Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Digital Stream Thermometer

Digital fishing thermometer lets you record water temperature quickly and more easily than ever in mere seconds. Thermometer has a simple jackknife style that clips onto belt for handy access. Records both high and low temp in C and F. Fishing thermometer has a durable, reliable construction. Comes with removable lanyard. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.585 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Digital Stream Thermometer
Review 1 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ok product,
April 2, 2013
By: fishNHVT
from antrim nh
"Seems cheaply made. Does not read instantly takes about 30 secs depending on temp difference. Works good so far I don't expect it to last. If it breaks I'm going to the pharmacy and buy a thermometer and see how that works.."
Review 2 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Fishing Insight,
April 1, 2013
By: bkmoorenm
from New Mexico
"Tried my new stream thermometer ... really changed my approach to fishing. It works exactly as described."
Review 3 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
slow,
March 25, 2013
By: ragface
from Huntington Beach, Ca
"Decent product but less than I expected. It is one degree off which I can compensate for - but. My biggest disappointment is how terribly slow it is to respond. Depending on how different water temp is from ambient temp it could take 2 to 4 minutes before it reports the actual water temp. I'll still use it, just have to wait more than expected."
Review 4 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 19, 2013
By: Labdog4me
from Germantown, OH
"I am new to fly fishing and looking forward to landing some bass from my local streams. My reading informed me that water temperature is very important for seeing when the fish should be active and when they should be spawning. I've checked the streams water temp. but it's still a bit too cold...seems ole man winter just doesn't want to let go. The thermometer is quick and easy to use...just can't wait for warmer weather."
Review 5 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works as expected,
March 15, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I wanted a thermometer to determine water temperature with. This seemed to fit the bill and was on sale. So... I bought it. It seems easy to use and easy to read the gauge. I can even read the temp gauge with polarized sunglasses on. This is something that you can't do with some I found on a different web site. The one thing I noticed was... you have to hold the needle in the water for a good 20 seconds or more before you get an accurate reading. I don't know if this is normal or not - just thought I'd share in case it matters to you. It's small and folds up neatly. So, it's easy to pack. There is a clip if you want to stick it in your front pocket and a quick detach strap if you want to hang it from, well, just about anything. I don't believe it is water proof. It does look like it would survive a light rain though. I'm happy I bought it."
Review 6 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used it once,
February 13, 2013
By: hansthenewbie
from Los Angeles, CA
"I don't know if the reading was accurate or not since I don't have any other means to compare it. The air temperature was about 27°F and the reading was 47°F.
But it worked just find out of the box and easy to use."
Review 7 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for this!,
January 11, 2013
By: wallstreet
from Northern California
"I was looking for a thermometer and being on sale made it even better!"
Review 8 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good & Quick,
January 9, 2013
By: trw47
"I have been pleased with the digital thermometer . It a lot faster than the old style but not as fast as the infrared ones which are more expensive. A good buy when it was on sale."
Review 9 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful tool,
January 3, 2013
By: guadalupefly
"I got this for my husband for Christmas after seeing relatives use one this summer in MT. We are new into the fly fishing adventure and thought he would like this item - which he did!"
Review 10 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition,
December 30, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"Great addition for any fisherman. Much quicker at adjusting the temp than I ever anticipated. Great for figuring out which fly to use."
Review 11 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
December 30, 2012
By: woodguy52
from Morris County, NJ
"I'm very happy with the purchase of this item. It's just the right size to read without my reading glasses, which are always a pain to put on when standing in a river. Gives a quick and accurate water temperature as well as air temperature. I like this far better than your average stream thermometer."
Review 12 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works out of water also,
December 29, 2012
By: fishng1
from TX
"Gave me the temp of the water very quick, and an extra feature I did not think of when I got it was it also gave me the outdoor temp. Good all around tool."
Review 13 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful fishing tool,
December 29, 2012
By: sunnybw
"Hasn't been used yet--but husband looking forward to that"
Review 14 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May be helpful...,
December 28, 2012
By: brascioli
from NC
"I gave this to my son who does fly fishing trips and said he didn't have one. He believes it could be helpful in the future for him..."
Review 15 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
temp taker,
December 28, 2012
By: ladycove
from Swan Valley, ID
"My husband said this will be invaluable when he's out trout fishing this next year...He says it makes a difference in how many he'll catch by knowing the water temp."
Review 16 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
November 28, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"When I bought this stream thermometer I admittedly thought I wouldn't use it as much as I do. Despite being terrible at math, I'm kind of a stats nerd so this is right up my alley. It's a great tool to help figure out where you should really be putting your fly, if the streams only about 40 degrees you better put it at the bottom, if it's closer to 60 I'll certainly be tying on a dry."
Review 17 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good deal,
October 22, 2012
By: waynej
from live in wisconsin fish here and western rivers
"On Sale and it was exactly what I expected it to be. Batteries included!"
Review 18 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accidental Multi-Tasker,
October 18, 2012
By: darnolddawg
from Metro Louisville, KY
"This is a neat product - small and as accurate as a $100 instant read electric cooking thermometer. (I tested it to be sure.) Here's the bonus - the Digital Stream Thermometer reads up to 250 degrees above zero, so you can use it in a pinch to make sure your chicken reaches a safe temperature or to make sure your ribeye is medium rare. Supplied with a handy pocket clip and a wrist lanyard as well. A lot of bang for the buck in a small package."
Review 19 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size for use,
October 1, 2012
By: ZodiacFLY2012
from Saginaw, Michigan
"Small and compact,fits tool caddy perfectly for around the neck use.quick temperature aquisition,great prouduct all around"
Review 20 for Digital Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size and read speed,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"After purchasing one of the old, long and hard to carry long stick type thermometers from my local fly shop, I came to quickly realize that it was troublesome to carry with me, hard to read and took a while to get up or down to temp. Of course I browsed the Orvis site and found this wonderful digital thermometer. I bought it and within days I was testing it out on some local water. The compact design of it makes for easy carrying (I sometimes lost it in my vest because it was so much smaller than my old one). It is very easy to read, quite fast and I love the cord and quick-release clip on it as well. As others have said I am worried about dunking it in the water or getting it wet, but I'm sure it's waterproof since it IS a water thermometer. Overall great product!"