Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter

The businessperson's carry-on. These laptop bags for travel feature easy-roll wheels and a retractable handle. Padded laptop pocket. Large front organizer for files, calculator, pens. A separate compartment for overnight clothing and personal items. Exterior pocket for tickets and keys. These laptop bags feature a leather ID tag. 16"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,016 cu. in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Review 1 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
On the edge,
September 1, 2012
By: Anotherbiologist
"I have had two of the wheeled overnighters. The handle on my first one quick retracting so a dealer sent it back and got me a new one. Both models would fall over which is especially annoying when waiting in lines at airports. My second one is faded and my wife suggested I replace it. I am not sure if I will stay with the same model. It seems like Orvis should address the falling over - especially since I see that so many other people have had the same problem."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but not Great,
July 17, 2012
By: Travel1
from Marietta, GA
"In most respects, I am pleased with this product, but it is front heavy and tips over forward, either with the handle up or down, unless there is just the right amount of weight in the rear compartment. I think if the pads on the front were spaced a little farther forward of the rear wheels, this could be prevended. Otherwise, its a quality product, but the tipping over is a nuissance."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfactory Review,
June 19, 2012
By: TakingItToTheStreets
from San Antonio, Texas
"I am very satisfied with my purchase of this item. I had the same item without the wheels and this one is exactly what I was looking for. I would suggest that Orvis include a shoulder strap with this overnighter. If it had a shoulder strap you would not have to put it on the floor in airport restrooms. I added a strap to my overnighter without wheels and found it to be very useful.
Thanks"
Review 4 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looks, a few flaws,
February 18, 2012
By: travelboy
from Lake George NY
"Best looks on the planet. Tips over easily with notebook in compartment designed for it. Retracting handle will not retract after 2 years. Orvis will take a look at it, but charges $30 to do so. Overall worth the $30, but expected better design and quality for $250.00. I'm normally pretty easy to please, but if you're looking for a bag for travelling a lot, there are design flaws you wouldn't expect at $250.00."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Really disappointing,
January 1, 2012
By: unionsq212
from New York
"I love Battenkill luggage, but this one is really poorly designed.
It DOES tip over with a laptop and other items in the front pocket, if the back section is not counterweighted. The laptop pouch is in the foreward half, as are the multiple pockets if front of it. In response to some complaints about this, Orvis says they tested it and did not have that problem. If so, they didn't load a laptop with a powercord and a full collection of stuff in the front pockets -- phones, pens, glasses, keys, a large book to read. It WILL tip over.
The back section is inconvenient as a carry-on compartment becuase you have to open tthe entire piece like a clamshell to get into it. And then, there is a piece of netting you have to unzip that holds things in from falling out of the back compartment. The piece is not a good choice if you are in and out of a piece of carry-on inflight.
Also, if you're used to a carry-on bakcpack or duffel where you can put bulky things in it (like a good camera, food, whatever), this is not a good choice. The pockets are narrow and the overall hard-casing makes it not expandable.
This is only good if you're using it as a briefcase with a book or something (to counterweight in the back that you don't need to access inflight) and some underwear and socks in the back section for overnight."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smooth Roller,
December 17, 2011
By: SoilMan
from Washington, DC
"I bought this roller almost three years ago and am thoroughly impressed with its quality and how quietly and smoothly it rolls. I’ve owned cheaper products that are shot after a year or two. I take this roller to work every day and have traveled across the country with it. I am sure I have rolled it well over 500 miles, maybe 1000, and it rolls just as smoothly and quietly today as the day I bought it. In fact, several people have actually commented on how quiet it is. You almost can’t hear it on a smooth surface.
The quality and look of the materials used in its construction is also excellent, attracting several compliments from co-workers. I am still glad I bought it. It is something you can be proud to own.
I would give the product five stars if it wasn’t for the annoying tip-over problem that several others have mentioned. It seems to me that there ought to be a way to better balance the roller. Just make sure you have enough weight in the large main compartment to counter whatever you put in the front pocket."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
August 28, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Great for overnight trips where you need a spare shirt, undergarments and toiletries. Fits 16" widescreen laptops such as the Dell line.
I only wish it had a shoulder strap for when you can't roll or carry it by the handle."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Needs some improvement,
May 19, 2011
By: TrappeHunter
"While I had read the previous reviews about the bag falling forward because the front legs were too short, I bought it anyway because it is an Orvis bag, and I have had very good luck with Orvis products.
I like the bag. I like the space and organizational layout of the bag very much, but it keeps falling over!
I moved my laptop to the back of the bag to try to balance the weight more towards the rear, and that helps a little. But getting into that rear storage area quickly at airport security is quite difficult. And the bag still falls over. A lot.
Get your designers to lengthen the front legs to give it an even keel when it is fully loaded.
I would not recommend this bag for a traveler until the leg issue is resolved, but I would then recommend it highly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 18, 2011
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we are pleased to note that we did not encounter the reported problem. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.
Review 9 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good not great,
January 1, 2011
By: magicman
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this roller recently after my other broke after 12 years. I like in general but does not hold the amount my other roller did. Also, I notice it will tip over if not packed right. I never had this issue with my other brand bag. I love the looks and enjoy people looking at the bag - after all it is ORVIS battenkill."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bursting with anticipation,
November 26, 2010
By: Marketal
from Kelso Scottish Borders
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like browsing the store in Kelso, (the Zambesi range appeals to me...) and I saw this a couple of weeks ago. It's been on my mind a lot since then and I went in today, just to see if it was as good as I remembered. It was and I walked out with it, now I'm looking forward to my next trip away on Monday night.
