Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Viyella® Shirts

Luxurious, refined, yet practical Viyella® shirt fabric has been renowned for years. The vivid color, soft hand, and sturdy weave of these button-up shirts for men result from a process that began in 1784, just outside Nottingham, England. The process spins together a blend of 80% long-staple, combed pima cotton and 20% Australian merino wool fibers to create a yarn that lends Viyella fabric its signature combination of a smooth hand and durability that only betters with age. Button-down collar. Patch pocket. Two-button cuffs. Button up shirts for men are made from cotton/wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44)
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
124 of 135(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Viyella® Shirts
Review 1 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt for the money!,
December 29, 2012
By: RodneyS
"The quality and workmanship of the shirt was very good. The size was true and accurate. A great value for the price."
Review 2 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fall and Winter Shirt,
December 29, 2012
By: HappyDawg
"My wife bought me a Viyella shirt for our first anniversary over 40 years ago -- I just keep buying them as they are my favorite long-sleeve shirt once the weather turn a little cold. You won't be disappointed."
Review 3 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too large,
December 28, 2012
By: Baratta
from CA
"I got my husband his true size (large) as he is 5'11" and about 180. This was huge on him. I have to return both Viyella shirts (which he loved) and there are no smaller ones available now. Great looking shirt if you know to order down a size.
Also shipping costs are very high."
Review 4 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Orvis shirt,
December 15, 2012
By: Buppa
from Boston ,Ma
"I have several of these and they continue to give good service, wash easily and wear well and provide long comfortable use."
Review 5 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality rings on,
November 21, 2012
By: Sazerac
"Viyella makes a nice consistant product, always comfory."
Review 6 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great, early on,
October 26, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Eastern PA
"I've hardly had a chance to wear my Viyella shirts yet but so far I'm pleased. They are nicely cut, ample but not too big. I really like the hand, not wimpy like most light weight flannel but not scratchy like wool. I washed them before using and they didn't appear to shrink appreciably.
They feel comfortable but we haven't hit cold weather yet. I expect they will be serviceable for the many times I would normally wear a mid or light weight flanner.
I've wanted a Viyella shirt for some time but didn't pull the trigger as they are pricey. This sale was too good to miss.
"
Review 7 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vyiella shirt is a great addition to a mans wardr,
June 5, 2012
By: oleBob
from De.
"Love viyella shirts . Have worn them for yrs . used to be hard to find."
Review 8 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
April 26, 2012
By: AvidHunter
from Georgia
"Well made, nicely finished. Great colors, and as an added bonus, is very warm for weight."
Review 9 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and vibrant,
February 20, 2012
By: Scandahoovian
from Western Mass.
"This shirt is really soft but still pretty thin, so its not as warm as some Viyella shirts I've had. For me, that's a good thing. After all, you can always wear a t-shirt underneath. Also, the colors are not shiny, but much warmer than the rather muted photo suggests. Again, a good thing. This is a great Fall/Winter shirt."
Review 10 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great looking shirt,
February 20, 2012
By: vinofyl
from Roseville, CA
"The look and fit of this shirt didn't disappoint. It was ordered from the catalog and I expected a little heavier grade material for the price, but I'm pleased with it otherwise."
Review 11 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditional Viyella, great!,
February 6, 2012
By: Cholmondeley
"As advertised, a fine Viyella shirt, nicely cut, substantial material. All told, an excellent purchase!"
Review 12 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Not so.....",
February 5, 2012
By: Covan
from Washington, DC
"This review is identical to my review just submitted - samer comments for each Viyella shirt: one charcoal and one gray plaid."
Review 13 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice only 10% woolshirt,
January 27, 2012
By: PhantomII
from Denver
"Nice shirt but I would like more wool for warmth. I would like for Orvis to produce 100% wool pants or as close as you can get to 100%"
Review 14 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expectations met,
January 26, 2012
By: Spangler
from Boise, Idaho
"Orvis clothing has always lived up to its advertising and to my expectations. This shirt is no different. Viyella is an excellent cloth for shirts. It look and feels good and wears well."
Review 15 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome shirt,
January 24, 2012
By: Shington
from Atlanta, GA.
"I have been som pleased with this Viyella shirt that we have given them to our 3 sons at Christmas. They were so pleased that we did it again this year."
Review 16 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Perfected,
January 21, 2012
By: UpstateNY1
"Great shirt, wonderful material.The detail in the workmanship is worth it, every seam is matched perfectly.
Size is accurate, it looks great on him.
"
Review 17 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Darker Yellow Than Expected,
January 20, 2012
By: ElSupremo
from Ormond Beach, FL
"The shirt is cut somewhat large. My biggest complaint is that the yellow is darker than pictured in the company catalog."
Review 18 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt, but pricey,
January 19, 2012
By: Mikey2287
from Houston, Texas
"This is a wonderful shirt. The colors are simply striking. It was a gift. I don't think I would buy it for myself due to the cost, but I am happy I have it now."
Review 19 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Do pull the wool over your eyes!,
January 18, 2012
By: Doctorjohn
from N. C.
"I've bought several Viyella shirts and their colors and fit are excellent and I've had several compliments. They are a wool/cotton blend and, worn indoors with an undershirt, can be a little too warm sometimes. They are pricey as well. Would like to see a sub-$100 price."
Review 20 for Viyella® Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Christmas present,
January 11, 2012
By: KSSL
from Gloucester, MA
"I have a number of Viyella shirts and really love them. They are both soft and durable. I was therefore disappointed when I got a Viyella shirt for Christmas, only to find that it was not as described in the catalog. Instead of the 80% cotton/ 20% wool shirt in the catalog (like my others), this one was 90% cotton/ 10% wool. It was also no longer made in the USA. Since it is no where near as soft as my others, and didn't match what was in the catalog I returned the shirt. I'll see if the 80/20 shirt is available somewhere else."