Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ice Chenille

This fly tying material is a flashy alternative to traditional chenille. Ice Chenille wraps excellently and can be used for tying around lead or holographic eyes on baitfish fly patterns. In tan, blue, pearl, peacock, black, golden olive, root beer, chartreuse, purple, orange. Fluorescent colors: red, green, pink. Fly tying Chenille in sizes: micro, standard. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ice Chenille
Review 1 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
give it a go,
April 2, 2014
By: cooleo
from swift river
"well it does wonders for a wooleyworm's body . I hope it works as good as it looks"
Review 2 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Microchenille,
December 7, 2013
By: abrantz
"This is usually used for salt water. But the "ice" micro - makes a good mini-bugger on a 14 nymph hook that trout love. Make a small Wolley Bugger without the hackle and fish like a nymph. Tan works well."
Review 3 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent woolly,
October 23, 2012
By: fishbait
"excellent for tying woolly buggers. Rainbow seem to like the color."
Review 4 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
estaz eggs,
December 30, 2011
By: flyfishingsteel
from pulaski ny
"Great product for tying estaz eggs, and flashy steelhead flies. Durable, easy to tie and great colors"
Review 5 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Buy genuine estaz. This material comes apart in hand. It's not horrible, but there's better stuff to use."
Review 6 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginner - Easy to work with.,
October 25, 2011
By: RJCIII
from Northern, New Jersey
"I am a beginner to fly tying. This product worked well, even with my bumbling and constant re-doing. It is easy to work with and enabled me to almost immediately produce estaz egg flies comparable to the ones I just purchased. Very pleased with this product."
Review 7 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Retriever" Streamers,
November 17, 2010
By: Flyfishinginvirginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use ice chenille to tie the "golden" retriever in a variety of colors. It's an extremely productive streamer. Try yellow, black, white and pink. On black and white streamers, I tie a red saddle hackle on the head, swept backward. It gives the appearance of a wounded minnow.
Use a bead head and even lead body to fish this streamer deep."
Review 8 for Ice Chenille
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Falls Apart--No Durability,
June 16, 2010
By: JTM3N
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This stuff looks great, but it just falls apart in your hands. Perhaps I got an old package of Micro Ice Chenille, but at least 50% of the reflective fibers fell off the core string while I was in the process of tying a fly. I was not tying especially fast or vigorously, either--being quite gentle, actually. I gave up tying the fly because I figured there would be no point to fishing it, given how easily the chenille fell apart."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this chenille didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ice Chenille
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4