Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sparkle Dun

A perfect trout dry fly to imitate many different natural mayflies, including Pale Morning Duns, Sulphur, and Baetis mayflies. The dry fly is sparse, yet gives a great drift. The deer hair lets you track the dry fly. Trout can't resist a sparkle dun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sparkle Dun
Review 1 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Killer Pattern,
February 10, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"Based on Craig Mathews design at Blue Ribbon Flies, this is one of the most productive caddis patterns in the world. A proven winner for sure. No one should leave home without this in their fly box. World-class pattern!!"
Review 2 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well tied,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Have not had the chance to try these out due to some early snow :( but the fly looks great!"
Review 3 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colorado,
September 21, 2011
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
"Had the best luck with this fly on the Maroon Bells Creek near Aspen this last week. There is a great semi large pool with great in and out flow. They hit each time if you placed the fly in the right spot."
Review 4 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blazing,
May 7, 2011
By: jimmy265
from roanoke
"browns can not leave this fly alone. on the smith river in bassett va had a blast caught at least 30 fish used fly all day love it when sulfer hatch is on it is on"
Review 5 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 20, 2011
By: jigginaround
from mount clemens,michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i was really excited to receive my order of sparkle dunns. they are all tied tight..i am going this week to use em."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's the one dry fly to fish,
February 8, 2010
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Year after year, if there's one dry fly that out produces any other dry fly in my box it's some version, size, or color of the Sparkle Dun. I recall one evening last summer on the Farmington River where I could do not wrong with my Sparkle Dun during a delightful Sulphur hatch.
This fly floats low in the water so I expect it attracts a lot of attention as a cripple/emerger and the Deer Hair wing helps it stay afloat regardless of molestations by fish or broken water.
A great fly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
July 30, 2009
By: flyguy2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was up fishing the Kennebec river recently, and it was poor fishing to say the least. I had caught nothing. Threw on this fly, and first cast, 17 inch brookie on. Over the next hour, I caught and released 10 more fish, including a 19 inch brookie. Great fly to use."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sparkle Dun
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just before the duns appear,
March 25, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"You should put this fly on. When you see rises everywhere but no sailboats on the water, put one of these on and try a drift."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sparkle Dun
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1