Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater

Never worry about the elements again with Barbour waterproof clothing. You stay dry and warm in this Barbour pullover sweater, no matter how cool and damp the weather. Constructed of fine Italian merino wool, this pullover is waterproof and warm, yet lightweight and breathable, too. The exclusive waterproof polyester tartan lining fends off rain, and the zip neck staves off wind and cold. Distinctive Alcantara shoulder and arm patches resist wear in a handsome fashion. Barbour waterproof clothing is made of pure wool with polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
70 of 72(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Review 1 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
February 12, 2014
By: Chuck82
"Got this sweater for Christmas. Was skeptical about it being waterproof but after a January of duck hunting I can assure you this is the warmest most dry piece of equipment I have. Plus it's nice looking."
Review 2 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 9, 2014
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"I have two versions of this sweaters. If you look at the negative reviews, which are legitimate complaints, they are based on the older version of this sweater. The older version had a much thicker wind barrier. It did make it sound like you were wearing a trash bag. The new version is much sleeker and better fitting. The wool is soft and tight knit. This works really well in the cold. I use it for trap shooting primarily. I recently was shooting in -20 windchill. All I was wearing was this sweater and a shirt under it. I was perfectly warm."
Review 3 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth it,
January 4, 2014
By: Elonia
"I bought this for my husband and it is expensive but worth it. The sweater runs small, so order a larger size because it's not the type of sweater that you want a snug fit."
Review 4 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
January 3, 2014
By: MountainTransplant
from Morristown, TN
"This sweater performs as advertised! Not only is it water proof and warm - it's good looking, too! My husband is notorious for trying to find clothes that will keep him warm. Well, this sweater does the job! The quality materials and workmanship result in a sweater that does not have that bulky look often seen in lined clothing. An excellent investment!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best piece of cold weather clothing I have owned,
December 30, 2013
By: JDT81
from S.E. Pennsylvania
"I am not a sweater guy, but I bought this a few years ago because it looked nice. What a surprise to wear! With out a doubt the best cold weather outerwear I own, including several Barbour jackets!
When it is really cold out, this is my go-to garment, but it is also comfortable up to about 55 degrees. It can be worn indoors comfortably as long as you don't get too active.
I'll buy another soon in case this one wears out someday."
Review 6 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWEATER,
December 29, 2013
By: ECLIPSE
"Great product with all the quality of
the Barbour line. It is the beat fitting and warmest sweater I own hands down. Runs a little small I wear an XL had to return and get XXL
"
Review 7 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality worth the cost,
December 27, 2013
By: crackerjax
"The Barbour Storm Waterproof Sweater exceeds our expectations. The quality of the product is what we have come to expect from any Orvis purchase. We are extremely pleased with the sweater and feel that the high cost was justified by the quality. It was encased in paper for protection and delivered without incident."
Review 8 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exelent product.,
December 19, 2013
By: Huntley
from Phoenix, MD
"Great sweater. Fit was just as expected, product was well made, and liner makes it easy on and off. Would definitely recommend it to anyone."
Review 9 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 15, 2013
By: JamesM
from New York
"This sweater is well-made, warm and fashionable. It is virtually windproof and great for walks around the neighborhood or errands. It is close fitting and best suited for a light shirt (not sweater) underneath. Very impressed with the quality and style."
Review 10 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Winter Sweater,
December 11, 2013
By: DS60
from Snowshoe,wv
"This is a serious weather sweater not to be mistaken for an indoor fashion accessory. On a nice day, I can use it from 25 to 50 degrees outside. Under a Gore-Tex, i have used it in 5 below walking trails comfortably. The water proof liner is great when it is snowing, I tend to put a gore-tex over it in rainy or windy days."
Review 11 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 28, 2013
By: ROBM
from Glen Ridge, NJ
"After reading all the very positive reviews here, about a month ago I decided get one for myself.
My jacket size is a 42, am 5' 6", 185 lbs, stocky build so I got the Large. Fit's perfectly, not binding, but certainly not a loose fitting, floppy sweater either. This is also not the sweater to wear underneath a sports jacket; too heavy - but that's a good thing. This is meant to be worn alone or under a jacket or coat for outdoor use/protection only.
This is an incredibly warm sweater, with the advantage/disadvantage of having a liner. Now, the only disadvantage (if you consider this a disadvantage) of the liner is that this makes this a sweater way too warm to be worn indoors.
The obvious advantages are that it successfully blocks the wind and makes for a way warmer sweater about as warm as any wool jacket.
As a comparison, last week in Woodstock NY, temps in the mid thirties, I was wearing a wool Filson cruiser jacket, but the wind went right through. Changed to this sweater and was way warmer; due to the heft of the wool and the wind blocking ability of the liner.
I haven't worn it in the rain and frankly if I know it was going to rain, I'd wear something longer, but it's also nice to know that if I did get caught in a mild shower, my upper half would be dry.
This is made in Turkey and the materials and quality and attention to details are high. Highly recommended.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 13, 2013
By: Lincolngreen
"I haven't had a chance to test the sweater in rain yet but it provides excellent protection against cold biting wind. I have worn it daily when I go bird watching. The CFO Dunraven Down Vest makes a good combination with the sweater."
Review 13 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the cost,
November 5, 2013
By: Kacker
from Bournemouth
"This sweater is so comfortable,it is a pleasure to wear. It is windproof and waterproof as it says on the tin! I suspect I will wear this all winter."
Review 14 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best sweater ever,
October 31, 2013
By: Hudmo
from Minocqua Wisc.
"I have two of these sweaters and use them for fall golf, casual wear, and for work. EXCELLENT QUALITY !!!
If I can be so bold as to reach out to the powers that be at ORVIS it would be my suggestion to offer more than just two colors.
How about black? Wheat?
light or medium blue?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 30, 2013
By: OrvisGearGuy
from Grafton
"This is my third one of these. Replacing the first one I purchased 7 years ago. These sweaters are the best cold weather sweater that I have ever found."
Review 16 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Sweater,
September 26, 2013
By: Hudmo
from Minocqua Wisc.
"Great product but, very pricy
You do get what you paid for and it works well for intended purposes.
I wish they offered more color choices however.
"
Review 17 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I have ever bot,
September 24, 2013
By: Greguptik
from Lake Oswego, OR
"At nearly 300 dollars I had very high expectations, they were met and then some. Living in the North West it is perfect!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
June 27, 2013
By: GLMH
from New Jersey
"Pricey, but well worth the price. Can't wait to wear it again."
Review 19 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made product,
May 1, 2013
By: actionjackson
from Lehigh Valley, PA
"Purchased too late in the winter season to wear on a regular basis but on some remaining cold early mornings, it was warm and comfortable. The styling and construction were what I would expect from Barbour, as well as the price. I will consider buying another sweater in a different color next year."
Review 20 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm thick and soft - water and wind proof.,
February 11, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Wi
"This sweater is as durable as a combination wool coat, rain jacket and wind stopper. I wear it to the grocery store during subzero temps and walking about in nasty weather. Has a waterproof liner that also stops wind. As long as you wear a wool or synthetic base layer there is no trapped moisture from sweat. The wool is very soft but tuff as nails. Orvis did an exchange on size no problem.5'5 with 42 chest and large fits great. At one point the large was too narrow in. the chest but they fixed that issue."