Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Flat Tying Foam

With its superior floatability, this closed-cell foam material is perfect for tying terrestrial fly patterns, Gurglers, and other surface patterns. 2mm thick. Two sheets of fly tying foam per pack. Sheet size 3" x 4½". Tying foam in tan, brown, blue, white, red, gray, black, yellow, olive, pink, orange, olive/green, rusty gold. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flat Tying Foam
Review 1 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tying with Orvis Foam,
July 24, 2014
By: LAFlyFisher97
from DeRidder, LA
"As an average tyer for some 20 years and medically retired I have found that with failing eyesight & arthritis in my hands, making foam flies is much easier than using some of the other choice materials.
Orvis's foam products which I have used for years, come in a variety of colors; I have found it to be easy to handle, easy to mold and very colorful in making whatever I need for the occasion be it a big bass bug or small mayfly......I would recommend Orvis' foam to any tyer be they average or expert....
PS...A special thanks to Alex, who is the manager of the Baton Rouge Orvis Store for his expert help in getting me my orders.....
Respectfully,
Rev. Alan
"
Review 2 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems good!,
July 16, 2014
By: okguy
"I don't have much experience with tying foam flies but this product seems to work good. Have tried some beetles in the field and they seem to be holding up well."
Review 3 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ties good looking beetles.,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"The beetles I tied with this look great, but whether they catch fish or not is hard to tell for 2 reasons.
1) It's winter and there aren't exactly many beetles on the water. (or alive for that matter.)
2) My fishing prowess is not quite as high as I would like it to be.
"
Review 4 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try this for foam flies,
April 1, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"I purchased this flat foam after trying other foam products, but I think I prefer this product. Foam can be easily cut and formed to the shape you require, try it !"
Review 5 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The depts of winter,
January 30, 2012
By: Woodturtle
from Warwick, MA
"The depths of winter drive one to tie strange files. Although I've always been a feather-and-fur kind of guy, I finally broke down and got a few colors of foam, reverse-engineered some nice grasshoppers, and had a good time tying. I'll never be able to show my face on the chalk streams, but I do expect to catch some fish....if spring ever comes."
Review 6 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for caddis as well,
December 13, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Perfect for the legendary Farmington River Winter Caddis that was ndesigned by the legendary Dave Goulet who never seems to get enough credit for many years of tying. This 2mm is perfect for that pattern and others"
Review 7 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"great for hoppers and terrestrial patterns. also goes a long way, I'll be buying more hooks before I run out of this stuff!"
Review 8 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2mm Flat Tying Foam,
October 23, 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This stuff is great. I like to cut the foam into strips (size depending on hook size) and wrap foam strip around hook. After tying legs and a post, this stuff makes the best dry flies. A little Hy-Float Dressing Paste, you're set to go."
Review 9 for Flat Tying Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Foam!,
February 2, 2009
By: gordoniu
from Portland OR
"This 2mm foam is great for tying chernobyl ants, hoppers, and stone flies. Floats real well and easy to cut for tying. I bought yellow black, brown, olive and orange, and yellow."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Flat Tying Foam
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1