Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Slotted Foam Fly Box

With this slit foam fly box, you can sink the bend of any size fly, midge to streamer, into the lengthwise slots in a foam base and they're secure. Rugged clear plastic fly box with lid lock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Review 1 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Straightforward fly box,
February 11, 2014
By: Hardwik
from Ontario, Canada
"This a simple, functional box for longer or larger flies (streamers, minnows etc.) and fits well in a vest. I like the modern fly boxes without metal and without fussy hinges etc. even though there is a tradition involved. This box is all about function and that it does very well."
Review 2 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for How I Carry Flies,
June 8, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"For a long time I had boxes stuffed with flies that I took along when I when went fishing. Most stayed in the box as I typically don't switch flies much during the day.
Then I discovered those translucent boxes with movable dividers. I started using those as fly warehouses - with boxes for my sea run/small salmon, and for my freshwater flies.
i now only take along the flies I'll be using during the day - leaving the fly warehouse at home (in most cases) or in the car (less frequently).
This slotted foam box is now my favorite for day trips - holds my flies from size 14 up to size 2 with no problem - including my bigger poppers.
It's slim with a secure closure and fits nicely into the outer pocket of my Safe Passage sling pack,
I'm going to buy another one as a gift - or maybe keep it for myself."
Review 3 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spin Fishing,
January 28, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I use this box for my spinning lures for spin fishing. This box is a great size and the spoons on the lures fit great into the slots. Not your typical application but works great for me."
Review 4 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really secure,
May 30, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"I bought both styles and found each to be great. Catch works well and the flies are held in place securely."
Review 5 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple - Solid,
May 1, 2012
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"This box has a really good solid feel. The closure is excellent. The full length foam slots make it easy to get flies in and out. I have been using it for large nymphs.
I also have the one with the compartment at the end. I use it for my egg patterns and sucker spawn during steelhead season.
If you want to rethink your box layout, check these out. It is hard to explain, but this is a different feeling box than the normal..."
Review 6 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love those boxes,
October 22, 2011
By: Vliegvisser007
from Veenendaal, The Netherlands
"Great solid boxes.
Will hold enough flies for a day fishing.
"
Review 7 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Product,
March 27, 2011
By: Dvldog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased two last year at an Orvis store and loved them. I went back for more but they were out. I am purchasing more now. They hold alot of flies securely and removal is easy, They aren't bulky and the see through box is great and makes locating the right flies easy."
Review 8 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I should have gotten two,
October 8, 2010
By: goirish560
from Cleveland, Ohio
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the year I went with a minimalist approach for steeheading and bought a lanyard and this box. It’s perfect that its clear and you can see what you want or need to replace before going fishing. It holds my streamers egg patterns and nymphs as well as any box I own.
The clincher was the clasp that opens and closes the box. It’s easy to do with cold stiff hands and doesn’t pop the box open. I had a box that the clasp and box was all one piece and would pop open like a jack in the box sending contents flying.
I should have bought two."
Review 9 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slim and solid,
February 16, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to slide flies in and take them out. Clear plastic so you can see within. Fits easily into any pocket: wader, vest, shirt, chest or fanny pack. I like both models; the slotted with compartment can be useful when you need to take along a few bushy dries just in case. Try them and you'll see."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its a good box,
May 15, 2008
By: N604DE
from Western NC
"I have to say, one of the best attributes to this box is the ease of adding and removing flies. Also, the case is clear enough to see what flies you have inside."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Slotted Foam Fly Box
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1