And - oh happy day - I received a £25 voucher because it's thanksgiving weekend. It's not a Scottish holiday, but I shall be shopping in Orvis each thanksgiving weekend from now on..."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design.,
August 19, 2010
By: Malc
from Lincolnshire, England.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Today is 19th August; I received this item at 0930. I called ORVIS yesterday morning to ask if I would get this by next Thursday if I ordered it straight away. I also needed the Expanding Suit Case. The agent sourced these two items to one retail outlet in Edinburgh. The delivery has taken LESS than 24hours. ORVIS’ customer service is the best there is without doubt.
Yes it is true to say that the prices in the ORVIS range are a bit higher that others, but the service is unbelievably good. In general terms, judging by the several items I have purchased so far, the quality stacks up too. Some reviews that I have read would suggest that quality is the last thing that ORVIS cares about. All I can say to that is that some people are hard to please. If I discover any defect in any ORVIS product that I have bought, I feel certain that they will satisfy any complaint.
On visual inspection of this Roller Case, it is clear that some thought has gone into the design, and this should be perfect for me. Apart from my Lap Top and associated bits and pieces, there is plenty of space for my washing kit and a pair of shoes. In conjunction with the Expanding Suit Case, I should have all that I need for the trip.
I will report on the practicality of this once I have had the opportunity to use it."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptop Wheeled Overnighter,
June 16, 2010
By: DogxTwo
from Pennsylvania
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love this product. It is a great rollaboard size that does not require a weightlifter to stow it overhead on a plane. Just the right amount of zip compartments without getting crazy. My husband and I have many pieces of Battenkill luggage, traveled hard with them, and have had no quality issues. This piece is brilliant."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Handle Broke on third trip,
December 30, 2009
By: NelsonT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"The styling and design of this bag is excellent. I received it from a fellow enthusiast of the Battenkill line as a gift, and recently tried it out in place of my overnight brief case on trips. On the third trip, the plastic locking pieces have malfunctioned and the handle comes off in the hand when elevating it. At present, it will not reinstall. The rest of the bag completely meets expectations, but this bug in the handle system leaves you struggling to reassemble or, worse, lugging it in hand or under arm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 29, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and future product refinement. Orvis welcomes your feedback and suggestions, as we learn much from our customers and are always striving to improve our products. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases. And, of course, we will happily refund or exchange any purchase.
Review 14 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Such a shame...,
May 12, 2009
By: MacQ
from Scottsdale, Arizona
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capacity: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weight: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Carrying Ease: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design/Functionality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"My wife and I bought 4 pieces in the Battenkill collection; 2 large duffels (great), a carry-on/suit carrier and this wheeled laptop carrier. We were seduced by the good reviews, and are generally fans of Orvis' product quality.
I hate to report, we've had terrible quality issues with the wheeled luggage pieces. From the handle refusing to extend (both pieces) WHILE at the airport (...it worked when we left the house. This is frequent), to part of the handle on this 1.5 year old piece snapping (unusable now).
We visited the corporate store in Vermont over New Years, who told us they had this problem with other wheeled luggage, didn't know this piece also had this problem.
While the luggage is very nice looking, it needs to hold up (and be reliable in vulnerable places, like the airport). More than once I've had to run through an airport to catch a plane with a briefcase over one shoulder, and my wheeled suitcase in my arms like an infant because the handle decided not to go up.
I can't tell you how much I regret that this is the case, it's otherwise a nice piece of luggage.
One noteworthy issue - the carry on size does not fit into the overhead compartment on a plane (not filled to capacity)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2009
Orvis regrets the issues this customer has run into with the Battenkill pieces purchased. We are grateful for the feedback, which helps us to improve the Battenkill Luggage line, a cornerstone company product. We recognize that quality luggage pieces are vital for pleasurable traveling experiences. We stand behind every piece of Battenkill Luggage no matter how long you have it. We offer repair services and warranty our luggage against manufacturing and material defects. If we find the luggage is not repairable, we will contact you for resolution. Our customers are the most important asset we have and we appreciate their thoughts and comments.
Review 15 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice but design flaw,
February 29, 2008
By: DTJ1
"The quality and features are what you would expect from Orvis Battenkill luggage. Very nice. However, there is a significant design flaw with the front "legs." I use this piece as a rolling brief/computer case about 70% of the time and as an overnighter the rest of the time. When I use it strictly as a brief/computer case (empty in the clothes compartment), it won't stand up since it is front loaded and the legs are very small, low and set together. I've never had this problem with much lower cost bags that have larger front legs. This one is just designed wrong."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 7, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full refund. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 16 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expert Testimony,
October 11, 2007
By: 2Springers
"We were emerging from security screening at a busy airport when a TSA supervisor walked over to the converyor belt and and picked up our brand-new Battenkill Wheeled Laptop Overnighter. "One of the best bags made," he said. "Look at those zippers, strong, top-quality, Bag'll last forever. Cost a lot, I know," he added, extending the handle. "But you consider how long you'll be able to use it, it's not expensive at all." He smiled as he handed the Overnighter to me, "Five years in this job, you get to be an expert on luggage.""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Part of the Solution,
October 5, 2007
By: Drifter47
"I have used this on two trips to Europe and it has saved my shoulder some serious abuse. I bought it so that I could take a change of clothes with me on longer trips that required me to check a bag. It works fine for that purpose but it doesn't leave enough room for other traveling essentials like books, headphones and so on. The front part of the bag is too small and rigid to easily pack these items. So it turns out that you need some kind of boarding bag, backpack, or plastic sack to carry these other items in. It would help if the front compartments were redesigned to have slightly more space."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Battenkill® Laptop Wheeled Overnighter
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3