Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod

A new, entirely upgraded yet utterly classic Superfine Trout Bum. Your rod of choice for those wild, sassy brookies, cutts, rainbows, and goldens found in remote mountain brooks and hidden spring creeks. Now lighter and stronger than ever—made for the first time with our exclusive thermoset thermoplastic resins found in the T3 and Zero G. It also sports entirely upgraded hardware with a maple wood and cork inlay reel seat, and a superfine tapered cork grip with our signature overwrap from cork to graphite. Plus a gorgeous olive finish with gold wraps, nickel-silver reel seat hardware, titanium nitride snake guides, and a gold cermet stripping guide. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Review 1 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great overall rod...almost,
October 5, 2010
By: bosshos88
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really like the action and performance of this rod, but the "feel" is what truly sets it apart for me. I also own a 7'9" 5wt Far and Fine, which I know has stood the test of time as a classic, but I actually find my newer Superfine to be more fun to fish.
However, I did have an issue with the reel seat/butt cap. I paired the rod with an old Hardy CFO III. The reel never seemed to fit snugly to the seat. In addition, the black butt cap that has the bottom locking screw on it came off. I'm not sure if it was secured with glue or just by friction, but the fact remains that it came loose from the rod. I had considered the rod to be a good value until this incident. For the price, I expect more quality in the workmanship. fortunately, I am comforted to know that Orvis has a solid warranty policy, although I have yet to use it. Hopefully things go smoothly with getting this issue fixed for good.
Still, I love the mechanics of this rod when being fished. It's just fun to fish unlike any other rod I've used. I don't know how else to say it."
Review 2 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a joy to cast,
August 11, 2010
By: plaidshrew
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought my first Superfine 6 years ago, before Orvis re-worked the model with the new thermoplastic blanks. An incredible improvement on an already great rod! It's light in the hand and casts like a dream. It will throw dries and nymphs with accuracy and little effort. Small streamers work well with this rod too. My favorite rod for small to mid size streams."
Review 3 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on small streams,
August 2, 2010
By: Sibby
from Buffalo, NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased this rod, 7ft 4wt, after I found my 9ft 5wt Hydros was too large for a small stream I like to fish. This rod, coupled with the BBS 2, is a great combo for small trout and tight fishing conditions. Casts very well, very smooth, very precise. Every fish feels like a world record. Would buy it again in a heartbeat. It is my favorite rod."
Review 4 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a little dissapointed,
February 25, 2010
By: evol13
from madison, WI
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"my superfine is a 2 piece 4wt 1oz rod. it has the plastic reel rings over cork, and i have had nothing but problems with it. the rings don't hold it down, and the cork gets damaged from tightening them down. this is the only product from orvis that i haven't been happy with. i love how it casts, but the reel ( orvis BBS bar stock) just won't hold to the rod. i have to duct tape it when i use it."
Review 5 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New faviorite,
January 30, 2010
By: troutfanatic
from Branford, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had this rod for about a month now. And i have fished it about 8 times. I feel like it has met all my expectations and much more. when i first picked the rod up i figured that it was going to be a great small dryfly rod for those small northeast brookies, but not only have i fished size 22 midges with it but size 8 streamers and big nymphing rigs. This rod is AMAZING it fishes fanastic with pinpoint accuracy but not only that it looks amazing(with my CFO 2). BEST buy ever. Orvis you have made another great rod that i will fish with pride for the rest of my life."
Review 6 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eceptional all around trout rod,
December 3, 2009
By: TroutBud
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have (5) Helios and (2) Trout Bums. This 704-4 Trout Bum is my favorite.
Landing a small creek brown or brookie is as much fun as bringing in a 5+ pound steelie on my 107-4 Helios.
This rod does everything I ask of it; delicate presentations, short or long casts, execllent roll casts and it's great in tight quarters.
The bonus is it looks great especially with the CFO II reel.
I can't wait until spring when I can us this rod almost all of the time.
Highly recommended!
"
Review 7 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handles big fish too,
July 12, 2009
By: mikeg
from Ridgefield, CT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this rod for some of the small trout streams I fish -- short for maneuvering through the woods and lots of flex to feel the smaller fish. Recently I was surprised by an 18 inch rainbow, and the rod did great on the bigger fish as well! What a blast!"
Review 8 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feel, beautiful rod,
June 10, 2009
By: RussCO
from Nederland, CO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I get to use mine a bunch living up at 8500' not far from Rocky Mt Ntnl Park. This is a very well made rod with a great feel in the small stream and even up in those high mountain lakes. I can't wait to get out to use it as often as possible. This was my first Superfine Tout Bum, but hopefully it won't be my last!"
Review 9 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Stream Dry Heaven,
May 4, 2009
By: TNtroutbum
from TN and WY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you're looking for the perfect all around dry fly stick for small streams, look no further. It's as wonderful to look at as it is to cast. Not too light in line weight for easier mending and not too short either. If you want to "feel" those brookies a little more, go with the 2 or 3wt, but just in case you hook in to a larger fish, go with the 4. Just in case right?! :-)"
Review 10 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod!,
March 7, 2009
By: wildflush
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Used my new 7' 4wt Trout Bum today and what a sweet rod. Loads effortlessly and is very smooth with the Superfine WF line. Worked nicely with BH nymphs and even tossed a size 10 Crystal bugger. The fit and finish is very nice and looks great matched with my CFO II."
Review 11 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rolls Royce,
November 4, 2008
By: ChrisB
from Derbyshire UK.
