Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline

The best all-around saltwater fishing line for early season and cold water applications, and for the angler who wants one line for all fly fishing conditions. Great for stripers, blues, reds, snook, and bones, plus pike, muskie, and early season largemouth bass. Compound front taper loads fly rods easily and turns over heavy flies in the wind. Hard coating stays firm in tropical heat while braided multifilament core reduces memory in cold weather. Saltwater fishing line in sand. Fly line in weights: 6-10; 100 ft. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Review 1 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
satisfied,
March 4, 2014
By: cad51
"The gen 3 provides distance and durability going after bones."
Review 2 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WORTH THE COST,
January 3, 2014
By: FISHERMAN206
from Pensacola, Fl
"Got this line on sale and found it to be a fine casting line as long as it's kept clean. If allowed to become dirty it tangles quite a bit and becomes difficult to deal with. I liked it well enough to purchase several more and recommend it to my friends."
Review 3 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line!,
December 31, 2013
By: silver9r
from Whitecourt, AB
"Love the wonderline product. Flies out of the rod like a bullet out of a gun! Amazing line for such a good price."
Review 4 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very smooth line!,
May 14, 2013
By: NCDECOY
from Greenville, NC
"I have used this line on several trips down on the North Carolina coast. Far better than any line I have used in years. Most of my fishing friends plan on buying this line after they have used my rig."
Review 5 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
May 7, 2013
By: RWN01
"I recently purchased this line for a trip to Belize and it performed as advertised. Great line and I highly recommend"
Review 6 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The reason they call it Wonderline,
June 28, 2012
By: JackTheLipRipper
from Ft Myers, Florida
"I received my Wonderline and quickly got to some water. At first it was stiff but finally relaxed after a few casts in the water. I was shooting longer and making more accurate casts. The line slide very smoothly and I must say that the noise it made while sliding through my guides made me feel.........well wonderful!! I caught 6 of 10 alligator gar great day on the water. It seemed Orvis had sent there Wonderline Wonder Angels to help it along!!"
Review 7 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Saltwater Performance,
May 22, 2012
By: GeraldG
from New Jersey
"Shoots well in the salt and seems to hold up with proper care and cleaning!"
Review 8 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Below Average Performance,
May 18, 2012
By: Jayhawknavy02
from San Diego
"This is the first Orvis product I have been disappointed with, but it is also my first Orvis line. I've fished this on an 8 weight rod in Maine (salt/fresh), Panama (freshwater), Baja (salt), and Hawaii (salt). It does not provide the floatation level I would expect, tangles easily and doesn't load my 8 weight as well as other lines I have. I'm sad to say that my first line purchase with Orvis and will probably be my last. Every Orvis product I have owned so far has been exceptional, this is the exception."
Review 9 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
impressive line,
July 14, 2011
By: Anonymous
from New Jersey
"I just got this line with my new Mirage reel and tested it out to see what all the hype is about. I've got to say im impressed with this line's performance. It shoots great, tight loops and feels like you have alot more control on the cast compared to some other lines, and i would definetly consider purchasing more orvis lines. If I could offer any criticism, it would be that I think they should have a bit more imagination with line color. the sand color most of their lines come in is just boring, how about some clear tips and running line that blends in with the water, greens and blues."
Review 10 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Difficult in cold water,
May 22, 2011
By: jnichols92
"I just opened the box and put this line on my reel to practice in some cold water (Puget Sound) before a warm water trip. It was stiff and continually kinked and knotted in my stripping basket, so it was very difficult to cast. It did seem to shoot well when I could avoid the tangles. I would not recommend this line if you have any expectation that it can be used in cold water."
Review 11 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
March 3, 2011
By: Chstail
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you think you need more than this line you're doing it wrong. The free backing makes this an exceptional value."
Review 12 for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dont think about it - Just Buy it,
September 4, 2008
By: Abdullah
from Muscat, Oman
"I am new in fly fishing and have spent lots of money buying lots of gear. I wish someone would buy all other stuff I got and just stick with Orvis. I bought lots of line in many reels and finally Marcos in Orvis Houston got me to try the Orvis Saltwater All-rounder wonderline. Wow, Wow - combined with the Helios Rod 10 weight I cast the entire fly line to the backing knot. I went to Belize with different reels and lines and my wife and I and the guide could cast furthest with this line. Save yourself money from other well advertised lines and get this line. You will remember me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Saltwater All-Rounder Wonderline
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2