Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wood Door Frame Dog Gate

This gate allows you to move easily from room to room while containing your dog. Solid wood construction blends tastefully with your home; adjustable friction-fit mounting ensures that the gate and your dog stay securely put. Rubber stoppers save your walls and trim from marking. No hardware or drilling required. Tall gate (35"H) has a door that allows people and dogs to pass easily. It adjusts from 28" to 36" wide. Wide gate (35"H) is similar to the tall gate and fits doorway or hallway opening widths of 35"-37", 47"-49", and 59"-61". Distance between spindles of tall and wide gates is 1½". All models feature a latched handle. Not for use at the top of stairs. Dog gates in walnut (tall, wide), white (tall only).
Average Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
123 of 129(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Review 1 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super strong,
April 21, 2015
By: buddysgate
"My Great Dane puppy could not get through this gate, no matter how much he chewed or pushed. The handle/latch has taken a beating, but the gate itself is exactly as I bought it. It took me a while to figure out how to install it, but once I actually read the instructions, it was quick."
Review 2 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 10, 2015
By: Sukes
from Shropshire
"Highly recommend. Strong and very well made but also smart. I have tried a few cheaper dog gates but this one is worth every penny."
Review 3 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wood Door frame dog gate,
April 6, 2015
By: cheers1234
from Newport Beach, CA
"Item is exactly what we expected. The instructions were easy and the door arrived promptly"
Review 4 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too short,
January 26, 2015
By: dogmom23
from Texas
"I love this gate and it's my second one to purchase. However, I measured incorrectly and the gate is too short. I am disappointed that this style does not come in a wider version. I called about extensions but the sales associate was unable to help me. My husband was able to add a few things to make ti work for us."
Review 5 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 20, 2015
By: Piper37
"It is terrific! So easy to use and sturdy enough to withstand 7 very active Lab puppies!"
Review 6 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate!,
January 9, 2015
By: Plantationfun
from South Carolina
"This is our second one of these gates. Don't misunderstand me...they don't wear out....we had our first one for lab pups 13 yrs ago.
Still using that one and ordered a new one for our new lab pups!
Needed to create more boundaries within the house and this worked so good the first time....we bought another. Thanks Orvis!
"
Review 7 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gates,
December 31, 2014
By: ddpops
from Texas
"We have now installed our fourth white Door Frame Dog Gate, and we could not be happier!!! The gates are constructed very well and the handle used to open and lock the gate is very easy to operate."
Review 8 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works as advertised,
December 30, 2014
By: Randyfpd
"The wooden dog door works as advertised, but the handle lock is poor at best. I purchased two doors for the house, and both of the handle locks work poorly, forcing you to stop, and manipulate the handle to open the door. NOT good in the middle of the night when the puppy wants/needs to go out side to do his duty. I have already cleaned up one mess because the door would not open."
Review 9 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 27, 2014
By: dogmom23
from Texas
"I wish I would have invested in this sooner. The perfect solution for keeping the cat and dogs separated."
Review 10 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent-high quality gate,
December 23, 2014
By: Catherinelizabeth
"I needed to block off a large area to keep my dog out of the living room and this gate is very good looking as well as high in quality. It is so convenient for family members to be able to open and walk through the opening. I recommend it highly."
Review 11 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
November 21, 2014
By: Grandmagirl
"Very happy with this purchase! The dog crate is furniture quality! Nice addition to our new home. Easy assembly and very fast shipping."
Review 12 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wood frame dog gate,
November 14, 2014
By: ghtbm
from norfolk
"This is the second gate I have purchased from Orvis andI am extremely pleased with the look and quality. I would not hesitate to recommend this gate and may be purchasing another one in the future."
Review 13 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gate,
November 12, 2014
By: Else
from Coastal Mississippi
"Before this gate, I tried the stand alone ones, and did not find them useful in that the dogs could push them open and they were difficult to get around for me, the human. These gates are great!. Easy for me to open and close and the dogs respect them as they can not push them open. They look good too, and are easy to install. Thanks - The Human"
Review 14 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made gate!,
October 21, 2014
By: Jshbella1
from Blacksburg, VA
"I am absolutely impressed with the gate! The finish is furniture grade and very heavy duty, blends nicely with my woodwork in the home. The instructions were hard to follow for assembly."
Review 15 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
October 13, 2014
By: cjtmcg
from PA
"We purchased this gate for our puppy. It is effectively keeping him where he needs to be. Installing it was a bit involved but not too difficult. It's a sturdy gate and looks nice with the door trim."
Review 16 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A baby gate that doesn't look cheap,
October 10, 2014
By: 5280Vizsla
from Denver, CO
"This is our 2nd gate we have bought for our home. These are great. The pressure mounting prevents any damage to your door frame or walls, and they have held up to the dogs! These are very high quality and look nice in the home versus some of the cheaper gates you can get elsewhere. We leave ours up year round and they really look great."
Review 17 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality gate,
October 9, 2014
By: MichaelIdaho
from Hailey Idaho
"This gate is a true vale and easy to install. The color selection allows the color to match your interior designs."
Review 18 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
October 7, 2014
By: Berto1
from Bellevue,WA
"The wood frame dog door was perfect for our need. The color fit our room, and the product is sturdy.
Both were essential for us"
Review 19 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gate,
September 16, 2014
By: 1wishbone
from Hollis, ME
"The gate is very well made and nice to look at. I don't worry about my little Dachshund getting her head between the bars which I believe are spaced 1 1/2" apart. The gate is easy to open and will swing in both directions. This is the second gate that I have purchased and would highly recommend it."
Review 20 for Wood Door Frame Dog Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
September 4, 2014
By: smdiz
from NC
"have been looking for 2 years for a dog gate for an extra wide staircase for my 4 large german shepards and 1 pug. this works perfectly.
very sturdy and quality construction."