Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Border Jacket

If you buy one waxed-cotton jacket in your life, make it a Barbour. If you're looking for that same smart look, but want to wear it over your suit, the longer-waisted Border is for you. These Barbour thornproof jackets feature new exclusive and handsome Barbour Ancient Tartan lining and a new internal zipper that replaced the old studs for a great new zip-in vest. Border jacket is constructed of the classic, waterproof waxed 100% cotton outer to keep you dry in the worst conditions, and feature a full storm flap at the neck and adjustable storm-gusset sleeves for further protection. The jacket is smartly accented with a corduroy collar, studded for an optional hood, and moleskin-lined handwarmer pockets, bellows pockets with drain holes, underarm ventilation, inside game pockets, and a brass-finish, two-way metal zipper. Border in sage. Cold sponge, no soap. Barbour thornproof jackets are made of 100% cotton. Imported.Even sizes 34-52. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Border Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Everything Coat,
April 5, 2014
By: PiobMhor
from Rutland, VT
"The Barbour Border coat is the quintessential country necessity. I wear it to work over a suit, to bird hunt and to run errands on the weekend. When the cuffs fray after 10 years, I have them hemmed in leather. After 20 years, I retire it and buy another. It's my everything coat."
Review 2 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The longest Barbour,
February 18, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I chose this because it's the longest Barbour currently available and I haven't been disappointed. Extremely well made and very versatile. I got the removable hood and the quilted liner as well and that gives great versatility through the year. This coat also has a feature in the cuffs that allows you to cinch the cuff internally to better keep out the rain. A great coat overall for town and country."
Review 3 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Traveler,
January 28, 2014
By: BubbaJr
from Charleston, SC
"Great quality as expected. Perfect for shoving in the overhead on plane. Covers suit or sport coat well.
Handles any weather. Burberry or Barbour, you choose. I'll take Barbour.
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Price, but Excellent Value,
November 11, 2013
By: NOVAbanker
from Northern Virginia
"I am definitely value conscious and the ticket price made me nervous, but I've seen family members wear Barbour for years and the coats age well. I struggled between the Beaufort and the Border, but in the end the extra length of the Border, which perfectly covers a suit coat, made the Border the right choice for me. It weighs a ton, but is great for trips to NYC and Chicago. I wish I had overcome my "cheap" hurdle years ago."
Review 5 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20 yrs plus,
October 19, 2013
By: outdoorman18
from NY
"20 years plus. I had it repaired after hunting, fishing, and shooting. Ripped on a fence sent it to Barbour--they fixed it. Working on the next 20 yrs. It is a great companion."
Review 6 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truth in Advertising,
October 5, 2013
By: Koach
"I purchased this jacket a year ago.
The garment is amazing.
I can finally purchase a product , " Made in America"
"
Review 7 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have outer wear,
September 3, 2013
By: Backbay1
from Tampa, FL
"Probably the most versatile jacket you'll ever own. Works out in the field as well as business casual wear and even over a blazer or suit. Perfect for travel in a variety of weather conditions The snap on hood is highly recommended. Fits easily in one of the inside pockets when not in use. The liner is not necessarily required. The shell is remarkably warm without it. Especially, over a sweater or sport coat. The sizing is correct, no need to order a size up to fit over heavier garments."
Review 8 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and Warm,
December 28, 2012
By: SilverMac
"Christmas gift from my wife who wanted me looking good for holiday in Santa Fe and Denver. The low temps and snow were no competition for my Border Jacket. Besides looking sharp, I was never cold or wet as we walked everywhere from hotels with snow falling! Great jacket!!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
December 14, 2012
By: PinkSnout
"It's my third border in 30 years. The only reason I have to get a new one is that I keep growing in the middle."
