Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate

Solve your fireplace's smoke problems and get twice the heat output with this revolutionary design. This self-feeding grate reduces wood consumption while radiating heat more effectively, and increases your hearth's safety by preventing flaming logs from rolling out. Handcrafted of hot-rolled steel. 12"H x 21"W x 11"D. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
69 of 73(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Review 1 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative fireplace grate,
March 5, 2015
By: Oiler59
from PA
"I saw this grate on the Orvis site, and liked the innovative design, with it's wood stacking feature that creates a higher & narrower log fire. The product brochure shows the grate legs against the back wall of the fireplace, and I quickly found that it constricted the available surface area to start and maintain a fire. I started to move it away from the back wall, and it solved the problem. Studying the picture on the Orvis site I noticed more space between the back wall and the grate. Further experimentation showed a space of 4" to be ideal. This grate allows more radiant heat toward the front, and the fire starts quite easily using 4 pieces of fatwood fire starter. Once it gets hot, the amount of smoke released into the room is minimal compared to my conventional grate. I'm satisfied with my purchase, and it uses less wood for the heat acquired. Four stars is attributed to it not being smoke free, and to the poor representation in the brochure. Unless you purchase this on sale, it is expensive."
Review 2 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
game changer,
February 9, 2015
By: gacampbell
from Greenville, SC
"I bough this as my father's Christmas gift. The fireplace in his gun room (man cave for city folk) has always leaked smoke with a regular grate. No more smoke and this thing really puts off heat. Now we're putting these in all our fireplaces."
Review 3 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worlds Best Fire Grate,
January 20, 2015
By: LongTimeOrvisGuy
"Beautiful fires. Wood burns like crazy. Looks excellent in the fireplace with no fire going."
Review 4 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome grate!,
January 12, 2015
By: Parisgirl
"We had a really difficult time with a smokeless fire in our fireplace. The draw was not good and even with a window open, the room would get really smoky.
This grate has completely changed that. We had two fires this weekend and they were perfect. Problem solved!
This is a top ten purchase."
Review 5 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to make a modern fireplace actually work,
January 11, 2015
By: Newfdad
from Nashville, TN
"Our primary residence has a wonderful fire place that draws quite well. But the home was built in '37 and the fireplace was actually used a lot. Our weekend place, that is mostly a summer home, has a fireplace insert and is dang near useless. If the wood is at all wet or old, smoke just pours into the room. I have the large version of this product at our main home and thought I would try the smaller version at the lake. It is perfect - makes a warm fire and actually eliminates smoke. A must have for the cheap fireplace insert!"
Review 6 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smoke free grate,
December 26, 2014
By: carolelee
from Amityville, NY
"Works great and no smoke!! A little pricey but well worth it. Get it- you won't be disappointed."
Review 7 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Works!!,
December 19, 2014
By: Dimmel123
from Dallas Texas
"I just about gave up on my fireplace.Smoke in the house was a constant problem.Saw this Fireplace grill that said it could solve my smoke issue.First time i used it i new we had a winner"
Review 8 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great product.,
December 13, 2014
By: MelWW
"This grate is really wonderful. Since it faces towards the back of the fireplace, it is impossible for logs to fall out. Feel so much safer."
Review 9 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Solution,
December 3, 2014
By: ranchogal
"We live in a 100-year old house with a fireplace that is substandard and very difficult to draw correctly. This grate forces us to have smaller fires, to make fires very close to the back wall of the firebox, and in so doing, creates a much better draft with no smoke going into the room and no smokey odor the next day. After having only one fire last winter, we have had three so far, and we just received the grate last week. I highly recommend this grate if you have an old fireplace that is below code and will not draw despite cleaning."
Review 10 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
November 29, 2014
By: milothecat
from Granbury Tx
"It works just as stated in the catalog Start with your fire starter and small wood, add larger logs as needed. No bellows hassle, no restarting. Just a beautiful fire all night long. Even glowing embers in the morning to restart if you want. Best buy ever!"
