Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wood Door Frame Gate

This gate allows you to move easily from room to room while containing your dog. Solid wood construction blends tastefully with your home; adjustable friction-fit mounting ensures that the gate and your dog stay securely put. Rubber stoppers save your walls and trim from marking. No hardware or drilling required. Tall gate (35"H) has a door that allows people and dogs to pass easily. It adjusts from 28" to 36" wide. Wide gate (35"H) is similar to the tall gate and fits doorway or hallway opening widths of 35"-37", 47"-49", and 59"-61". Distance between spindles of tall and wide gates is 1½". All models feature a latched handle. Not for use at the top of stairs. In walnut (low, tall, wide), white (tall only).
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
131 of 137(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pet gate,
June 16, 2015
By: JCarol61
"I am very pleased with this gate, as it keeps our two new Basset puppies out of our living room, but gives us easy access. I am disappointed, though, that the larger size was not available. If it does become available, I will be ordering one of those also."
Review 2 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Instructions,
June 12, 2015
By: SandyOtis
from Miami, FL
"I remember installing this gate was complicated as I have a wide door and need to use the extensions. Once in place it worked great. I had to take it down for some movers and now can't get it back up. Does anyone have a set of instructions?
Or know how to get a set?
"
Review 3 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 26, 2015
By: MerlinR
"I am very happy with the gate. It works well and was easy to install."
Review 4 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great way to limit entry.,
May 19, 2015
By: 4legsfamily
from Fort Payne, AL
"We had bought other gates from Orvis and knew the gate would be well made and durable. This is a narrower opening than our other pass through gate. It is perfect for a room when you want to keep the dogs out most of the time."
Review 5 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wood Dog Gate,
May 18, 2015
By: AZJE
from Arizona
"Performs as expected and looks good. Slightly difficult to assemble and get in place, but once up it was up the gate is doing exactly what I wanted."
Review 6 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our second gate,
May 12, 2015
By: Sam4534
"The gates are easy to install, easy to operate and function well. We've had our original gate for 3 years now and have recently purchased our second gate for our cabin."
Review 7 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy, beautiful & easy to go through,
May 8, 2015
By: riverlovinglady1
from Fort Bragg, CA
"I've decided to buy a second gate for another flight of stairs in our home. This gate is awesome."
Review 8 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what we needed...,
April 29, 2015
By: RHCMaxTheGolden
"We recently adopted a loving, but somewhat hyper 2 yr old Golden Retriever, and were looking for a way to reliably keep him out of part of the house, but that we would be able to easily pass thru. This gate is just the ticket. The location we placed the gate in is the opening to a hallway.
A small issue we had is that the hallway has chair molding that the upper tension pads overlap by about 1/2 inch. In order to keep from damaging the chair molding, I fashioned some small 1" thick wooden blocks painted the same color as the wall to go between the pad and wall just below the chair molding. That worked like a charm. As we don't intend to frequently remove the gate, it is semi-permanently installed there.
Gate latch works well and gate swings open easily yet is sturdy enough to keep the dog out of the areas we don't want him in. An unforeseen benefit is that the gap between the wall and the first vertical bar is wide enough that our cat can easily pass through without us having to open the gate.
One thing to be aware of is the frame of the gate looks like it is bent outward when you take it out of the box. It is designed that way so when you install it and tighten the adjustment knobs, the tension straightens the frame out and creates a tight fit against the doorframe.
I should also note that we did not install this in a doorframe and if you plan on installing directly against drywall instead of a door frame I'd suggest that you don't over tighten the adjustment knobs so you don't potentially damage your drywall.
Bottom line, this gate works perfectly for our needs and I highly recommend it.
"
Review 9 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super strong,
April 21, 2015
By: buddysgate
"My Great Dane puppy could not get through this gate, no matter how much he chewed or pushed. The handle/latch has taken a beating, but the gate itself is exactly as I bought it. It took me a while to figure out how to install it, but once I actually read the instructions, it was quick."
Review 10 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 10, 2015
By: Sukes
from Shropshire
"Highly recommend. Strong and very well made but also smart. I have tried a few cheaper dog gates but this one is worth every penny."
Review 11 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wood Door frame dog gate,
April 6, 2015
By: cheers1234
from Newport Beach, CA
"Item is exactly what we expected. The instructions were easy and the door arrived promptly"
Review 12 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too short,
January 26, 2015
By: dogmom23
from Texas
"I love this gate and it's my second one to purchase. However, I measured incorrectly and the gate is too short. I am disappointed that this style does not come in a wider version. I called about extensions but the sales associate was unable to help me. My husband was able to add a few things to make ti work for us."
Review 13 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: Piper37
"It is terrific! So easy to use and sturdy enough to withstand 7 very active Lab puppies!"
Review 14 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate!,
January 9, 2015
By: Plantationfun
from South Carolina
"This is our second one of these gates. Don't misunderstand me...they don't wear out....we had our first one for lab pups 13 yrs ago.
Still using that one and ordered a new one for our new lab pups!
Needed to create more boundaries within the house and this worked so good the first time....we bought another. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 15 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gates,
December 31, 2014
By: ddpops
from Texas
"We have now installed our fourth white Door Frame Dog Gate, and we could not be happier!!! The gates are constructed very well and the handle used to open and lock the gate is very easy to operate."
Review 16 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works as advertised,
December 30, 2014
By: Randyfpd
"The wooden dog door works as advertised, but the handle lock is poor at best. I purchased two doors for the house, and both of the handle locks work poorly, forcing you to stop, and manipulate the handle to open the door. NOT good in the middle of the night when the puppy wants/needs to go out side to do his duty. I have already cleaned up one mess because the door would not open."
Review 17 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 27, 2014
By: dogmom23
from Texas
"I wish I would have invested in this sooner. The perfect solution for keeping the cat and dogs separated."
Review 18 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent-high quality gate,
December 23, 2014
By: Catherinelizabeth
"I needed to block off a large area to keep my dog out of the living room and this gate is very good looking as well as high in quality. It is so convenient for family members to be able to open and walk through the opening. I recommend it highly."
Review 19 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
November 21, 2014
By: Grandmagirl
"Very happy with this purchase! The dog crate is furniture quality! Nice addition to our new home. Easy assembly and very fast shipping."
Review 20 for Wood Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wood frame dog gate,
November 14, 2014
By: ghtbm
from norfolk
"This is the second gate I have purchased from Orvis andI am extremely pleased with the look and quality. I would not hesitate to recommend this gate and may be purchasing another one in the future."