"This is the Rolls Royce of the stream fishing world. Classy, good looking, stylish and a joy to use and look at!
Paired with the CFO reel and superfine 4wt.line--------YUMMY,YUMMY!
Caught a 1.5 lb wild rainbow on this, best scrap i've had for ages. Landed it though and boy did it feel good!
I love roll casting with this rod under the trees, I think this is it's real strongpoint.
Go treat yourself and explore those little streams that people seem to ignore. On this rod every small trout feels like a whopper!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just for Brookies!!!,
October 27, 2008
By: TennesseeTroutAddict
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I spend much of my time fishing for brooks in East Tennessee. Occasionally, a brown comes up when I'm using lighter tackle. Not only is the new superfine delicate enough to let brooks fight, but it has the backbone to fight bigger guys. Don't be scared to cast to medium sized fish with this rod."
Review 13 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine is right!!,
July 14, 2008
By: ISHI
from Berkley, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is one sweet little fly rod, perfect for small creeks/streams and tight places. It will cast like a dream and even the little fish like this brookie are tons of fun. Caught this beauty the first time out on the little creek that runs thru my friends northern Michigan property. Just can't go wrong with Orvis."
Review 14 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In short: a great rod,
June 24, 2008
By: dadoonana
from Buffalo, new York
"This rod has everything. Aesthetically, it's as beautiful a rod as made, but as a fishing instrument it's equally as great. Before buying it I tried rods from other companies that cost half again as much, but were nowhere as good as this 7' Trout Bum. I was suspicious that a 4 piece rod would have the wonderful Superfine action, but it is even better: superb for short casts with the backbone for as long a cast you'll need on a small stream. At 7 feet it is perfect for sidearm casts on overgrown streams. It will throw a nymph, small streamers, and is a great dry fly rod, accurate and delicate. You won't find a better rod for small trout streams."
Review 15 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfine 7' 4 wght,
June 13, 2008
By: JASTrout
"OK, I truely love soft action rods, and I recently fished my Far and Fine 7'9" 5 wght(Older version) this past Thursday, and on Friday purchased my first new Superfine: The 7' 4 wght, and I was alittle concern if the new matched the great action of the classic? Well, it was BETTER, this will be ,my small Brookie rod , in 4 pieces. Great finish,and if Orvis would like me to compare the a new 7'9" 5 wght please send me one to test. I know it will be a winner!"
Review 16 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINEST SMALL STREAM ROD EVER!,
May 18, 2008
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
"I OWN 5 OF THE NEWEST TROUT BUM SUPERFINE RODS AND 2 HELIOS, AS WELL AS SEVERAL BAMBOO AND OLD SUPERFINES AND THIS ROD (704-4) IS THE NICEST CASTING ROD FOR SMALL TO MID-SIZED WATERS, THAT I'VE EVER HAD THE PLEASURE OF USING. I EVEN LIKE IT BETTER THAN MY BAMBOO "FLEA" AND BAMBOO "7/4" RODS, WHICH ARE BOTH OUTSTANDING RODS IN THEIR OWN RIGHT. ALL OF THE NEW SUPERFINES ARE SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT FLEX RATINGS FROM EACH OTHER AND THIS ONE HAS A NICE (5.5) FULL FLEX "BAMBOO" LIKE FEEL, BUT HAS MORE BACKBONE, SO IT IS EXTREMELY SMOOTH AND HAS BETTER LINE CONTROL AND ACCURACY. THE BEAUTY OF THIS ROD IS SECOND TO NONE AND THE FOUR PIECE CONSTRUCTION AND STRONGER ROD BLANK AND FERRULES ARE ALSO GREAT BENEFITS. THIS ROD IS GREAT FOR VERY SHORT CASTS, BUT I'VE BEEN ABLE TO CAST IT TO 50' WITH NO EFFORT. MY FAVORITE SMALL STREAM ROD OF ALL TIME! I WILL NEVER BUY ANY OTHER BRAND OF FLY ROD."
Review 17 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A dream rod,
April 5, 2008
By: GreenSandpiper
from Cumbria, England
"If you enjoy casting a dry fly to wild Brown Trout on small streams, this rod will take you to heaven. It is similar to the best that cane has to offer, with the advantages of carbon. It is effortless to cast, powerful when required, precise in tight spaces. It cannot be bettered in it's function. Why pay more ?"
Review 18 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best trout rod. Period.,
February 7, 2008
By: Teflon
from Southeastern MA
"I have two Superfine rods and they are far and away my favorite rods in my collection. I've caught everything from 3" trout to 23"+ salmon on them, and fished everything from tiny dries to 6" long streamers for monster trout and the rod handles every situation with ease. I will never buy a different trout rod as long as I can find a Superfine, whether it's new or used."
Review 19 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One great rod,
November 19, 2007
By: FlyFishAhloic
from Northampton, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I can’t even begin to explain the greatness of this rod. Combo this rod with a CFO with superfine wonderline…and witness perfection. Great job Orvis."
Review 20 for Superfine Trout Bum 704-4 Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth as Silk,
October 13, 2007
By: smoknjoe
"Having fished with a 7'9"-5wt Superfine rod in the past, did not prepare me for the smoothness of the new 7' -4wt Trout Bum. I am impressed with how easily and efficiently this rod loads and lands a dry fly. It also has enough muscle to handle most of the nymph fishing that I do in Western PA and WV. I would recommend this rod to anyone looking for that easily pack able and versatile rod for most trout applications."