Review 11 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly great product,
November 28, 2014
By: Prestone
from Northwest coast of Lake Michigan
"I am sixty and have been building fires for over 52 of those sixty years in every imaginable way. From big fireplaces to small wood stoves, outside campfires to bonfires, I've lit them all. I've used fireplace end irons, and all these fires roared. I was a bit hesitant to get the grates because it was out of the norm for me, but the idea of a more efficient fire, less upkeep to keep it stoked seemed like a no brainer and boy was I right. In a bigger fireplace I doubled the width by using two side by side. These grates are really nice. You need to start with dry firewood but once it's going well not so dry works also. I use the fat wood as my kindling ( kind of cheating but....! ) I use big unsplit wood as well as split. If you know your fire building I can't imagine you'd not be thrilled with this item. It really cuts down on continually maintaining the fire, which in turn let's you do what you've set out to do, whether it's entertain, or work about the house. Awesome, thanks Perk!!"
Review 12 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fireplace grate,
November 11, 2014
By: SeattleResident5
"It works exactly as advertised. No more smoke from our poorly designed fireplace. We can enjoy a great fire without worrying about smoke. It is also a very solid grate - I expect it will last a very long time."
Review 13 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't make sense,
October 29, 2014
By: julies28
"It doesn't make sense this fireplace grate didn't have a back to it.. why would you want the burning wood to be up against the back of the chimney/firewall.. especially if it is an inside fire wall. If it had a back.. I think it would've been perfect"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
performed as described,
November 13, 2013
By: sheik
from NJ
"Burned my first fire last night and am very satisfied. I have a poorly designed chimney that would always throw smoke into the room. With this new grate, the smoke went where it's supposed to go-up the chimney.
Was concerned at first that it wasn't throwing heat but after the hot embers started to build up, the room got warm. Great product.
"
Review 15 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1st time using...no smoke,
October 23, 2013
By: HomeinCT
from CT
"We have lived in our house for 7 years and when we first moved in, we were excited to finally have a fireplace (our first house didn't). Every time we lit a fire, we had to crack the windows, turn off the heat (which is forced air) and open the sliding glass door a crack but we always had smoke come back in the house. A few weeks ago, our chimney company came out and informed us about this type of grate. Did a little research online and decided to make the purchase. It was finally cold enough to have a fire and I can tell you that there was NO SMOKE that came in the house...this grate really does work. Starting the fire was a bit different than the traditional grates but once it got going, it worked great. There were a couple of times I had to move some of the logs around to get the flames going, but once the coals were on the bottom this thing was awesome! You can feel the heat from several feet away. It's been only one fire and it will probably take some getting used to, but I would highly recommend this if you have an issue with smoke in the house."
Review 16 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy grate,
October 16, 2013
By: ECPIV
from Stamford, CT
"This grate is very well built and sturdy. As advertised, it is highly effective at keeping smoke in the chimney instead of your living room. The main drawback is that due to the concentration of logs and lack of breathing, it's difficult to get the fire / coal bed built up."
Review 17 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't know yet!,
May 10, 2013
By: OZHaire
from Roanoke, VA
"It's warm outside and
there is no fire. Will get back to you when it turns colder. Burn some 6 cords of wood a year so I'll put it to the test. My review can only be based on the workmanship of the product.
"
Review 18 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem solved!,
January 27, 2013
By: Fireplace
from Eastern Shore, MD
"After 5 years of struggling with hopeless burn in a restored fireplace this solved the problem. Lights quickly. burns beautifully, throws out lots of heat and and lasts until all logs are glowing embers. Thank you!"
Review 19 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smoke problem resolved,
January 1, 2013
By: AtHomeInVT
from W. Dover VT
"Ever since we purchased our home in VT several years ago we have had problems with the fireplace puffing smoke into the house We had a chimney sweep inspect it and he said that there wasn't much we could do. Our old grate needed replacement and when we read the add for your smoke-free grate we decided it was worth a try and it has far exceeded our expectations! Not only is there no longer a smoke problem it is much easier to start a fire. It is very refreshing to find a product that truly lives up to its billing!"
Review 20 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressed,
December 29, 2012
By: Clarkscamp
from Lake Forest, Illinois
"I recently purchaed the "Smoke-Free Fireplace Grate" and to my surprise it REALLY works. You see, I have a beautiful field stone fireplace that always kicks back smoke. So, after years of filling the family room with smoke, my wife said no more fires....I am back to having nightly awesome crakling fires...The only problem is that I gave her the grate for Christmas. Not advised......"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.