Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater

Never worry about the elements again with Barbour waterproof clothing. You stay dry and warm in this Barbour pullover sweater, no matter how cool and damp the weather. Constructed of fine Italian merino wool, this pullover is waterproof and warm, yet lightweight and breathable, too. The exclusive waterproof polyester tartan lining fends off rain, and the zip neck staves off wind and cold. Distinctive Alcantara shoulder and arm patches resist wear in a handsome fashion. Barbour waterproof clothing is made of pure wool with polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.853 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
107 of 109(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Review 1 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Wait For Winter,
August 28, 2015
By: NWMTNMAN
"It will be a while before it's cold enough to wear this sweater but the quality is so obviously high that I am sure it will be great. The only drawback is that it is too heavy to lug it along on backpacking trips, but it should be great for sailing. The navy blue color is much darker than the photo suggests, almost black in dim light, but that is a plus as far as I'm concerned."
Review 2 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
August 25, 2015
By: kevinfishes
"This is a great sweater, I was very surprised at how heavy it was. It weighs more than most of the jackets I own. I also thought the fit would be very roomy, but it's fairly fitted, which I was very happy with. Great to wear alone or for layering. Would buy again."
Review 3 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Sweater,
August 23, 2015
By: MikeinVA
from Chantilly, VA
"I just tried on the sweater (mail order) and it fits perfectly. It's soft, has a terrific lining, and should be perfect for those chilly VA winters. The royal blue color is perfect as well--not too dark, not too bright. Elbow pads are velvety soft. I ordered an XL, am 5'8" tall, and weigh 200 lbs. Sleeves are a little lengthy but not overly so. Chest and length are perfect fits over a shirt."
Review 4 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Sweater,
July 27, 2015
By: Skipjobob
from Powell,OH
"Another quality product from Barbour & Orvis. Weight & heft are comparable to a mid-weight jacket. Hate to say it, but can't wait to give it a test."
Review 5 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waterproof Sweater,
July 14, 2015
By: wpeelle
from Kokomo, IN
"I have had the other color of this item for several years. It is incrediably warm in addition to being warterproof."
Review 6 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Small,
July 8, 2015
By: Glogistics
from MA
"Very disappointed ordered this beautiful sweater in large and it was a good size too small. Orvis needs to do a better job ensuring customers understand this when ordering as it seems to be a regular problem with some Barbour products, When I tried to order an XL they were out of stock. Looked and felt great too bad I can't get one now."
Review 7 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice!,
June 29, 2015
By: dshack
from Austin, TX
"A bit on steep $ side but almost luxurious in feel and quality. Nice purchase!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Winter Sweater,
June 5, 2015
By: OrvisGearGuy
from Grafton
"You cant beat this sweater. I wear it constantly from late November through March."
Review 9 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
June 4, 2015
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"At a time when many manufacturers are sacrificing quality to contain price, Barbour continues to hold to it standards of excellence. Not an inexpensive sweater, but worth the price as this is a a beautiful long wool knit, attractive, functional, well-fitting and quality built item. I especially like the navy blue with the accent leather shoulder and elbow patches."
Review 10 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
June 3, 2015
By: Bevski333
from NewYork
"The sweater is very nice, however it runs small so go up one size for a good fit. Its warm and very comfortable. It works very well in the rain."
Review 11 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Storm Waterproof Sweater,
June 3, 2015
By: Lohekame
from Kansas City, MO
"This is a heavy duty sweater that is easy to slip on. The lining is a nice touch. This is my second Storm Proof Sweater. The first one has a detached lining right at the bottom seam after about 3 weeks of very gentle use. Orvis gave me a full refund. This sweater is so nice that I decided to give it a second chance. The quality is old style Barbour, and so is the fit. I am 5'10" and 180 lb, and a medium fits me perfectly."
Review 12 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
May 12, 2015
By: ficho
from Toronto,Canada
"I ORDERED BARBOUR SWEATER AT THE END OF APRIL AND HAD A CHANCE TO TRAY ONLY ONCE ONE COLD DAY, -5C IN MAY.BARBOUR STORM SWEATER WAS VERY,VERY WARM,LOOK AND LUXURY FEEL OF MERINO WOOL. I.O."
Review 13 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater and great delivery,
May 12, 2015
By: AlanMap
from Maplewood NJ
"Not only is this a great warm sweater it was on sale.The delivery was very fast as well"
Review 14 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hunter's best choice,
May 5, 2015
By: gwev
from West Tennessee
"it was opening weekend for the Southern duck season...temps dropped unseasonably cold and promised to spit some precip...my son called and asked,"whatdoya think"..I replied,"grab the Barbour"...it's warm... it's waterproof... it's windproof...it's plenty roomy to maneuver in...it's the hunter's best choice for the pit or the boat blind...wanna stay warm,dry,comfortable....spend your money on this sweater...added gimme, it looks great to boot !"
Review 15 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold Weather Sweater,
April 26, 2015
By: EcoJeff
"This sweater is well-suited to those cold spring or fall days with rain or wind the forecast. I have had this sweater for three years and wear it hard. Looks new."
Review 16 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Protection,
April 22, 2015
By: PeterPennsylvania
from Pittsburgh
"I find this product to be practically usefully and aesthetically pleasing. There is an automatic sense of comfort and safe embrace when wearing it."
Review 17 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent cold weather sweater,
April 20, 2015
By: notrumpled
from Blue Ridge Mountains, VA
"I have had the Blue version of this sweater for a number of years and love its heft, wind and water proof liner, and excellent fit and finish.
Liked it so much I just purchased the Loden color so I could have some variety."
Review 18 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
April 8, 2015
By: GJMJR
from New Jersey
"This sweater is awesome. It is high quality and looks and feels great and fits well. It is warm and blocks the wind. Purchased the blue and it is a deep navy blue color and goes great with a dress shirt and jeans."
Review 19 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Storm Sweater,
March 30, 2015
By: 5stand
from Vancouver, BC
"High quality item, wore it while raining, West Coast, and it is waterproof!! Very warm so made for cool days. Also wind proof. Great for hunting activities, light and durable."
Review 20 for Barbour® Storm Waterproof Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Any Storm in a Field,
February 21, 2015
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I now have both colors of this outstanding sweater. These are appropriately named Barbour Storm, as they are the best layer in my duffle. My first experience was hunting Wyoming Sage Grouse in an all-out blizzard. It was the layer under my Barbour Beaufort and I was warm and dry. The quarter zip is essential, both for venting and the ability to zip it all the way up. It is a stand alone garment in all weather conditions and is perfect under a strap vest. Not just a wind stopper, a Storm Stopper. Since my first purchase the Barbour Storm goes on every trip."