Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket

A best-selling Orvis fabric, our signature pure wool Donegal Tweed offers a richly flecked appearance, timeless styling, and superior comfort. Our slightly shaped buttonless jacket has a flattering jewel neckline and besom pockets. Fully lined. Jacket: 100% wool. Lining: 100% polyester. Dry clean.Regular US sizes 6-20; about 22" long.Petite US sizes 4-16; about 21" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
52 of 57(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Review 1 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Jacket,
February 20, 2014
By: Bogeysmom1
"This jacket is very well tailored, and the fabric is a good weight for Southern California. I usually wear a petite 6 but ordered a petite 8. The jacket fits beautifully with a light-weight sweater or blouse . The fit is true to the photograph, and falls at mid-hip."
Review 2 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 12, 2014
By: sypdap
"Perfect for my height. I am long waisted and it falls perfectly at the hip!"
Review 3 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: GaryH
"Timeless jacket I'll be wearing for years. Good quality."
Review 4 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal. Jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: Jean13
from Wichita KS
"The donegal jacket was just the perfect addition to go wiith donegal pants. The matched set made a wonder suit, an outfit of top quality, and one I was proud to wear."
Review 5 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beautiful jacket, poor fit,
January 30, 2014
By: cruisefan
"Love this jacket...perfect match for the tweed pants, BUT the fit is not to Orvis usual standards...it is extremely narrow through the shoulders, and the sleeves are much too long. Too bad I have to return the item."
Review 6 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As usual,
January 22, 2014
By: goodspouse2
from Essex, CT
"Orvis has described and offered the product to perfection. Used customer service to assure size and all was handled most professionally."
Review 7 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Jacket,
January 21, 2014
By: DJMB
"I was looking for a warm, wool jacket that would still be nice enough to wear without a lot of bulk. This is it. It is very flattering in design and is beautifully made. I am so pleased with my purchase. It arrived promptly and wrapped so nicely. Thank you. I am a happy customer!"
Review 8 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart classic lines,
January 20, 2014
By: JJcalifornia
from Tulare, CA
"Beautiful jacket, very versatile, either with cords and sweater or dressed up."
Review 9 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Purchase This Season,
January 16, 2014
By: Snugs
from Northern, VA
"I have been waiting for this item to return. I have two similar items from Orvis sold many years ago and they still remain a favorite. I just returned from a resort weekend get away where I wore my new jacket for both a casual evening and a dress evening. The classic style made it appropriate for both. I hope Orvis comes out with another one soon, possibly in a solid. I will be the first to buy if they do."
Review 10 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
January 1, 2014
By: Ginilogan
from Sc
"This outfit can be worn for three seasons varying with a blouse, turtleneck or shell. Jacket with slacks are a standard for any mature woman's wardrobe, career or retired."
Review 11 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Disappointment,
November 5, 2013
By: springchicken
from London, UK
"This is a beautiful jacket - just exactly the style and color I wanted. Unfortunately it was cut large across the chest, so that there were excess folds of material in front. The shoulders were fine, and the garment length and sleeve length were fine. A tailor could perhaps have altered it to fit, but this would have made it too expensive. I had to return it, but I am really sorry - I loved it."
Review 12 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently lovely,
October 2, 2013
By: BonitaF
from PA
"Unlike my review for the accompaniment garments to this jacket (trousers, skirt and split skirt), the jacket I received continues to be of Orvis (good) quality, with lining of the nice polyester twill typical of jackets (not the cheap clingy knit polyester of the aforementioned garments).
Caveat emptor, in case the newer ones also have the "new lining. Maybe check on that before placing the order?
Also, fit seems to continue true to size, also unlike the trousers which have been drastically re-sized, I am guessing in service of the current trends (hmmm - don't we purchase from Orvis to avoid just that??)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, classic, elegant,
March 19, 2013
By: SeattleMom
from Seattle WA
"I am 62 years old, athletic and active, but always cold in most hotel meeting rooms, churches, restaurants. I have been looking for years for an elegant, classical suit that is also warm. This is perfect. The jacket fits perfectly. So many styles these days have tiny narrow sleeves, but this fits me well, and I do Pilates and light weights daily. The black and white pattern looks wonderful with many different blouses- my first meeting I wore a bright pink one day and an intense purple another and received many compliments. The pants are also perfect. I found the size to be true. I am 5' 4" tall, 127 pounds and fit perfectly in the size 10P."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
February 23, 2013
By: Valkoinen
from St. Petersburg, Russia
"I got this for my mom. The fabric is very soft but durable. Nice wool material, awesome timeless style, perfect fit."
Review 15 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
February 18, 2013
By: Morgander
from Scott Depot, WV
"The item was well made but it was too small for me and that was the reason for my return.
I would recommend it to someone else."
Review 16 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very disappointed.,
February 6, 2013
By: Brandt
from Chattanooga, TN
"I usually love the way Orvis products are made and how they fit. However, this is one time that I was truly disappointed. I had been wanting this beautiful jacket for years and when it finally went on sale, I ordered it. However, the jacket did not hang correctly on me when I tried it on. It had gaps across the top. This was totally different from the way it looked in the catalog. If you want to order one, make sure you order a larger size than normal."
Review 17 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
generally pleased,
February 4, 2013
By: Good2Go
from Missouri
"I bought this jacket to match the split skirt that I liked so much. I do like it, but I would prefer a little more shape and some type of fastener or button. maybe just one. In general, I am pleased with the jacket."
Review 18 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not much space for expansion,
January 29, 2013
By: OldOrvisCustomer
"Well made and chic looking, but not particularly generously cut, which is unusual for Orvis garments. Fitted well across the shoulders but the edges at the front did not meet and the buttonless design meant nothing could be done to close the gap."
Review 19 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Donegal Jacket,
January 25, 2013
By: Camilla44
from Denver, Colorado
"I have looked at this product in the catalogue for a long time, and finally decided to buy it. I love the feel of this jacket as well as its lines. Although I am allergic to wool, the lining is such that I am not at all bothered. It drapes beautifully, and my only complaint is that--although I bought a Petite--the sleeves are 2 inches too long and will need to be altered."
Review 20 for Donegal Tweed Cardigan Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
satisfied customer,
January 16, 2013
By: 1939
"delighted with all three donegal tweed products purchased-worth every penny"