Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Border Jacket

If you're looking for that same smart look, but want to wear it over your suit, the longer-waisted Border is for you. This long medium weight jacket features a new exclusive and handsome Barbour Ancient Tartan lining and a new internal zip that replaced the old studs for a great new zip-in vest. Is constructed of the classic, waterproof waxed 100% cotton outer to keep you dry in the worst conditions, and features a full storm flap at the neck and adjustable storm-gusset sleeves for further protection. The jacket is smartly accented with a corduroy collar, studded for an optional hood, and moleskin-lined hand-warmer pockets, bellows pockets with drain holes, underarm ventilation, inside game pockets, and a brass-finish, two-way metal zipper. Long medium weight jacket in sage. Cold sponge, no soap. 100% cotton. Even sizes: 34-52.
Average Customer Rating:
4.94 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 of 50(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Border Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pockets,
January 19, 2015
By: MikefromNYC
from New York, NY
"Pockets safely hold an Ipad. It was the only jacket I could find that carried and protected my iPad on either side, without sitting on it. They hold, books, hats and gloves too. In addition the zipped but hidden chest pocket holds the iPhone 6+ safely and dry. I also agree with the other reviewers that this jacket is the most useful, in that it can be worn over a suit or blazer jacket, and is impervious to wind and rain."
Review 2 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally got Ithe quality I paid for!,
December 27, 2014
By: Roxxa1
from Baltimore, MD
"In 2004 I bought a Barbour Borders jacket from Orvis in NY, where I lived for about 25 years. I only used it for normal city wear. Within 3 years it was falling apart. I called Orvis's customer service and they told me to pack the jacket up and take it to the Orvis store, from which it would be shipped to customer service and replaced or a refund given.
At the store I got an argument from a woman who insisted on opening the box, against my instruction simply to ship it to customer service. She did not want the jacket returned and insisted it was at least 6 or 7 years old! She actually handed me back the jacket and told me I was lying about its age, even after she was told to check the company's records to discover the date of my purchase. It turned out I was right! I swore I would never deal with Orvis again. For a second time, I contacted customer service and they instructed the people at the store to accept the return. About a month later I received a new jacket shipped to me by customer service. The new jacket was everything that I had expected. I've since retired and moved to Maryland, where I now live. I've had the jacket for 7 years now and, although it needs repair and rewaxing, I am satisfied with the jacket and with the quality promised. My wife says it is time to give it to Good Will, but I am going to have it refurbished, after which I'm sure I will get at least another 7 years out of it.
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Barbour for the Bucks,
December 6, 2014
By: StevefromHouston
from Houston, Texas
"This is my second Barbour coat. The border fully covers a suit coat for town and gown events and absolutely keeps out water and brush in the field. Very comfortable to the low 40's and roomy enough for a liner or sweater when colder. I am 5'10" and find the Border to be the best length – about mid thigh. Order with confidence from Orvis and Barbour."
Review 4 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best of the waxed jackets,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I know that the best sellers in the Barbour range are the Bedale and the Beaufort but I honestly think that the Border is by far the best of the range and I have no idea why it's not more popular. It has a longer length than the other jackets which makes it heavier certainly, but the extra length is really useful in a rain jacket. This goes to mid-thigh length and so thighs and the rest of the pants stay dry in heavy rain. It is as durable as any of the Barbours and with the optional hood and liner it will see you through any wet weather. If you're thinking of a new Barbour I'd highly recommend the Border."
Review 5 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket for a Lifetime,
September 24, 2014
By: LizzyG
from Virginia and Eastern Shore of Maryland
"My Border jacket is 25 years old, still going strong with care and rewaxing, can use it with or without lining or a vet or sweater underneath. It is so classic that one can wear it to walk the dogs, or to go out for the evening to the theatre and look country chic - I've had comments from women in fur that I in my Border jacket look so comfortable and confident in my own self. I have three other Barbour jackets now from quilted to fleece, and several vests, and 2 hats; all versatile and can be used by themselves or together for just about any weather situation. The initial cost puts off people, but amortize it over the lifetime of effective use and they beat anything out there - when you take proper care of these fine garments, and especially when you purchase them from a company that stands behind what they sell - that would be both Orvis and Barbour."
Review 6 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat Ever,
September 18, 2014
By: doughboy
from St. Louis, MO
"I've had my border coat for 2 years now and absolutely love it. I'm 6'00" and weighed 305 lbs when I got it and it fit perfectly w/room to spare (wide shoulders, 52-54" chest). Goes anywhere (work / town / visits to wine country -- wish I could say hunting but I don't ;) ... travels well, solid construction and stylish. It's too warm to wear for late Summer cool evenings; but Fall & Winter? Can't beat it. Got the detachable hood & it keeps the rain off my face. Get this coat."
