Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dog-Friendly Throw

Our Dog-Friendly Throw offers supreme comfort for you, while protecting your furniture from whatever your dog can dish out. Crafted with a luxurious microfibre twill on one side and an ultra-short-pile plush fabric on the reverse, it's filled with ½" of plush polyester batting and features a water-resistant, breathable liner to guard against moisture and spills. 100% polyester. Washable. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
27 of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog-Friendly Throw
Review 1 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Dog Throw,
January 16, 2014
By: Asante
from Louisville, Ky area
"This is very attractive, durable, and well made. My only problem is that it keeps slipping off the sofa as the dog sits and moves around on it so does not fully protect the sofa. I have 2 on 2 loveseats in my kitchen, the room where the dogs spend a lot of time."
Review 2 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with purchase,
December 15, 2013
By: ChasNewlywed
"Purchased this dog friendly throw in blue, size medium on sale to protect my bed linens from dog hair and potential wet accidents. Have an older lab with recent health problems. He seems to love his blanket and happily sleeps on it at the foot of my bed. Throw is thick, soft, and seems well made. It does not quite cover the entire foot of my king size bed but is a good size for him (tall for lab, weighs 85 lbs). Would also fully cover his large dog bed and will plan to take when traveling. No issues w/ crinkling noises as others have said, stays in place well. Seems to be water-resistant as stated but have not fully tested. Appreciate Orvis selling products such as this made in USA."
Review 3 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Throw,
December 8, 2013
By: Bevie
from Tampa Bay
"This throw is really nice. It's reversible and covers our oversized chair perfectly. Previous reviews said it made noise but I don't notice any sound. The dogs and cat love it! I even ordered a second one."
Review 4 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality but not sure what to use it for,
December 6, 2013
By: LoveMyPups
from Claremont, CA
"This is not what I expected. I thought it would be a soft, padded sort of blanket for my golden retriever Molly to curl up on. It is very well made, very heavy but kind of stiff fabric without much padding. The fabric is soft but stiff and there is a heavy webbing border all around it-- I am thinking it would be a good blanket for her for the car. It IS obviously very good quality durable fabric."
Review 5 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not as good as previous purchase,
December 6, 2013
By: cap1
from ny
"bought this to use as a floor blanket to protect my rug. one side is stiff and scratchy and my puppy won't lay on that side."
Review 6 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cat Purrfect,
November 26, 2013
By: Brasstown
"These throws was just what we needed to protect two chairs from our three cats. The throws have good looks and functionality rolled into one. We have no problems sitting on the throw and don't notice the noise others have complained about."
Review 7 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money Well Spent,
November 11, 2013
By: DogLoverTimes2
from Norwich, NY
"The throw is on our bed, where the dogs like to sleep. It keeps the dog hair on the blanket and is warm for them to sleep on. Easy to clean and looks great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
November 11, 2013
By: DogLoverTimes2
from Norwich, NY
"This throw keeps all the dog hair and dirt off the couch! When company comes, I remove the throw and the couch looks new. My dogs like to scratch at the throw and you can't tell by looking at it. Looks nice too! Money well spent!"
Review 9 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
October 27, 2013
By: Sonnyboy
"Nice color but not at all comfortable to sit on because of the plastic. Makes a lot of noise because of the plastic. Going to return."
Review 10 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for some,
October 3, 2013
By: Hampshirehog
from Hampshire, UK
"Sadly have had to send this back, as not big enough for what we needed. We choose the Lotus and it was a lovely green. Understand what others have said about it being a little noisy/crunchy but would have put up with it if big enough."
Review 11 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 27, 2013
By: JandB
from Cotswolds, UK
"Very soft and comfortable dog throw. Highly recommend it, looks very good as cover for sofa where our dogs always curl up to sleep."
Review 12 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good blanket,
August 16, 2013
By: HEARTINSOUTH
from Indiana
"I have an older model of this same blanket and I like them both. This new one is a bit LOUD when the dogs walk on it or move around. This seems kind of strange for sounds to be coming from the blanket. Keeps my carpet clean."
Review 13 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great problem solver,
July 12, 2013
By: rudyann
"this is my 2nd dog throw. this is a very sturdy product and the colors are easy to blend in with most styles. the pets think they are comfortable and the solve the problems of scratches and dog hair on my leather furniture!"
Review 14 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
soso couch protector,
June 13, 2013
By: AurorasMom
"Sadly this protects the couch because now neither canine nor humine's want to sit on couch with throw. We ordered the large throw since our 50lb, 13YO dog likes to spread out on the couch and she drools. The throw is soft but the inside is crinkly and now our "chicken in a dog suit" won't come near the couch! It is heavy so not easy to remove for human couch use so now everyone sits on the floor...bright side; the cat likes having the couch to himself..."
Review 15 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does not keep bed dry,
May 23, 2013
By: Daisy22
"I have dogs that sometimes urinate in their sleep. I got this to put on my bed so they can continue to sleep there with me. It is very soft and flexible and comfortable. At first, it stopped wetness from coming through to the bed. But now, several months later (maybe 6?) it no longer prevents leaks. The bed has been soaked twice. Nice for keeping what's underneath free of hair, and for providing a comfy spot for the dog. Mine is not crinkly at all, but very soft and flexible and stays in place on the bed. However, it does not keep the bed dry at all."
Review 16 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just ordered more,
April 19, 2013
By: Lovesourdogs
from West Virginia
"We have two dogs in doggie hospice in our home right now and I'm constantly doing dog laundry. Having one of these protects the dog bed underneath so that all I have to wash is the throw, not the bed's cover. I just ordered two more. They are soft, the dogs love them and they work to keep the bed dry beneath."
Review 17 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought another throw,
March 29, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Tampa, FL
"I just bought the smaller size throw a few weeks ago to cover our labs bed. (Much easier to wash the throw than to have to take apart the bed and wash it all the time). I was going to suggest a slightly larger size of 72" x 54" on the smaller of the throws so it would cover the full bed. But when I loged on and saw the larger throw was on sale, I purchased it. We can still use the smaller throw for trips. My wife likes the feel of the throw that she said we can even use it for ourselves. I know our Lab loves it and sleeps like a baby at night."
Review 18 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a noisey blanket sounds like an oxymoron!,
March 5, 2013
By: Orfanella
from Boston, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Dog-Friendly Throw is pretty great, with one BIG exception. Since it has some sort of plastic lining on the interior - it makes noise when the dogs move around, especially disruptive in the middle of the night."
Review 19 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stone color is nothing like the photo...,
February 19, 2013
By: SpecialllK
"The stone color is absolutely nothing like the photo. It is much closer to Orvis' "light brown" in their other products. It has NO grey tones whatsoever and it definitely a tan/light brown. The blanket itself is just ok. It feels "crunchy" and not very pliable. I suppose it is because of the waterproof liner? It makes crunching sounds whenever my dog moves at all on it. Kind of annoying. It is soft to the touch but the actual blanket does not really "drape" on things since it is kind of stiff."
Review 20 for Dog-Friendly Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality beyond expectation,
February 19, 2013
By: Pawsup
from Utah
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The thickness of this blanket gives excellent protection from paws and it feels both soft and strong. I got this primarily for travel with my dogs to protect my passenger car seat and to give them a comfort of home while traveling. It works great for that AND my 10-year old Brittney loves it so much she won’t share with the labs. I fold it in half for her favorite sun spot. She recently had a leg injury and could not use her nest so this was a perfect substitute bed for her recovery. I plan on getting this in the large size for my labs."