Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wood Door Frame Dog Gate

This gate allows you to move easily from room to room while containing your dog. Solid wood construction blends tastefully with your home; adjustable friction-fit mounting ensures that the gate and your dog stay securely put. Rubber stoppers save your walls and trim from marking. No hardware or drilling required. Tall gate (35"H) has a door that allows people and dogs to pass easily. It adjusts from 28" to 36" wide. Wide gate (35"H) is similar to the tall gate and fits doorway or hallway opening widths of 35"-37", 47"-49", and 59"-61". Distance between spindles of tall and wide gates is 1½". All models feature a latched handle. Not for use at the top of stairs. Dog gates in walnut (tall, wide), white (tall only).
Average Customer Rating:
4.66 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
100 of 106(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Review 1 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
August 14, 2014
By: 1wishbone
from Hollis, ME
"I recently purchased the tall gate, it's well made, study and easy to install. The narrow separation between bars is great for my small Dachshund.
It would be nice if the opening were a couple inches wider.
Plan to purchase another."
Review 2 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
August 11, 2014
By: Sam61855
"Excellent gate that looks like furniture. Easy to assemble and certainly worth every penny."
Review 3 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect For Large Dog Owners,
July 31, 2014
By: HawleyDog
"We have 4 boxers. That's a lot of canine enthusiasm to keep under control and these gates, at 3 egress points off of our kitchen, do the trick. Solid, good looking and tall enough to keep even the most athletic of them contained, Pricey but worth it."
Review 4 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 24, 2014
By: Cherrydog
from New Jersey
"I now have ordered 3 of these gates for my daughter's new home. They work great in keeping the dog (70 lbs) in the rooms designated and the children ages 4, 7, 8 are able to operate opening and closing easily. They also look good being made of wood. I would recommend these gates as they are top quality."
Review 5 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
July 23, 2014
By: jas24
from Miamisburg, OH
"I purchased a wood dog frame dog gate from Orvis earlier this month. It was fairly easy to install and it works great. It looks beautiful and is a nice addition to the room."
Review 6 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it belongs in your home,
June 11, 2014
By: gateman65
from Fairport, NY
"This beautiful wooden gate looks as if it was part of the original design of our home. Its color is warm and it fits any antique décor in the room it is enclosing. We are using it to separate our dining room from the rest of the house. Our dog loves it. We love it. And the comment we have heard most often is "it looks like it belongs here - where did you get it?""
Review 7 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made/sturdy,
April 18, 2014
By: BetteAnnMarie
from Mechanicsburg PA
"Gate easily installed. Instructions
easy to follow. Very well satisified
with product.
"
Review 8 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice dog gate,
April 15, 2014
By: Arae
"This is the second gate like this that I have purchased. The first one I have had for about 7 years and it is still in great condition. I needed a second gate for a bedroom door. The ability to open and close the gate is very handy. No stepping over and the risk of tripping."
Review 9 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate,
April 3, 2014
By: Kaylyn5
from Connecticut
"This is our second gate. We use our kitchen family room as a giant crate for our older dog, now we have a new puppy and need to block access to another room. This gate is easy to install and we needed the wider version to span the double door opening. The gate is easy to open and close with one hand."
Review 10 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate Ever,
March 24, 2014
By: Jhenrysanta
from Pasadena, Ca.
"I purchased the white wooden door gate to match woodwork in between my kitchen and dining room. It is as attractive as it is functional in opening and closing. I found it quite easy to assemble and adjust to an even fitting in the door way."
Review 11 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pet Gate,
March 11, 2014
By: MS935
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Attractive, easy to use. and effective. I have purchased four of the gates."
Review 12 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gates ever,
March 4, 2014
By: Sherri1234
from Woodside, CA
"I love these gates. They are easy to install and they look great. Not cheap. Well made. The door is easy to open and close. I may buy another one for my mother but would get the wider version."
Review 13 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well/Looks good,
March 2, 2014
By: CTMFlyFish
from Arlington, VA
"We bought the extended gate for a 50 inch space to keep our now 5-month old lab contained in the kitchen and family room. Works great and looks good. The kids have no trouble negotiating the gate and it was easy to install. Only 2 weeks of expereince, bjut so far so good."
Review 14 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
March 1, 2014
By: Ken5555
from Georgetown, KY
"The Wood Frame Dog Gate is really mostly metal painted to match the wooden parts. It is very substantial, thus seems like it should last a while, even with larger dogs than it is recommended for. After opening the box and cleaning up the small styrofoam pieces that stuck to everything, assembly seemed like it was going to be a real chore but, once you realize what is going on, it was a piece of cake. I had to modify the direction concerning the size door frame I was trying to fit as the printed directions, while probably accurate, were not the best solution to fit my frame. After assembly, the dogs like it and humans need a day or so to get used to stepping over the bottom rail. Oh, one slight criticism: The push latch and handle seem to be designed backward so, rather then putting your fingers in the latch and squeezing, you have to push the latch instead."
Review 15 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality!,
February 17, 2014
By: Whynotsurely
from Albany, NY
"The dog gate was of very good quality. My only complaint was the discrepancy in the two larger measurements. I had to remove some of the parts to make it fit ."
Review 16 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and attractive,
February 14, 2014
By: paramedic
from New Castle, PA
"I spent $600 on emergency vet bills because my black lab got into the dog food and I couldn't be sure that that was the cause of his bloated stomach. I could have saved myself almost $500 dollars by buying this gate first. I liked it so much, I have recently bought 2 more. It stops the dogs, is easy for me to go through and is very attractive. Easy installation as well."
Review 17 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be careful of dimensions,
February 10, 2014
By: EddyC
from Richmond,VA
"The wood door frame dog gate is very sturdy once you install it. The directions are very difficult to understand. One problem is that the website says the gate's width is up to 36inches. But the actual product when I received it said it was 35 5/8 inches. That fraction does make a difference when your door is 36 inches wide. We were able to stretch it to just fit.
It is pricey for the way it is made. Some wood, some metal and a lot of plastic.
"
Review 18 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% satisfied,
February 7, 2014
By: BulldogBen
from South Wales
"Replaces white metal gate and looks so much better with my wooden floor and door frame. Easy to fit, easy to use and sturdy."
Review 19 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is for small dogs only.,
January 17, 2014
By: Labpuppymom
"Ordered this gate because it was advertised as a "tall" gate as I have a lab. After I received it and started to set it up I read the directions and they specifically said this gate is for dogs 44 lbs and under. I spoke with the orvis representative and mentioned that the description should be clearer. Had no problem returning it."
Review 20 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A high hurdle,
January 13, 2014
By: McGinlayduzitagain
from Cornwall
"Our minaiture english bull terrier is very excited to meet visitors so we' had installed a normal child gate between the kitchen and the hall. However, our miniature is smarter and more athletic than our previous standard bull terrier and, using a 'fosbury flop' technique, could get over it with relative ease. This product, slightly higher and more robust has beaten him 9 times out of 10. It's exceptionally well made, is aesthetically pleasing and will confound even the most innovative pup!"