Review 7 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best waterproof I've ever owned,
June 14, 2014
By: clintond
from Birmingham
"I bought my first Border jacket in 1982: lost it in a move in 2002 and had to order another. The Border jacket is, hands down, the finest jacket I've ever owned and I keep it lovingly waterproof by the application of the 'thorn-proof' wax when needed. It's an all-season waterproof although it's a bit heavy for hot summer days... but fall through spring, it's my everyday jacket and I highly recommend it."
Review 8 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality item,
April 29, 2014
By: Wintherus
from Australia
"Warm, waterproof and sexy. What's not to like? I ordered one for myself and my wife loved it so much I got her the women's version."
Review 9 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Everything Coat,
April 5, 2014
By: PiobMhor
from Rutland, VT
"The Barbour Border coat is the quintessential country necessity. I wear it to work over a suit, to bird hunt and to run errands on the weekend. When the cuffs fray after 10 years, I have them hemmed in leather. After 20 years, I retire it and buy another. It's my everything coat."
Review 10 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The longest Barbour,
February 18, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"I chose this because it's the longest Barbour currently available and I haven't been disappointed. Extremely well made and very versatile. I got the removable hood and the quilted liner as well and that gives great versatility through the year. This coat also has a feature in the cuffs that allows you to cinch the cuff internally to better keep out the rain. A great coat overall for town and country."
Review 11 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Traveler,
January 28, 2014
By: BubbaJr
from Charleston, SC
"Great quality as expected. Perfect for shoving in the overhead on plane. Covers suit or sport coat well.
Handles any weather. Burberry or Barbour, you choose. I'll take Barbour.
"
Review 12 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Price, but Excellent Value,
November 11, 2013
By: NOVAbanker
from Northern Virginia
"I am definitely value conscious and the ticket price made me nervous, but I've seen family members wear Barbour for years and the coats age well. I struggled between the Beaufort and the Border, but in the end the extra length of the Border, which perfectly covers a suit coat, made the Border the right choice for me. It weighs a ton, but is great for trips to NYC and Chicago. I wish I had overcome my "cheap" hurdle years ago."
Review 13 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20 yrs plus,
October 19, 2013
By: outdoorman18
from NY
"20 years plus. I had it repaired after hunting, fishing, and shooting. Ripped on a fence sent it to Barbour--they fixed it. Working on the next 20 yrs. It is a great companion."
Review 14 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truth in Advertising,
October 5, 2013
By: Koach
"I purchased this jacket a year ago.
The garment is amazing.
I can finally purchase a product , " Made in America"
"
Review 15 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have outer wear,
September 3, 2013
By: Backbay1
from Tampa, FL
"Probably the most versatile jacket you'll ever own. Works out in the field as well as business casual wear and even over a blazer or suit. Perfect for travel in a variety of weather conditions The snap on hood is highly recommended. Fits easily in one of the inside pockets when not in use. The liner is not necessarily required. The shell is remarkably warm without it. Especially, over a sweater or sport coat. The sizing is correct, no need to order a size up to fit over heavier garments."
Review 16 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and Warm,
December 28, 2012
By: SilverMac
"Christmas gift from my wife who wanted me looking good for holiday in Santa Fe and Denver. The low temps and snow were no competition for my Border Jacket. Besides looking sharp, I was never cold or wet as we walked everywhere from hotels with snow falling! Great jacket!!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!,
December 14, 2012
By: PinkSnout
"It's my third border in 30 years. The only reason I have to get a new one is that I keep growing in the middle."
Review 18 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding value of exceptional quality.,
November 17, 2012
By: Madoda
from Bagram Air Field, Afghanistan
"The Barbour Border Jacket recently purchased is an outstanding value of exceptional quality in comfort, fit, workmanship, protection and style. As a Government Service representative here in Afghanistan, the jacket’s longer length is especially appreciated as a counter to the miserable freezing wind. The waxed-cotton protection provides a fine barrier against the snow and rain. This is an excellent overcoat in this hostile environment."
Review 19 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding coat,
November 8, 2012
By: Willf
"Absolutely outstanding. Able to be used for more dressy occasions and out in the field as well. Have had mine for 10 years and still looks great. Would highly recommend it"
Review 20 for Barbour® Border Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour.. Great as Usual,
November 6, 2012
By: Jasperdog
"Barbour Border Jacket is nicely proportioned with room for liner.
High quality fabric.
My last Barbour was purchased 20 years ago and gave good use. This one seems even better."