Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket

Using gently weathered pure cotton twill—thoroughly washed for softness and a broken-in feel—we've created these classic three-season windbreaker jackets built for travel. Innovative interior pocket system organizes and secures everything you need to carry. Bi-swing back for easy reach. Washable genuine leather trim on full length of storm flap, on cuffs, and beneath collar. Three exterior and eight interior pockets. Men's windbreaker jackets in khaki. Pure cotton body; nylon/spandex lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
44 of 52(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Review 1 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket - wrong color for me,
December 8, 2013
By: MidwestWriter
from Overland Park, KS
"This jacket kept catching my eye for months in the Orvis catalog. It fits well for broad shouldered men (unlike the cut of some of the Orvis field jackets that are tight in the shoulder and generous elsewhere). Lots of pockets - really fulfills the function of travel jacket.
But I work in a business casual environment and found the light colored jacket looked odd with khakis and it was a bit too casual with dress slacks in darker colors. As a result I only wore it two or three times over 11 months. Each time I looked at it in the coat closet I regretted not finding it before Orvis dropped the olive color in this jacket - that would have been a keeper.
If this color works for you, this is a great jacket and the many pockets and comfort make it very functional. But for me it didn't work out.
Took it back to the Leawood store and used it for credit on a new Barbour coat in navy. Great customer service and no issues with the exchange.
If Orvis ever offers it in a darker color, I'll buy it."
Review 2 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for travel,
September 17, 2013
By: H100
"Wanted one jacket that would carry plenty of stuff and have security pockets for travel. Just what I was looking for."
Review 3 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
overpriced,
May 8, 2013
By: SPENCE
from ATLANTA,GA
"product is overpriced versus other very nice similar orvis jackets.it is also a lot heavier than expected,looks nice. the questioner needs improvement,.it has nowhere to say you would recommend or not recommend.nice inside pockets for travel.if 100& less would be a reasonable price vis other orvis coats.jim"
Review 4 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor fit,
April 9, 2013
By: Hike7
"Did not like the fit of the jacket.
It was returned."
Review 5 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm Not Your Billboard....,
March 7, 2013
By: frustrating
from Rochester Customer
"Great jacket, but I was extremely disappointed when I looked at the back of the jacket in the mirror and saw your logo emblazoned across the back. It does not matter how small the logo is; the small size misses the point. I buy Orvis products for discreet quality. If I wanted to wear logos I'd buy clothing at NFL.com. So I've returned the jacket - so sad. Know your audience; that's why there is a Coke Classic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket,
March 1, 2013
By: Shotso
from Mountain Home, AR
"Nice jacket, detail and weight. Would prefer a little darker kacki so would contrast with kacki pants. Also the collar could be more stylish. Very functional for travel."
Review 7 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Jacket!,
February 24, 2013
By: BeerFerry
from Halifax, Nova Scotia
"I had my eye on this jacket for a while. Had concerns about fit after reading reviews. I finally gave in and ordered a Large which is my standard Orvis size. The jacket arrived and was the look and feel I was expecting. However, I found the length in the body and the sleeves a little short. I am 5' 11" and 210 lbs and I have returned the jacket. Will no doubt reorder this jacket in an XLarge."
Review 8 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Jacket for travel,
February 19, 2013
By: BillinLansing
from Lansing Mi
"Love this jacket..... lots of pockets, warm enough so that I could use during MI winter on my way to the airport. Again the best feature are the numerous inside pockets which are a wonderful aid when going thru airport security. Tickets, passport, gum cellphone change, Bluetooth device keys, change, wallet and pen with room left over. Most of the pockets are secured with either zipper, Velcro or buttons. Able to organize all of the above in the jacket and then just slip the jacket on and off when passing thru security checkpoints. Apart from the above this is a very well made jacket, the sizing was accurate and the jacket provided adequate protection against the wind and cold for use during MI winter on trip to airport. Did not need another bulky winter coat for my Fl destination. Stylish as well as practical. I initially thought the price was a bit high but this was worth every penny."
Review 9 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Jacket,
February 11, 2013
By: RidersDad
from Medway, MA
"Very fine quality fabrics, inside and out - sized nicely - nice styling (would omit the Orvis logo on the back hanging hook) - pockets, inside and out, are nicely placed and sized - did not care for cloth zipper pulls - finishing could have snipped many of the hanging threads - will last a great many years - as great as it is, still a little pricey"
Review 10 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 18, 2013
By: Italo
"This jacket is billed as a three season windbreaker, but it is much more. Quality and warmth will take you deep into winter."
Review 11 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of Pockets,
January 11, 2013
By: JohnJohnJohn
"Everything has a place, everything in it's place! Perfect!"
Review 12 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around jacket!,
December 30, 2012
By: DLD440
from Dublin, Ohio
"This jacket has it all. It is a nice weight and can be worn in different climates and temperature ranges. All the pockets are a plus and I can carry the important things with me instead of putting everything in my briefcase or luggage. This jacket is probably the best jacket I have ever owned!"
Review 13 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket,
December 28, 2012
By: Splitshot314
from Tennessee
"A very good value, warm, comfortable and stylish. I am very happy with this jacket."
Review 14 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Jacket,
December 10, 2012
By: MTNYALA
from All over
"This is just what I needed. It will fit in almost any occasion and it's a perfect travel jacket."
Review 15 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Correct jacket - wrong client.,
November 8, 2012
By: SoCarolina
"Sorry. The jacket is a very good idea. The weight & product finish simply not to my expectations."
Review 16 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket.,
October 11, 2012
By: Joe6
from Adelaide, South Australia
"Can not fault the jacket especialy for the sale price. Large size was spot on for me so no issues there. Sleeves not long either. Love the leather bits. So all good. Only thing I missed out on an extra 25% discount this week. Win some lose some."
Review 17 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Escape!,
March 3, 2012
By: mattcom1
from Mount Airy, MD
"Very well constructed jacket. This timeless classic look is comfortable and is sure to wear well, with many pockets for all your stuff. Looks great with a shirt and tie or dressed down with jeans. Just what I was looking for for the spring and fall."
Review 18 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket but...,
January 6, 2012
By: FMRAdioman
from Northern California
"I loved the look of this jacket along with the amount of pockets but I did end up returning it. I returned it since I did not like the contrasting look of the leather storm flap when the jacket was not zipped. In addition, I would like to see this jacket in olive where the issue above may not be as noticeable. It was just not for me but it is a quality jacket!"
Review 19 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Jacket!,
January 1, 2012
By: Serendipity527
from Streator, IL
"Here is a beautifully constructed, great looking jacket that rocks! My husband looks successful and handsome when he wears it......and, he wears it often. My problem is with Customer Service who wouldn't give me FREE shipping when it was offered only 3 days after I ordered this jacket. Doing this would have endeared me to this company forever. It's called taking care of your customers."
Review 20 for Weathered-Twill Escape Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too much fru fru,
October 26, 2011
By: Cyrus
from California
"Not a bad jacket, but I did not like the leather trim on the zipper panel. It just doesn't fit with the rest of the jacket and has no real purpose. I also think there are just too many pockets and zippers, making it bulky and again, no purpose."