Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tiger Maple Walking Stick

Support yourself with a unique and sturdy handcrafted tiger maple walking stick. Handsomely designed by a retired neurologist. Leather wrist strap provides extra security. Sized to fit any individual 5 to 7 feet tall. 100% solid tiger maple wood walking stick. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Review 1 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great staff,
August 30, 2015
By: DrStephen
from Fl
"This is the very hard to find full length staff with a beautiful finish and a rubber cup and a spike that is foldable for added traction. Far better than a walking stick or cane. This is a cross country walking aid."
Review 2 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Beautiful and So Functional,
June 11, 2015
By: mamie6637
from michigan
"I bought two of these sticks as an anniversary gift. I am 5'8" and my husband is 5'10'. They are the perfect height for us although I am sure they could work for taller people.
The tiger maple is especially beautiful but remarkable light weight and strong. Perfect for a hiking trip thru Scotland.
I really like the extra tip with the retractable spike in it. We may need to use that.
We plan to pack them both in a single ski bag for airline travel although you could put two of them in one of super sturdy shipping tubes they arrived in."
Review 3 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HIGH QUALITY,
May 18, 2015
By: JBryan
from Kennesaw GA
"Its hard to find all the features this walking stick includes, its looks, finish, handle design, substantial material used and its size make it a great choice."
Review 4 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking Stick!,
May 14, 2015
By: jjohns19
from Stuart, FL
"This is a very sturdy and solid walking stick, not to mention beautiful. I really enjoy using this stick when walking nature preserves."
Review 5 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
December 18, 2014
By: drns
"this is a well made product. nice weight/shape/size. I like the leather lanyard and the ice tip which folds out of the way. nice tiger maple features."
Review 6 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking,
November 25, 2014
By: Teak244
from Wilson, Wyoming
"What a great walk I had with the new stick. What a fine detailed piece of wood that it is . the rubber tip with alternate spike is great here in the snow and ice. Love it."
Review 7 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the perfect balance,
November 27, 2012
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"I have a collection of walking staffs for display and I use when hiking. When this walking staff arrived, I knew immediately it was my favorite. Not only is it functionally designed and quality made, but it is a piece of art worthy of display , but clearly much thought went into its design for practical use. It is light and perfectly balanced, as I discovered by using it on a walk. It swings in unison with each step and seems very natural. The collapsible spike is an added bonus and well engineered. i highly recommend this top quality walking staff."
Review 8 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional as well as beautiful,
November 12, 2012
By: Avvocato
from Ivy, VA
"After I received one of these sticks as a gift, I was so taken by it that I bought one for each of my elderly parents. The sticks are wonderful - they provide stability, security and safety, and encourage the user to walk upright instead of leaning over a cane. My mother uses hers constantly - even in the house it is never far from her side. My father uses his when he walks outdoors. They are safer and more confident with their walking sticks, and enjoy the comments of others about the style of the stick and the beautiful grain of the tiger maple."
Review 9 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Walking Companion,
September 11, 2012
By: bunuweld
from Prescott, Arizona
"I take frequent hikes on rocky and uneven terrain. The length of this walking stick is especially helpful on steep descents, where this "third leg" allows one to stay vertical more easily than with shorter sticks. This, combined with its lightness and sturdiness makes this walking stick great for my nature walks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An heirloom walking stick,
August 31, 2012
By: FataMorgana
from Charlottesville, Virginia
"This is the most beautifully crafted, ergonomic walking stick that I have ever owned. My grandmother abandons her walker and uses this stick to walk around my house. She likes it because she is completely upright, doesn't miss anything, and doesn't fall. My Dad was tottery after surgery and astonished the rehab people at how fast he recovered his balance using this stick instead of a shorter metal cane. I use it for hiking in rough forest terrain, where it easily makes the uneven terrain seem smooth, beats back the brush, alerts me to changes ahead. It also beats those crummy aluminum poles for getting up steep hills. We all like this stick for different reasons. We own three of them."
Review 11 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile,
August 31, 2012
By: wlbwlb
from Shadwell, VA
"This is a terrific hiking stick! Though the rubber tip is removable, I leave it on to protect the incredibly beautiful wood (the image on the website cannot do justice!); and retractable spike is useful on slippery paths.
Its versatility is how perfectly it works as a stabilizing cane for my 85-yr-old mom who finds that it helps her walk more erect than leaning on a cane did.
The lathe turned grip is comfortable and prevents slippage. Removable hand strap. Well designed and fine product."
Review 12 for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous!,
August 15, 2012
By: ElenaG
from Boston, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use my walking stick summer to winter for casual walking and hiking. It feels sturdy in my hand which is helpful for climbing and descending. It has a retractable spike in the rubber tip that is great to use in the winter and on slippery surfaces. I would highly recommend this as a fantastic gift for active hikers as well as seniors who prefer something over the cane. It's is beautifully made: you will love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tiger Maple Walking Stick
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2