Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Adventure Twill Sport Coat

The classic cut of a sport coat with the rugged versatility of a go-anywhere travel jacket. Our two-button sport coat is tailored from durable cotton twill, highlighted with a sueded leather collar, and trimmed with leather elbow patches, cuff ends, and a locker loop. Single vent styling with a half-lining of polyester mesh. Flap-over patch pockets feature side-entry handwarmer pockets. Seven interior pockets: four standard size, three mini pockets for smaller items. Men's twill sport coat in dark brown. Cotton/polyester shell; polyester lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48); about 32" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Review 1 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Comfortable Sport Jacket,
September 25, 2013
By: HankofRI
from Providence RI
"As other reviewers have stated, this jacket has a generous cut and runs long and a bit wide for its size. It has lots of well placed pockets and the material is a cotton canvas that is brushed to look like leather. Once again, however, there are button issues with an Orvis product. After two weeks of wear one of the buttons came off....an internal button on which absolutely no stress was placed. This has been a disturbing trend in recent Orvis jackets that never existed when I started shopping Orvis about two decades ago. Prevents a 5-Star Review. On balance a comfortable and user-friendly casual sport jacket."
Review 2 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My missing jacket!,
April 24, 2013
By: simonT
from Poole, Dorset
"This is what I have needed in my wardrobe for ages. Having lived in the USA for six years, I have missed the wide range of clothing of great quality until I discovered Orvis. The only drawback to this jacket was it's length, but that is not the jacket's fault. I broad shouldered but average height so always need to get coats shortened. I have the Orvis catelogue and want one of everything !"
Review 3 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat,
March 7, 2013
By: wdsmn
"I recently purchased the "Adventure Twill Coat." It was well made and very functional with lots of pockets. However, the large was big on me and I generally wear a 42-44. So I returned the coat."
Review 4 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice jacket but too wide,
February 27, 2013
By: segolene
from Berkshires, MA
"I bought this jacket on sale for my husband. He likes the style and the material but he is going to see if he can have it taken in because it is very baggy though the shoulders are just right. If he wears it over a heavy sweater it will fit better but not as an extra layer over a shirt. A smaller size would not work because the sleeves would be too short. I would recommend the jacket for someone plumper than he."
Review 5 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
unusual fit,
February 26, 2013
By: taosrambler
from Taos, NM
"Bought jacket at a nice sale price. Material and features as expected for an Orvis product, but the fit was awkward (very slim, collar not quite flat, weird shoulders). Maybe that's why it was on sale."
Review 6 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not winter coat,
January 23, 2013
By: redbull1
from b ham
"not a winter coat, more like a shirt, its that thin, half lined, looks good from outside. but not good inside, spend a little more. an get a proper jacket,"
Review 7 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great look; could be made better,
January 1, 2013
By: Orvisdoc
from San Francisco, CA
"Great look and feel; excellent utility; button holes cut sloppily, so that perimeter threads were cut and had to be redone immediately after purchase."
Review 8 for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice - runs big,
October 11, 2012
By: Aikenite
from Aiken, SC
"The sizing for this item runs maybe one size larger. I normally wear a Medium in most of Orvis' sport coats. However this one was huge - a Medium felt and loooked more like a 42-44 in size; not the expected 38-40 sizing. I re-orderd a Small and its fit was fine. I am 5 feet 9 inches tall and have a 35 inch waist and comfortably wear a size 38R sport coat. Beware it runs big.
It is well made and looks like leather, but is not which will make claning bill less - dry cleaning is suggested on the label. It being made of a cotton twill and nylon it is lighter in weight, but still had that leather smell from its trim and elbow patches - but leater trim and patched do add to its weight ( like a heavey sweater) - nice leather smell. I would have preferred side vents instead of a center vent as they make it easier to sit down in - like when driving. It is not waterproof - which would have been nice - but for the price - about 1/2 less than a Barber coat - that fact is OK. In a trial I tried a spot inside the jacket to see if I could use ScotchGard fabric protection to prevent stains and add some water repellancy. In the test the color - brown - rubbed off on a clean white T-shirt - so following the Scotch Guard's product label I did not use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Adventure Twill Sport Coat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1