tom Rosenbaur. While chock full of information, gorgeous illustrations, it quickly physically fell apart due to a very poor binding. (Not something you'd want to take on a fishing trip).
The vise, My opinion is that it's cheaply made with poor materials. For example, it would not hold properly, and the heads (jaws) were so soft, that if you scrunched down trying to get it to hold the hook properly, you wound up with grooves from the hook on the head. I promply bought a bigger, better designed, and stronger vise from Orvis.
Outside of those two items, the kit itself is great for a beginning novice, or even someone like me who came back to fly tying after a number of years. I gave 4 stars on the kit itself, and because of the two issues above, did not give it 5. Decent binding on the book, and and adequate "beginners" vise would have made it a five."
Review 6 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
decent buy, but,
March 3, 2013
By: flyforceone
"Everything needed for a beginner is included. Whip finisher and a bobbin threader would have been nice but for the price it's an ok value. Vice holds poorly and needs constant adjustment. I was assured by the online orvis chat that the Sunrise 2 would hold. You may find yourself holding it.... Gifted this package to a friend and ended up throwing him a peak . Expected a bit more from Orvis and their customer support."
Review 7 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exelent Kit,
March 1, 2013
By: luisrz
from Argentina
"Excellent product and excellent customer service
Met all my expectations
Thank you for sending my order
"
Review 8 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pretty Weak,
March 26, 2012
By: datongdave
from Exeter, NH
"I purchased this kit for a young relative that was interesting in learning to tie flies. While the basics are covered, the kit is pretty sparse and isn't that strong of a value. I expected a lot more from Orvis."
Review 9 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent kit. Missing some non-essentials,
May 25, 2010
By: LoopTastic
from Denver,CO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This product was purchased for me as a gift from a physical store. The sales person said that it contained everything required to get started. While this is technically true it is missing two items which I would like to have seen included as they make life alot easier and enjoyable - namely a bobbin threader, and whip finisher. Had my friend been given warning she would have purchased these too since it is not really an issue of cost, just convenience :)
Having said that I have used the kit for my first few flies, and I am finding it a very enjoyable addition to the sport."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this tying kit didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 10 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Expected Better,
February 16, 2009
By: Zachary
from St. Louis, MO
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"As an avid fly fisherman I have accumulated a lot of equipment from many manufacturers. When I decided to start tying my own flies I looked to Orvis for quality and an overall good buy. I was disappointed however in the purchase of this kit.
As one customer wrote, even if you are just starting out purchase everything individually. There are a lot of materials you may never use. Just consult any fly shop about what flies you typically use and they can direct you to the necessary materials.
More importantly, the quality of the vise in this kit is far below what I am used to with Orvis products. Within a week the housing which is essential to tightening the vise to a table broke and has in essence rendered it useless, barring a little handiwork. In addition to that, the vise constantly demands adjusting during sessions due to a lack of precision in the parts. This has quickly become a pain to deal with.
Lesson: Don’t buy kits and try not to compromise, even if you are just a beginner."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 13, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for any disappointment caused by this kit – both by the assortment of items provided and by the quality (or lack, thereof) of his vise. Orvis thanked the customer for providing this feedback and offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 11 for Clearwater® Fly-Tying Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Kit,
November 13, 2008
By: MarchBrown
from Fort Worth, TX
"This is a pretty good kit for the money. I purchased mine about 2 years ago and have since replaced nearly every component in the kit with better quality components. The vice is acceptable and the jaws hold well, but require constant adjustment during tying sessions. The other tools are of acceptible, but basic quality. The tying materials are of good quality, but the hackle provided would probably be graded at Bronze (3) or lower. There is a wide enough variety of materials that you can tie all the patterns provided, plus others. You'll run out of hooks long before you run out of materials.
If I had to do it over again I would probably forgo the kit and just buy materials and tools individually. You get better product up front and you don't buy things you do not need. I know there are materials in the kit that I have either never used or used only once or twice, and the money spent on those materials could have been better applied to other materials."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 25, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that some of the items needed to be replaced with something of better quality. Orvis also thanked the customer for providing such constructive and valuable feedback and passed the customer’s concerns on to the manufacturer of this light so that improvements to it can be implemented