Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line

Front welded loop for easy and fast leader attachment. The versatile freshwater floating line gives outstanding performance characteristics: easy line pickup, smooth casts, and minimal drag when fishing dry flies. An extra-long head section makes line mends easier and increases casting distance by efficiently loading the rod. Both feature a braided nylon core. Freshwater in buckskin, fl. yellow. 1 wt. 90'. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
52 of 56(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Review 1 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great service and product,
August 20, 2013
By: bwwil
from Montreal, Quebec
"The line is great and the delivery was fast. Just as promised."
Review 2 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great 2wt,
March 5, 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"This lines slips effortlessly through the guides and it's low diameter makes minimal impact on the water. It turns over beautifully (well as beautifully as my casting allows any line to) and the loop at the end of the line is very practical."
Review 3 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
December 21, 2012
By: fleafly
from Clyde, South Lanarkshire
"Got the 3wt which is a lovely line to cast, being a beginner this line helped me improve my casting. One thing though, sometimes my fly is getting caught on the welded loop, no fault of Orvis, just my casting."
Review 4 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product;Great price :),
November 28, 2012
By: Zxyz1
from Sunriver, Or
"Does what is expected at a great price point. Thanks"
Review 5 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
7 WT FOR A 5 WT,
November 26, 2012
By: WILDUR
from Annapolis, Md
"Since ORVIS had the 7 Wt floating line on sale, at a price too good to pass up, I thought I'd give it a swing on my 5 wt rod. I know that most rods will take a line weight above and below the stamped rating, I though I'd try 2. For casting very heavy dries and a tandem of large nymphs, with split shot and a strike indicator, the 7 wt was the ticket."
Review 6 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
November 20, 2012
By: Gillfishman
from s.wales.uk
"Nice slick line,shoots well,nice small welded loop at front."
Review 7 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line,
November 12, 2012
By: g1zmo
from Wales
"A superb line at a very competitive price. Easy to cast , precise and slick through the rings with a great turnover."
Review 8 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
value for money,
October 30, 2012
By: chris44
from Cornawall
"quality product at a good price. Was a long time convert to Aircell Supreme which is no longer made. This is just a sgood"
Review 9 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value,
September 17, 2012
By: Lebasdeslandes
from Durham UK
"Orvis Sale, was the best time for me to purchase this line"
Review 10 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hy-flote fly line deal,
September 10, 2012
By: TroutSeeker
from Loveland, CO
"I just got the delivery of this line and even without having it on the water, I can tell it was a great buy. This will be my new "go to line" that I plan to add to my best fly reel/rod combo. I love Orvis products and have always been pleased with all my purchases from Orvis (flies, tippet, tying materials, wading boots, fishing cloths, ect) and this is no exception. I now just added this quality line under $20 on sales (great mark down price) to my list from Orvis. There is no way that I would have found this high of quality line even in the bargain bins at most stores/sites. Thanks Orvis! Can't wait to hook into my next bow with this one."
Review 11 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does the job,
September 3, 2012
By: mott
from Portland OR
"It works as advertised. Good, efficient, budget line."
Review 12 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always good to have 2,
August 28, 2012
By: StrikeKing
from Tennessee
"I carry extra lines and spools now. This line coupled with my intermediate fits most water conditions thru the day. I use one weight heavier (9wt on 8wt rod) on floating lines and this line works well with that mix."
Review 13 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase for the money,
August 22, 2012
By: silverbullet
from MACOMB MI
"I FIND THE LINE TO BE WHAT ORVIS SAYS IT TO BE FRONT WELDED LOOP EASY TO CHANGE LEADERS IT FLOATS LIKE ITS SUPPOSE TO DO ITS SMOOTH THRU MY FINGER CASTS GREAT IT MENDS GREAT VERY GOOD CASTING DISTANCE AND FOR A BEGINNER IT MAKES LOOK LIKE A PRO I LOVE YOU ORVIS"
Review 14 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my first high end line,
August 2, 2012
By: pringle84
"This is the first line that I spent more than $15 on and it was definitely well worth it. It shoots well, casts perfectly, has high visibility and the premade loop at the head makes for great connections to the leader."
Review 15 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good buy,
August 2, 2012
By: nessie22
from Scotland
"I have used this line 5wt on the following three rods: 10.6ft 6wt Ultimate Orvis rod, 10ft Ultimate orvis rod and 10ft Western 6 wt Orvis.
It casts perfectly.I like the line as it lands on the water very gently when I am not trying to spook shy trout.It also casts in a good highland blow and the extra long head makes casting in the dark/low light a breeze. I have used all top brands(xs snow) but I would put this line with the top ones. I just wish Orvis continues to make this line. I would highly reccommend this line.
"
Review 16 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product and Excellent Service,
July 31, 2012
By: Tnflyguy
"I called my local Orvis store to find out if they carried this product or if I would need to order on line. The store manager informed me that it wasn't in stock but took the time to place the order for me over the phone. The product was shipped within two days and the e-mail containing tracking information was very useful."
Review 17 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it.,
July 28, 2012
By: Bluce
from New York, NY
"I am a beginner of the fly fishing.
This fly line is easy to use, nice function and nice price.
"
Review 18 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line,
July 25, 2012
By: HFULTI
"I havent used it too much and I am a beginner fly fisherman but it seems to be doing exactly what it should be doing. smooth through the guides, floats well. nice color"
Review 19 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 22, 2012
By: HikerMitch
from State College, PA
"Quality Product at a great price. I am new to fly fishing and this line works great."
Review 20 for Hy-Flote Extra Silver Label WF Floating Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Performance-Great Value,
July 16, 2012
By: SLTrout
from Kansas City, MO
"Casts great - very little line memory from the reel - absolutely filled my needs. What more could you ask for?"