Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wood Door Frame Dog Gate

This gate allows you to move easily from room to room while containing your dog. Solid wood construction blends tastefully with your home; adjustable friction-fit mounting ensures that the gate and your dog stay securely put. Rubber stoppers save your walls and trim from marking. No hardware or drilling required. Tall gate (35"H) has a door that allows people and dogs to pass easily. It adjusts from 28" to 36" wide. Wide gate (35"H) is similar to the tall gate and fits doorway or hallway opening widths of 35"-37", 47"-49", and 59"-61". Distance between spindles of tall and wide gates is 1½". All models feature a latched handle. Not for use at the top of stairs. Dog gates in walnut (tall, wide), white (tall only).
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
95 of 101(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Review 1 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it belongs in your home,
June 11, 2014
By: gateman65
from Fairport, NY
"This beautiful wooden gate looks as if it was part of the original design of our home. Its color is warm and it fits any antique décor in the room it is enclosing. We are using it to separate our dining room from the rest of the house. Our dog loves it. We love it. And the comment we have heard most often is "it looks like it belongs here - where did you get it?""
Review 2 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made/sturdy,
April 18, 2014
By: BetteAnnMarie
from Mechanicsburg PA
"Gate easily installed. Instructions
easy to follow. Very well satisified
with product.
"
Review 3 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice dog gate,
April 15, 2014
By: Arae
"This is the second gate like this that I have purchased. The first one I have had for about 7 years and it is still in great condition. I needed a second gate for a bedroom door. The ability to open and close the gate is very handy. No stepping over and the risk of tripping."
Review 4 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate,
April 3, 2014
By: Kaylyn5
from Connecticut
"This is our second gate. We use our kitchen family room as a giant crate for our older dog, now we have a new puppy and need to block access to another room. This gate is easy to install and we needed the wider version to span the double door opening. The gate is easy to open and close with one hand."
Review 5 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate Ever,
March 24, 2014
By: Jhenrysanta
from Pasadena, Ca.
"I purchased the white wooden door gate to match woodwork in between my kitchen and dining room. It is as attractive as it is functional in opening and closing. I found it quite easy to assemble and adjust to an even fitting in the door way."
Review 6 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pet Gate,
March 11, 2014
By: MS935
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Attractive, easy to use. and effective. I have purchased four of the gates."
Review 7 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gates ever,
March 4, 2014
By: Sherri1234
from Woodside, CA
"I love these gates. They are easy to install and they look great. Not cheap. Well made. The door is easy to open and close. I may buy another one for my mother but would get the wider version."
Review 8 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well/Looks good,
March 2, 2014
By: CTMFlyFish
from Arlington, VA
"We bought the extended gate for a 50 inch space to keep our now 5-month old lab contained in the kitchen and family room. Works great and looks good. The kids have no trouble negotiating the gate and it was easy to install. Only 2 weeks of expereince, bjut so far so good."
Review 9 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
March 1, 2014
By: Ken5555
from Georgetown, KY
"The Wood Frame Dog Gate is really mostly metal painted to match the wooden parts. It is very substantial, thus seems like it should last a while, even with larger dogs than it is recommended for. After opening the box and cleaning up the small styrofoam pieces that stuck to everything, assembly seemed like it was going to be a real chore but, once you realize what is going on, it was a piece of cake. I had to modify the direction concerning the size door frame I was trying to fit as the printed directions, while probably accurate, were not the best solution to fit my frame. After assembly, the dogs like it and humans need a day or so to get used to stepping over the bottom rail. Oh, one slight criticism: The push latch and handle seem to be designed backward so, rather then putting your fingers in the latch and squeezing, you have to push the latch instead."
Review 10 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality!,
February 17, 2014
By: Whynotsurely
from Albany, NY
"The dog gate was of very good quality. My only complaint was the discrepancy in the two larger measurements. I had to remove some of the parts to make it fit ."
