Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate

Solve your fireplace's smoke problems and get twice the heat output with this revolutionary design. This self-feeding grate reduces wood consumption while radiating heat more effectively, and increases your hearth's safety by preventing flaming logs from rolling out. Size: 21"W x 12"H x 11"D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
56 of 59(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Review 1 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
performed as described,
November 13, 2013
By: sheik
from NJ
"Burned my first fire last night and am very satisfied. I have a poorly designed chimney that would always throw smoke into the room. With this new grate, the smoke went where it's supposed to go-up the chimney.
Was concerned at first that it wasn't throwing heat but after the hot embers started to build up, the room got warm. Great product.
"
Review 2 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1st time using...no smoke,
October 23, 2013
By: HomeinCT
from CT
"We have lived in our house for 7 years and when we first moved in, we were excited to finally have a fireplace (our first house didn't). Every time we lit a fire, we had to crack the windows, turn off the heat (which is forced air) and open the sliding glass door a crack but we always had smoke come back in the house. A few weeks ago, our chimney company came out and informed us about this type of grate. Did a little research online and decided to make the purchase. It was finally cold enough to have a fire and I can tell you that there was NO SMOKE that came in the house...this grate really does work. Starting the fire was a bit different than the traditional grates but once it got going, it worked great. There were a couple of times I had to move some of the logs around to get the flames going, but once the coals were on the bottom this thing was awesome! You can feel the heat from several feet away. It's been only one fire and it will probably take some getting used to, but I would highly recommend this if you have an issue with smoke in the house."
Review 3 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy grate,
October 16, 2013
By: ECPIV
from Stamford, CT
"This grate is very well built and sturdy. As advertised, it is highly effective at keeping smoke in the chimney instead of your living room. The main drawback is that due to the concentration of logs and lack of breathing, it's difficult to get the fire / coal bed built up."
Review 4 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't know yet!,
May 10, 2013
By: OZHaire
from Roanoke, VA
"It's warm outside and
there is no fire. Will get back to you when it turns colder. Burn some 6 cords of wood a year so I'll put it to the test. My review can only be based on the workmanship of the product.
"
Review 5 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem solved!,
January 27, 2013
By: Fireplace
from Eastern Shore, MD
"After 5 years of struggling with hopeless burn in a restored fireplace this solved the problem. Lights quickly. burns beautifully, throws out lots of heat and and lasts until all logs are glowing embers. Thank you!"
Review 6 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smoke problem resolved,
January 1, 2013
By: AtHomeInVT
from W. Dover VT
"Ever since we purchased our home in VT several years ago we have had problems with the fireplace puffing smoke into the house We had a chimney sweep inspect it and he said that there wasn't much we could do. Our old grate needed replacement and when we read the add for your smoke-free grate we decided it was worth a try and it has far exceeded our expectations! Not only is there no longer a smoke problem it is much easier to start a fire. It is very refreshing to find a product that truly lives up to its billing!"
Review 7 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressed,
December 29, 2012
By: Clarkscamp
from Lake Forest, Illinois
"I recently purchaed the "Smoke-Free Fireplace Grate" and to my surprise it REALLY works. You see, I have a beautiful field stone fireplace that always kicks back smoke. So, after years of filling the family room with smoke, my wife said no more fires....I am back to having nightly awesome crakling fires...The only problem is that I gave her the grate for Christmas. Not advised......"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition,
December 29, 2012
By: LAman
from LA
"Outstanding . Noticeable change in heating and smoke."
Review 9 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY SAFE and PRACTICAL,
December 28, 2012
By: Barlee
from Leominster, MA.
"I noticed this product in the ORVIS catalog last year and I wasn't sure at the time if it was what we needed or worth the money. Then this winter while tending to our fireplace my husband almost burned himself badly and this scared me! I now had to have this product because you do not have to keep poking around the logs to keep your fire burning it makes sitting by your fireplace SAFER and so much more enjoyable!"
Review 10 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not great for me,
December 28, 2012
By: Christopherf
"Bought this wanting it to be great.... But it was to hard to get the fire started due to the way the grate holds the logs."
Review 11 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Fires but a little Dissappointed,
December 28, 2012
By: JRAALB
from Albany, NY
"The fires are warm, but they are difficult to start, compared with standard flat grates."
Review 12 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works as advertised!,
December 18, 2012
By: Manos
from Escondido, California
"Just received my Orvis smoke-free grate about 3 weeks ago. Had to wait awhile here in Southern California for a cold spell to test my new purchase. I couldn't be happier. We have a very shallow fireplace box and dealt with smoke in our family room on a regular basis with our old grate. No more smoke with your excellent product. I will sing it's praises to anyone who will listen."
Review 13 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Burn,
December 4, 2012
By: LivingontheHill
from Washington DC
"I live in a small row house on Capitol hill, I have fairly shallow wood burning fireplaces and have always had trouble keeping the fire going and not smoking. I just bought this grate and it burns like a dream, because of the angle of the irons, it kicks out lots of heat (no smoke) and it takes minimum poking and prodding. I love the way it self feeds. Wish I had bought one sooner!!!"
Review 14 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smoking Fireplace NO MORE!,
November 15, 2012
By: spiffers
from Kenyucky
"We have a piece of junk for a fireplace and have struggled with smoke in the house for far too long. I saw this item in last years catalog but didn't pull the trigger. I recently re-looked at this grate and after reading the reviews decided to try it. I am SO GLAD I did. It sends the smoke right up the chimney, now we can enjoy a fire without the terrible smoke. If you are thinking about this item, don't wait any longer. BUY IT NOW !"
Review 15 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
November 12, 2012
By: JenJohn
from London
"Abosolutely brilliant!
Couldn't have picked a better one. It works really well, looks good.
Perfect size. Good weight on it.
Delivery was quick and cheap.
I'm a very happy customer.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution to a 10-yr problem,
November 7, 2012
By: fireplaceguy
from NW Arkansas
"When we built our house we put a less than optimal fire box in our fireplace. Every time we used it the house became filled with smoke because the fire box was too shallow. So we quit using it years ago. With this grate, all the fire and smoke are confined to the back of the firebox and no smoke escapes into the house. My wife is no longer upset with me for my choice of fire boxes."
Review 17 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great - grate,
October 25, 2012
By: Posty
from Mend ham, Nj
"This has changed our family living room time. Fantastic product!"
Review 18 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot Hot Hot !!,
October 2, 2012
By: EnEn
from Warwick, New York
"I can honestly say that the product description was on the money. Until recently, we rarely used the fireplace because of the smoke it created. Not so anymore! This product directed the smoke directly up the flue and the air was clear and smoke free. Additionally, we used a lot less wood to keep the room warm. I just ordered the second grate for the bedroom!!"
Review 19 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smoke-Free Fireplace Grate,
February 26, 2012
By: Mizzi
from Malvern, PA
"-The fire is hard to start
-Logs jam in triangle so little or no air to feed flames
-Long time to get coals going and logs to fire up
-we missed the "dancing flames" of our old grate
"
Review 20 for Smoke–Free Fireplace Grate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best grate ever,
February 7, 2012
By: troypurn
"I rarely give reviews but this product is the best. It makes lighting a fire simple. 2 starters and lit. Smoke goes up chimney against back wall better than ever. No more smoke in my living room. I Love this grate!!"