Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hard Body Ant Wet

This is a terrific ant fly pattern that is not only realistic but, due to the construction of the fly, very durable. Sits low in the film like a drowned ant and is very enticing to a fish looking for an easy meal. If you see ants on your way to the river, it's a sure bet the fish are looking for them as well. Brown; sizes 16,18. .Black/red; sizes 14, 16, 18, 20. Black; sizes 12, 14, 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hard Body Ant Wet
Review 1 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 7, 2015
By: NoogaVFL
"These ants are excellently crafted. They pass the eye test easily and I can't wait to try them out tomorrow. I'm certain they will catch fish."
Review 2 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ant pattern,
April 29, 2015
By: Ziggly
from California
"I was very excited when I saw this pattern on the Orvis website. I have used many other ant patterns in the past (foam and thread) and after a few catches, the fly gets destroyed by trout teeth. This fly should sit low in the water and last quite a long time. Looking forward to going out to my local mountain stream and catching some wild rainbows."
Review 3 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Terrestrial,
April 13, 2015
By: wildbill69
from Suburban Chicago
"Always loved these hard body terrestrials.......think they are better than the tied-body ants."
Review 4 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard body ant is excellent,
October 9, 2014
By: JohnThomasMartin
from Buckhead, Ga
"The hard body ant is a stellar tailing fly for a "dry fly and dropper rig." It pairs well with a small blue winged olive. This fly on that rig gets a lot of action on the Chattahoochee. It is my "go to" fly for Jones Bridge Park near Dunwoody. As long as the fish are hitting in late summer and early fall the ant is going to rip lips."
Review 5 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When all else fails,
June 10, 2014
By: Wichitaaa
from Durango, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When all else fails try this little brown ant in a size 16 and you'll be surprised at the consistent results!"
Review 6 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent and Useful,
July 23, 2012
By: Swearsy
from Evart, MI
"Another well built fly from Orvis. It's never a question of quality."
Review 7 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great fly,
July 3, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"As a lover of small stream fishing, terrestrials are an important part of my fly arsenal. I really like fishing this fly in streams with vegetation and brush along the banks that provide the trout with naturals of this fly. Personally I always use a 16, 18 or 20 and have had wonderful results. I've also had good success fishing this in stillwater lakes and ponds in heavily wooded areas. Great fly!"
Review 8 for Hard Body Ant Wet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard Body,
February 2, 2011
By: Doug
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you're looking for a hard body ant, look no further. It is well made and looks great. With 10' of snow on the ground I haven't had a chance to try it out, but I know it will produce fish."