Review 11 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and attractive,
February 14, 2014
By: paramedic
from New Castle, PA
"I spent $600 on emergency vet bills because my black lab got into the dog food and I couldn't be sure that that was the cause of his bloated stomach. I could have saved myself almost $500 dollars by buying this gate first. I liked it so much, I have recently bought 2 more. It stops the dogs, is easy for me to go through and is very attractive. Easy installation as well."
Review 12 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be careful of dimensions,
February 10, 2014
By: EddyC
from Richmond,VA
"The wood door frame dog gate is very sturdy once you install it. The directions are very difficult to understand. One problem is that the website says the gate's width is up to 36inches. But the actual product when I received it said it was 35 5/8 inches. That fraction does make a difference when your door is 36 inches wide. We were able to stretch it to just fit.
It is pricey for the way it is made. Some wood, some metal and a lot of plastic.
"
Review 13 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% satisfied,
February 7, 2014
By: BulldogBen
from South Wales
"Replaces white metal gate and looks so much better with my wooden floor and door frame. Easy to fit, easy to use and sturdy."
Review 14 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is for small dogs only.,
January 17, 2014
By: Labpuppymom
"Ordered this gate because it was advertised as a "tall" gate as I have a lab. After I received it and started to set it up I read the directions and they specifically said this gate is for dogs 44 lbs and under. I spoke with the orvis representative and mentioned that the description should be clearer. Had no problem returning it."
Review 15 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A high hurdle,
January 13, 2014
By: McGinlayduzitagain
from Cornwall
"Our minaiture english bull terrier is very excited to meet visitors so we' had installed a normal child gate between the kitchen and the hall. However, our miniature is smarter and more athletic than our previous standard bull terrier and, using a 'fosbury flop' technique, could get over it with relative ease. This product, slightly higher and more robust has beaten him 9 times out of 10. It's exceptionally well made, is aesthetically pleasing and will confound even the most innovative pup!"
Review 16 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product!,
January 3, 2014
By: Swampchick
from Westminster, MD
"When looking for gates to create petfree zones in my home, I discovered the wood door frame dog gate. I immediately ordered two. Though I ordered the tall, not the wide, each gate came with two extenders should they be needed. I did need to add one on each gate. I had each gate installed in less than 10 minutes. They swing both ways and look great in my home. The "walnut" color looks more like a maple color, but that was not an issue. The latch is secure and easy to open. And should I want to relocate the gate, it will be very easy and quick to do so. No hardware, no drilling...just friction fit. Once again this Orvis product did not disappoint. I have since ordered three more. Before I am finished, I will order an additional two for a total of seven."
Review 17 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retriever Proof!,
December 17, 2013
By: MrsRetriever
from Dorset
"This is a very good looking & substantial piece of furniture in its own right, & does a fantastic job. The top latch is very easy to use & the whole thing is very retriever proof. We are very pleased with this indeed & would recommend it to anyone."
Review 18 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality Gate,
December 9, 2013
By: newlabowner
from West Yorkshire
"This is a good quality product which I could only find at Orvis, hence I was willing to pay the price. Although the product is described as walnut - I'd say it was a bit on the orange side! Having said that, it's soooo much better than the white metal baby gate I had before. It's easy to fit (I did it in about 10 minutes) and simple to open with one hand but impossible for the dogs to open. Don't be tempted to get this as a child gate - I would think a child could easily open it."
Review 19 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wood Door Frame Dog Gate,
November 19, 2013
By: Bookaroo
"I agonized over finding gates that would actually contain an exuberant puppy, and be attractive enough that we could live with them for at least a year. These gates are almost perfect. At first I was disappointed that the side panels were metal, rather than wood, but they match the wood gate so well that I am very satisfied. The gates are easy to open, swing both ways and will withstand our puppy trying to "break out" of our kitchen."
Review 20 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong enough to contain a labradoodle,
November 16, 2013
By: Noradoodle
from Cornwall, UK
"This gate does the job and looks nice - it matches our wooden doors and keeps the dogs in the kitchen. I have a large strong 25 kg dog which is bigger than the gate is specified for but it remains firmly fixed in position. Opens and closes easily. My only quibble is that it is actually slightly too wide to fit into a 28 inch doorway, fortunately ours is a little wider."