Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood

A snap-on hood to pair with Barbour's classic waxed cotton jacket. The jacket hood has a drawcord with toggles to keep out wind and rain. Waxed cotton jacket hood in navy (lined in Dress Tartan), sage (lined in Ancient Tartan), black (lined in Modern Tartan). One size. Specially treated 100% waxed cotton shell. Lining: 100% cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
58 of 69(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Review 1 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's OK.,
November 10, 2014
By: ohwowhi
from NB, Canada
"It's pretty good. Definietely an after thought. I thought it would be the kind of hood I could leave attached to the jacket (Bedale) however it just looks silly. It's "slumpy" and doesn't really sit on your head that well and if the winds blowing you need to pull the cords tight and tie them overwise it will fall off your head. But it does keep your head dry if you tie it on tight. Unfortunate it's not very fashionable but it serves its purpose!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I wished for.,
November 4, 2014
By: Romanheroin
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
"This was a simple item but it was completely unavailable except for ordering it online from Orvis.
The package arrived with the Barbour hood in a timely manner and snapped into place as if it had always been there. Bothe the product and the service was exactly as I hoped it would be. Thank you for that.
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DON"T like it,
October 30, 2014
By: HorribleHanna
from rochester, NY
"I don't like the wire in the hood. Bought beadnell navy jacket and was told vest & hood was a available. Vest not available in navy for women and don't like hood, so now I will return hood and coat. Too bad because I saw the storm hood which might work but is not available in navy. Coat without the hood lacks practicality."
Review 4 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Business,
July 16, 2014
By: r2d2asdfasdf
from Minnesota
"I bought a brand new hood for a very old jacket and they still snapped together without issue. Keeping the design that consistent for so many years is greatly!!!! appreciated
Orvis sent and packaged without issue. came very fast."
Review 5 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect!,
July 3, 2014
By: mdwll
"went in to store in cincinnati to exchange the wrong color that I received as a gift... staff was so helpful! made it so easy to order a new one.. love my coat even more now!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent addition,
June 18, 2014
By: DianeR65
from Atkins, VA
"Purchased the hood to go on my new Barbour coat one day and received it the next day! Talk about customer service! Haven't experienced any of the issues I read in previous reviews but do agree with the brass zipper idea. Nice to have the hood on rainy days when I don't want to wear a hat."
Review 7 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour quality,
May 5, 2014
By: Addie22
from San Francisco CA
"Barbour quality in a hood. Perfect for California winter. Snaps on easily, matches perfectly. Firm yet bendable edge helps in cold wet windy days. Recommended , perfect with Barbour coat."
Review 8 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour hood,
April 14, 2014
By: verocueva7
from New Jersey
"Great buy! Delivered on time. Love the sturdy frame that comes with it. :)"
Review 9 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product, Slow Shipping,
March 10, 2014
By: Brianne
from Madison, WI
"I went into the store in Madison, WI to purchase this hood, but they didn't have it in stock in this color. The store staff was really helpful in helping me order it online. The shipping from the main store was a little store, but the product came in great condition and is a great addition to my Barbour coat!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Babour Hood,
February 14, 2014
By: Rianio89NP
from Boston, MA
"Hood will not stay snapped onto coat. When the wind blows the hood flies off, the snaps are not strong enough. Had to keep chasing the hood down the street. Head got soaked."
Review 11 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compliments my Barbour Coat's,
February 8, 2014
By: GLX4
from Northern Illinois, U.S.A.
"I own two Barbour coats, both from Orvis. Like the coat’s, the quality of the hood is second to none. The snap on system is virtually useless, frustrated one day; I added a drop of Loctite to the snaps and it worked great. I can take the hood on and off without worrying about the snaps. Is there any chance, just once Barbour will respond, at least to the U.S. market and tell us, why use snaps when you have such great brass zippers? Yes I would pay a bit extra for a brass zipper. I rate the hood 4 stars due to the snaps."
Review 12 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Valuable addition to my wardrobe,
January 18, 2014
By: Caballero
from Rutherford, NJ
"I owned a few Barbour Jacket, but I had never had the time to buy the corresponding hood for them. I decided that tried and buy a wax hood for one my jackets. It was the best desition I made. They work well and is a very useful piece of clothing specially on a very cold winter or rainy day !
Highly recommended it
"
Review 13 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Snaps? Really?,
January 16, 2014
By: dfjkxghlkm
from Indianapolis, Indiana
"I was very excited to get a hood for my coat, but have found that repeatedly over the past two years the snaps do a very poor job of keeping the hood attached to the jacket. Really needs something like a zipper or buttons. Or at least some snaps that don't come undone so quickly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works.,
January 16, 2014
By: nonicknamenonickname
from NYC
"The hood fits my Border jacket and the outside color matches. Unfortunately the inside plaid does not match, there is a large gaudy Barbour label in it (which I removed), and I wish it were much deeper. I'm a larger guy and it appears that these hoods are not one-size-fits-all-heads."
Review 15 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally, accessory complete,
January 13, 2014
By: coojie
from Rhode Island
"I purchased a Barbour Beaufort jacket to knock around in years ago and never bought the snap on hood. Great addition should have bought it with the jacket. I'll say this first hand about the line, it pays to buy quality. You won't be disappointed."
Review 16 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
almost right,
January 6, 2014
By: TXeastcoast
from Washington, DC
"I have owned my Barbour Beauford jacket proudly for nearly 3 years now and living in Washington DC needed something to keep my head dry on wet days. My girlfriend purchased the Waxed Cotton Hood for as a Christmas gift.
The hood works well on wet days and is great against the snow. The only drawback is that hood becomes unsnapped easily which is surprising considering the durability and ruggedness of the Barbour line of products. It can be annoying/frustrating on the days when you are just trying to get out the door or want to quickly hang up your coat after a day of work to find your hood has been unsnapped and your jacket is now on the floor."
Review 17 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top quality!,
January 2, 2014
By: COADYp
from covington ga
"awesome, matches the jacket precisely. well built as you would expect from barbour."
Review 18 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Look, Better Function,
December 27, 2013
By: Poolio187
from Boston, MA
"I ordered the waxed cotton hood in sage. When I opened the package I was already looking forward to admiring the smart look of the flannel lining against the outer shell, but this was one of those rare occasions when a product I purchased online based on visual appeal also outmeasured my expectations for quality. I was instantly satisfied with the durable feel of the fabric, the snaps fastened well to the jacket, and best of all the malleable wire frame inside the hood allows me to brace against weather coming from any direction. It's the perfect accessory to an already great jacket!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
December 25, 2013
By: Heather92101
"Just wish they would make the hoods with the same lining as the women's lining in the jackate
Other than that - great hood!
"
Review 20 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition to my Barbour!,
December 24, 2013
By: FinnsPop
from Trinity, NC
"Finally added a hood to my beloved Bedale and couldn't be happier! Barbour makes a phenomenal product and Orvis provides a great customer experience! Kudos!"