Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wood Door Frame Dog Gate

This gate allows you to move easily from room to room while containing your dog. Solid wood construction blends tastefully with your home; adjustable friction-fit mounting ensures that the gate and your dog stay securely put. Rubber stoppers save your walls and trim from marking. No hardware or drilling required. Tall gate (35"H) has a door that allows people and dogs to pass easily. It adjusts from 28" to 36" wide. Wide gate (35"H) is similar to the tall gate and fits doorway or hallway opening widths of 35"-37", 47"-49", and 59"-61". Distance between spindles of tall and wide gates is 1½". All models feature a latched handle. Not for use at the top of stairs. Dog gates in walnut (tall, wide), white (tall only).
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
105 of 111(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Review 1 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gate,
September 16, 2014
By: 1wishbone
from Hollis, ME
"The gate is very well made and nice to look at. I don't worry about my little Dachshund getting her head between the bars which I believe are spaced 1 1/2" apart. The gate is easy to open and will swing in both directions. This is the second gate that I have purchased and would highly recommend it."
Review 2 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
September 4, 2014
By: smdiz
from NC
"have been looking for 2 years for a dog gate for an extra wide staircase for my 4 large german shepards and 1 pug. this works perfectly.
very sturdy and quality construction."
Review 3 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
September 1, 2014
By: Lilliputian
"This great is perfect. Finding a gate that would fit the 5 foot opening to our living room was not easy. This one fits perfectly, was easy to out together, installed quickly and is easy to us. I no longer worry that my puppy is eating my couch while I make dinner!"
Review 4 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
August 28, 2014
By: paramedic
from New Castle, PA
"I have 5 dogs and it is really important (for my sanity) to be able to sequester them on occasion. I am very pleased with the gate, I have purchased 4 of the now."
Review 5 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Gate,
August 25, 2014
By: FlyDogOwner
from NYC area
"This is actually a Richell One Touch Pet Gate and it's recommended for small to medium dogs 8 to 44 lbs (4-20 kg). Richell also has a taller model (40") that's recommended for small to large dogs 8.8 to 88 lbs. For me the 40" model would be a bit overkill and just look overly big in the room, but maybe I'd get used to it. The gate is very solid and easy to install and use. It looks like it's very well made."
Review 6 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
August 14, 2014
By: 1wishbone
from Hollis, ME
"I recently purchased the tall gate, it's well made, study and easy to install. The narrow separation between bars is great for my small Dachshund.
It would be nice if the opening were a couple inches wider.
Plan to purchase another."
Review 7 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
August 11, 2014
By: Sam61855
"Excellent gate that looks like furniture. Easy to assemble and certainly worth every penny."
Review 8 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect For Large Dog Owners,
July 31, 2014
By: HawleyDog
"We have 4 boxers. That's a lot of canine enthusiasm to keep under control and these gates, at 3 egress points off of our kitchen, do the trick. Solid, good looking and tall enough to keep even the most athletic of them contained, Pricey but worth it."
Review 9 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 24, 2014
By: Cherrydog
from New Jersey
"I now have ordered 3 of these gates for my daughter's new home. They work great in keeping the dog (70 lbs) in the rooms designated and the children ages 4, 7, 8 are able to operate opening and closing easily. They also look good being made of wood. I would recommend these gates as they are top quality."
Review 10 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
July 23, 2014
By: jas24
from Miamisburg, OH
"I purchased a wood dog frame dog gate from Orvis earlier this month. It was fairly easy to install and it works great. It looks beautiful and is a nice addition to the room."
Review 11 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it belongs in your home,
June 11, 2014
By: gateman65
from Fairport, NY
"This beautiful wooden gate looks as if it was part of the original design of our home. Its color is warm and it fits any antique décor in the room it is enclosing. We are using it to separate our dining room from the rest of the house. Our dog loves it. We love it. And the comment we have heard most often is "it looks like it belongs here - where did you get it?""
Review 12 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made/sturdy,
April 18, 2014
By: BetteAnnMarie
from Mechanicsburg PA
"Gate easily installed. Instructions
easy to follow. Very well satisified
with product.
"
Review 13 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice dog gate,
April 15, 2014
By: Arae
"This is the second gate like this that I have purchased. The first one I have had for about 7 years and it is still in great condition. I needed a second gate for a bedroom door. The ability to open and close the gate is very handy. No stepping over and the risk of tripping."
Review 14 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate,
April 3, 2014
By: Kaylyn5
from Connecticut
"This is our second gate. We use our kitchen family room as a giant crate for our older dog, now we have a new puppy and need to block access to another room. This gate is easy to install and we needed the wider version to span the double door opening. The gate is easy to open and close with one hand."
Review 15 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate Ever,
March 24, 2014
By: Jhenrysanta
from Pasadena, Ca.
"I purchased the white wooden door gate to match woodwork in between my kitchen and dining room. It is as attractive as it is functional in opening and closing. I found it quite easy to assemble and adjust to an even fitting in the door way."
Review 16 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pet Gate,
March 11, 2014
By: MS935
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Attractive, easy to use. and effective. I have purchased four of the gates."
Review 17 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gates ever,
March 4, 2014
By: Sherri1234
from Woodside, CA
"I love these gates. They are easy to install and they look great. Not cheap. Well made. The door is easy to open and close. I may buy another one for my mother but would get the wider version."
Review 18 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well/Looks good,
March 2, 2014
By: CTMFlyFish
from Arlington, VA
"We bought the extended gate for a 50 inch space to keep our now 5-month old lab contained in the kitchen and family room. Works great and looks good. The kids have no trouble negotiating the gate and it was easy to install. Only 2 weeks of expereince, bjut so far so good."
Review 19 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
March 1, 2014
By: Ken5555
from Georgetown, KY
"The Wood Frame Dog Gate is really mostly metal painted to match the wooden parts. It is very substantial, thus seems like it should last a while, even with larger dogs than it is recommended for. After opening the box and cleaning up the small styrofoam pieces that stuck to everything, assembly seemed like it was going to be a real chore but, once you realize what is going on, it was a piece of cake. I had to modify the direction concerning the size door frame I was trying to fit as the printed directions, while probably accurate, were not the best solution to fit my frame. After assembly, the dogs like it and humans need a day or so to get used to stepping over the bottom rail. Oh, one slight criticism: The push latch and handle seem to be designed backward so, rather then putting your fingers in the latch and squeezing, you have to push the latch instead."
Review 20 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality!,
February 17, 2014
By: Whynotsurely
from Albany, NY
"The dog gate was of very good quality. My only complaint was the discrepancy in the two larger measurements. I had to remove some of the parts to make it fit ."