Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Double-Layer Shirt

This distinctive empire-waist shirt is detailed with a double-layered design, V-neckline, and trio of decorative butons. The breathable hemp/Tencel® blend has the look and texture of linen with a silky feel. Hemp/Tencel. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.989 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
7
68 of 92(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double-Layer Shirt
Review 1 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too roomy,
April 14, 2014
By: Suziekent
"This is a beautiful top, but
Be aware it is very very
Loose fitting. Beautifully made,
But,alas, too big. Sent it back.
Order it in size smaller than usual
For you.
"
Review 2 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as nice as pictured,
April 12, 2014
By: LainieA
from Rhode Island
"This top looks great in the picture, but the material is thin and does not lay very well. In my case, it runs small and is not particularly attractive. I am returning it. Very disappointed, as I often order from Orvis and am usually very pleased with my purchases."
Review 3 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 12, 2014
By: jaboo
"A beautiful addition to my closet...can be worn with skirt or pants and has lovely lines. Just what I was looking for."
Review 4 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light-weight coverage,
April 11, 2014
By: Becklen
from Creve Coeur, Missouri
"Material is light-weight and fairly transparent even with the underlayer which I did not expect from the product picture. Will need a camisole."
Review 5 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile,
March 31, 2014
By: Oregonchart
from Portland OR
"This top is casual but also dressy. Great for multiple uses."
Review 6 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linen is In,
March 28, 2014
By: Mogul
from Minnesota
"Exceptional unique styling & who doesn't want a Linen Blouse.
Great for Spring and Summer.
"
Review 7 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
'Go-to' for summer,
March 13, 2014
By: SummitMom
from Wisconsin
"Can't wait for warm weather so I can wear this shirt! Wonderful light weight fabric for humid days, paired with casual shorts or with dress pants, it will be perfect. Perfect fit (XL). Dress it up or down with different jewelry."
Review 8 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatility,
March 11, 2014
By: Susie34
"Your choice whether to wear this shirt for a dressy occasion or as smart casual; it is all in how you accessorize. Drapes beautifully."
Review 9 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this blouse,
February 24, 2014
By: foxylady79
from Marathon, Fl
"I bought this blouse in black after reading reviews saying it was thin. I am 5'3" 148;bs ordered a M and it fits perfect. I live in the Fl Keys and
it is comfortable in our balmy weather
I does wrinkle a little but no problem Would buy ano one in different color if available
"
Review 10 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice blouse,
October 21, 2013
By: diggy
from West Jefferson, NC
"Well made and fits well. I think it a very flattering blouse, and it feels good too. I like the material. The blouse runs large. I had to send the first one I ordered back because it was too large."
Review 11 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ok for casual,
August 13, 2013
By: blackswift
"loved the styling but fabric is very thin. It has a casual look; cannot wear to my office so had to return."
Review 12 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just lovely,
July 25, 2013
By: Nutkin
from Lebanon, NH
"I looked at this pretty shirt every time it appeared in a catalog, but didn't buy it until it went on sale. I needed to have the sleeves shortened, but otherwise it fits fine. It washed beautifully, but it does need ironing. It irons like a handkerchief, though, so that's not really a problem. I bought it in two colors, and really enjoy wearing it. It's stylish -- and COOL for summer!"
Review 13 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mixed blessing,
July 22, 2013
By: SoJo
"This white paneled shirt has a pretty design. Looks fresh and is fairly comfortable. Sleeves bind a little on flexing elbows ( no, I am not chubby) . The bad part is the sheerness of the fabric. Can see thru the back. Not what I expected of tencel. Too bad, had to send back. Bit I really like the design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEAUTIFUL TOP,
July 17, 2013
By: Lovemyrescuedog
from Chanhassen, MN
"Being a first time buyer with Orvis, I was pleasantly surprised when I received my linen double-layer shirt. The quality of the fabric and the fit were beyond my expectations. This top will be one of my favorite standbys. Thanks to my sister for turning me on to Orvis. Older sisters always know best!
Sincerely, JW"
Review 15 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 8, 2013
By: CamiG
"I love the look of this shirt - and the feel, now that I've washed it. It was a little stiff at first. The main complaint that I have is that it wrinkles quite a bit, considering it's made with Tencel. Normally this fabric would hang very nicely, and stay fresh looking throughout the day. This acts much more like linen. The only other problem I have is that, since this is a lighter color and the lower portion is double-layered, the top portion appears a little too shear. I have the same top in a light green and I don't have the same problem with that one."
Review 16 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit,
July 8, 2013
By: tunalu
from Laurel, MD
"Glad someone had already reviewed and said that the white shirt was kind of see through and you needed a camesole under it so I ordered the black instead and am very very pleased."
Review 17 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elegant Casual,
July 2, 2013
By: Raleighgirl
"Runs a little on the small side, the fabric is light and airy (can slightly see through). Recommend wearing a full coverage bra beneath. Still, I find this to be a beautiful top and enjoy wearing."
Review 18 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
can't wait to wear it!,
July 1, 2013
By: letha
from pennsylvania
"Loved the blouse but miscued on the size I ordered.
Took advantage of your quick exchange and had the smaller size in just a few days.
Great!
"
Review 19 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feel so good!,
June 27, 2013
By: Ofie
from NH
"I bought this top last year and every time I wear it I receive compliments. It is very flattering and elegant."
Review 20 for Double-Layer Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed in Eggshell,
May 19, 2013
By: Aigneau
from Washington, DC
"I ordered this in eggshell and black, but will be returning the eggshell. You can see right through top, and as the small just fits I couldn't take a larger size to accommodate a camisole. The black is fine. However, I was surprised at how much the fabric wrinkles. A beautiful shirt and very flattering. If you make the fabric thicker I'd order the eggshell."