Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood

A snap-on hood to pair with Barbour's classic waxed cotton jacket. The jacket hood has a drawcord with toggles to keep out wind and rain. Waxed cotton jacket hood in navy (lined in Dress Tartan), sage (lined in Ancient Tartan), black (lined in Modern Tartan). One size. Specially treated 100% waxed cotton shell. Lining: 100% cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
69 of 81(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Review 1 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 26, 2015
By: TOOKAN
from Utah
"This was a great purchase. An issue with delivery, but customer service took care of it immediately. Very nice interaction from start to finish."
Review 2 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Hood,
February 18, 2015
By: ArthurThird
from Woodbridge, VA
"What a great add to my coat. I especially appreciate how it lays flat against the shoulders, and yet when being worn on the head, its flexible edge keeps the hood in place. Even better...easy on, easy off!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good hood,
February 16, 2015
By: elizalili
from easley sc
"This is a great hood and attaches perfectly to the jacket- I feel this item should have come with the original purchase of the jacket-"
Review 4 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hood,
January 23, 2015
By: Gamme
from Houston, tX
"This is a great addition to a fabulous jacket
Found the snaps a little too easy to come off.
Love the wire to help keep it shape.
"
Review 5 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hood,
January 14, 2015
By: Jsayles
from New Hampshire
"I purchased this hood after getting the coat for Christmas. It just snaps on and is ready to go. The inserted wire helps keep the hood from falling over your face. What a great idea!
I know some people have had trouble with the snaps, but I have had no problems at all. I would highly recommend.
"
Review 6 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
won't stay on,
December 30, 2014
By: JRB3
from Cleveland OH
"I purchased this hood to go with a Beaufort jacket since I live in a part of the world where it is often windy and rainy or snowy. From almost the first day the snaps which attach the hood to the jacket collar were not up to keeping it on. It would hang half off, and on more than one occasion it fell off completely. I took the hood and the jacket to the store from which I purchased it, only to discover that the staff (who had sold me both) told me that other customers had complained of the same thing. With their help I tried other jackets and other hoods only to discover that mine were typical; in none of the others that we tried did the hoods stay securely on the jackets (regardless of jacket type). The snaps are just not up to the job; perhaps one day the hoods will attach with a zipper or something more effective. Until then, I think you're wasting your money if you buy one."
Review 7 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoryLandowner,
December 29, 2014
By: RoryLandowner
from MA
"Love my Barbour field jacket and decided to get the hood to extend the season on the jacket. I would rate a 5 star except the green color did not match existing jacket to well and there was only one color green to choose from."
Review 8 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hood I have worn,
December 27, 2014
By: MustamgSuzy
from Albany, OR
"When I first received this hood and saw/felt the rim that provides support, I didn't think I was going to like it. But after wearing it in the rain, it is great. It keeps the hood off my face and doesn't flatten my hair. It is really comfortable and functional. I am glad that I purchased the hood as an addition to my Barbour Jacket."
Review 9 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
December 18, 2014
By: Morbies
from Glen Cove NY
"great accessory for beadall jacket first day I got it heavy rainstorm kept me dry just like the jacket I wear this so much I also order the vest buy it you'll love it"
Review 10 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's OK.,
November 10, 2014
By: ohwowhi
from NB, Canada
"It's pretty good. Definietely an after thought. I thought it would be the kind of hood I could leave attached to the jacket (Bedale) however it just looks silly. It's "slumpy" and doesn't really sit on your head that well and if the winds blowing you need to pull the cords tight and tie them overwise it will fall off your head. But it does keep your head dry if you tie it on tight. Unfortunate it's not very fashionable but it serves its purpose!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I wished for.,
November 4, 2014
By: Romanheroin
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
"This was a simple item but it was completely unavailable except for ordering it online from Orvis.
The package arrived with the Barbour hood in a timely manner and snapped into place as if it had always been there. Bothe the product and the service was exactly as I hoped it would be. Thank you for that.
"
Review 12 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DON"T like it,
October 30, 2014
By: HorribleHanna
from rochester, NY
"I don't like the wire in the hood. Bought beadnell navy jacket and was told vest & hood was a available. Vest not available in navy for women and don't like hood, so now I will return hood and coat. Too bad because I saw the storm hood which might work but is not available in navy. Coat without the hood lacks practicality."
Review 13 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Business,
July 16, 2014
By: r2d2asdfasdf
from Minnesota
"I bought a brand new hood for a very old jacket and they still snapped together without issue. Keeping the design that consistent for so many years is greatly!!!! appreciated
Orvis sent and packaged without issue. came very fast."
Review 14 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect!,
July 3, 2014
By: mdwll
"went in to store in cincinnati to exchange the wrong color that I received as a gift... staff was so helpful! made it so easy to order a new one.. love my coat even more now!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent addition,
June 18, 2014
By: DianeR65
from Atkins, VA
"Purchased the hood to go on my new Barbour coat one day and received it the next day! Talk about customer service! Haven't experienced any of the issues I read in previous reviews but do agree with the brass zipper idea. Nice to have the hood on rainy days when I don't want to wear a hat."
Review 16 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour quality,
May 5, 2014
By: Addie22
from San Francisco CA
"Barbour quality in a hood. Perfect for California winter. Snaps on easily, matches perfectly. Firm yet bendable edge helps in cold wet windy days. Recommended , perfect with Barbour coat."
Review 17 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour hood,
April 14, 2014
By: verocueva7
from New Jersey
"Great buy! Delivered on time. Love the sturdy frame that comes with it. :)"
Review 18 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product, Slow Shipping,
March 10, 2014
By: Brianne
from Madison, WI
"I went into the store in Madison, WI to purchase this hood, but they didn't have it in stock in this color. The store staff was really helpful in helping me order it online. The shipping from the main store was a little store, but the product came in great condition and is a great addition to my Barbour coat!"
Review 19 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Babour Hood,
February 14, 2014
By: Rianio89NP
from Boston, MA
"Hood will not stay snapped onto coat. When the wind blows the hood flies off, the snaps are not strong enough. Had to keep chasing the hood down the street. Head got soaked."
Review 20 for Barbour® Waxed Cotton Hood
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compliments my Barbour Coat's,
February 8, 2014
By: GLX4
from Northern Illinois, U.S.A.
"I own two Barbour coats, both from Orvis. Like the coat’s, the quality of the hood is second to none. The snap on system is virtually useless, frustrated one day; I added a drop of Loctite to the snaps and it worked great. I can take the hood on and off without worrying about the snaps. Is there any chance, just once Barbour will respond, at least to the U.S. market and tell us, why use snaps when you have such great brass zippers? Yes I would pay a bit extra for a brass zipper. I rate the hood 4 stars due to the snaps."