Review 10 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding value of exceptional quality.,
November 17, 2012
By: Madoda
from Bagram Air Field, Afghanistan
"The Barbour Border Jacket recently purchased is an outstanding value of exceptional quality in comfort, fit, workmanship, protection and style. As a Government Service representative here in Afghanistan, the jacket’s longer length is especially appreciated as a counter to the miserable freezing wind. The waxed-cotton protection provides a fine barrier against the snow and rain. This is an excellent overcoat in this hostile environment."
Review 11 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding coat,
November 8, 2012
By: Willf
"Absolutely outstanding. Able to be used for more dressy occasions and out in the field as well. Have had mine for 10 years and still looks great. Would highly recommend it"
Review 12 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour.. Great as Usual,
November 6, 2012
By: Jasperdog
"Barbour Border Jacket is nicely proportioned with room for liner.
High quality fabric.
My last Barbour was purchased 20 years ago and gave good use. This one seems even better."
Review 13 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Coat,
October 24, 2012
By: WickedSharp
from Vernal, Utah
"As an attorney in rural Utah, I have always been frustrated with the trench coats and dress coats that are generally available to wear over a suit. The Barbour Border, along with the hood, worked perfectly this morning in a blizzard and looked great when I arrived at Court."
Review 14 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than anticipated,
March 16, 2012
By: doughboy
from St. Louis, MO
"Arrived just in time for late Winter which is more of a mid-Spring. Rain rolls right off it. Much warmer than anticipated even without the liner. Has a poncho-like lining inside the sleeves to keep out the elements. I'm broad-shouldered & barrel-chested w/a gut and the 52 fits just right at the shoulders w/room to spare elsewhere. Deep pockets will hold anything I want to bring along. Hidden side-zip under the outside button placket - perfect for my billfold or checkbook or cell. Handsome coat, already have gotten compliments & looks at work & around town. Another great Orvis purchase - thanks!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Purpose Jacket,
February 20, 2012
By: brooker1966
from Jacksonville, FL
"The weigth, length and warmth of this jacket are ideal for most fall, spring and early winter activities. Winter requires a second layer. I suggest the Mountian Hardware Monkey Fur fleece jacket. Its design, comfort, warmth and versatility make in one of the best second layers on the market. Try it and you will see how superior this approach is to buying the liner. I choose the Barbour Border jacket every time it fits the bill. Make sure you get the hood to go with it!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Coat,
February 7, 2012
By: OregonAndrew
from Tampa, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used this coat in the snow on Mount Hood, and it has performed amazingly well; I even wore it snowmobiling and stayed nice and warm, the wind cuffs kept all the wind out of my sleeves wonderfully well.
For me its great by itself down into the 40's, but 30's and down i wear a sweater under it and scarf, and stay nice and comfortable.
Its plenty roomy to accommodate extra layers, and all the pockets are great; big pockets for gloves, scarf, tobacco products, flask, etc., plus the handy secret pocket is perfect for a phone or ipod, etc.
I have the sylkoil version, so the color is a little different then the regular Border, but the pic gives you an idea of the length and size.
Its a great coat with so many uses; i can wear it with slacks in the city, or in the country with jeans, or out in the wild, and feel perfectly confident it will keep me warm and dry.
Superb design, superb workmanship, just a stellar product."
Review 17 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic quality,
January 16, 2012
By: Sjambok
from Houston, TX
"Love the classic quality of this beautiful coat. Already sized to fit comfortably over a suit; there was no need for me to order a size up."
Review 18 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite jacket,
January 11, 2012
By: Waljr
from Whitinsville,MA
"This is my second jacket of thi type, it is very comfortable, warm, weather resistant and good looking. Money well spent."
Review 19 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
December 31, 2011
By: ejsfromCNY
from Syracuse, ny
"My holiday gift to me, I have had the coat only a few weeks. It weathers the upstate snow and cold and sheds the NYC rainfall very well. I wish it had a draw string at the waist. Covers a business suit prefectly. Great coat. Recommend."
Review 20 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour=Best!,
December 31, 2011
By: ChrissyB
from B'ham, MI
"I love this coat!! Period. I LOST my old Barbour and bought the exact same coat."