Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Dog-Friendly Sham

A lightweight, breathable sham with a microfiber twill surfacethat resists both claws and moisture from “accidents.” Waterresistant membrane. Polyester top layer/pure cotton lining. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.568 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
29 of 44(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog-Friendly Sham
Review 1 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't hold up to the real world,
February 5, 2014
By: Bryantp
from Denver
"I kept putting off writing this review...I really love Orvis but this is a flawed product. First, the good: it protects your bed and is attractive. Now the problems: The copy says that it's washable. It is. However, it isn't cannot be put in the dryer. How useful is that? Once we had it, we tried to make it work by drying on gentle but even that ruined the "stuffing" or waterproof liner between the layers. Eventually this plastic layer knots up, making huge lumps in the cover. Finally, we cut it open and removed the liner, sewing it back. It's still very difficult to dry and knots up. The short story - if you don't need to wash and dry it, it's fine. But, if you didn't need to wash and dry it, you wouldn't need it. Really, it's not good product."
Review 2 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy sleepy time dog,
January 31, 2014
By: Seashore
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts
"We are quit satisfied with the quality and appearance of the cover. Our yellow lab seems happy too!
The cover does not attract her shedding hair as much as our previous cover. The hair doesn't seem to stick to the fabric .
Orvis dog products are superior to the mail order catalogs that arrive in our mail."
Review 3 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Bed Cover,
January 31, 2014
By: swede55
"This dog-friendly coverlet is awesome. My 105 pound dog who thinks my bed is his bed always makes a nest out of the covers and has torn up many sheets and quilts doing so. This cover has a backing that ensures it stays in place. My dog tried to ball it up but once he realized that didn't work he settled right in and seems to find it very comfortable I highly recommend this product.."
Review 4 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased,
January 1, 2014
By: Shopper31
from Pennsylvania
"Picture reflects true color of grey, rather than "Blue" as stated. I purchased purposely for Grey and color was what I wanted. Stays on bed well; minor adjustment each morning after two dogs leap off for their morning walk."
Review 5 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A little skimpy,
December 31, 2013
By: Whaley
from Plainfield, NJ
"Wepreviously owned one of these coverlet and, despite washing, it stained and smelled. The new one seems more substantial, but the size is a little skimpy and it's hard to keep it in place."
Review 6 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
September 29, 2013
By: carolet64
from Sadorus, IL
"I purchased this coverlet at the beginning of the summer, and redecorated my bedroom around it. I discovered this week, that the stitching is coming undone around the piping on one side, so I now have a good size hole in 2 places. My lab does sleep with me, but she does not scratch at the coverlet, so I don't understand why the stitches have pulled free. I have always been impressed with quality of items I have purchased from Orvis, so was really disappointed when my new coverlet started to fall apart after such a short time of use"
Review 7 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
September 29, 2013
By: carolet64
from Sadorus, IL
"I purchased this product early this summer, and was so excited when got it....I redecorated my bedroom around this coverlet.......but I noticed this week that the stitching is coming undone on one side of the piping. My lab does sleep with me, but she doesn't dig at the coverlet, so I don' understand why it is coming apart. I've always been impressed with the quality of the items I've purchased from Orvis, but this one is a big disappointment"
Review 8 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog-Friendly Coverlet,
September 9, 2013
By: Candlewick
from Arlington, TX
"It's a good product but the blue in the picture is misleading. It isn't a pretty light blue. It's a very very dark navy blue that almost looks gray. At first I wanted to return it, and then decided I didn't want to deal with all the repacking. When I have company come over I just hide it in the closet. I am very disappointed about how this color is portrayed. This is my first on line purchase from Orvis and will use a lot more caution on my next purchase."
Review 9 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
September 3, 2013
By: Louvre44
from Wisconsin
"I like the heft of the blanket. Functional, yet attractive. Bought one for the bed and one for futon..twin size fit double bed and futon's seat and back."
Review 10 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product,
August 7, 2013
By: KCC04
"Well made....color a bit grey but seems very durable. Excellent quality"
Review 11 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very heavy fabric,
July 27, 2013
By: NCGlo
from Huntersville, NC
"The fabric of this toss cover was a much heavier weave than I anticipated. I did not like the look or feel of it at all so I returned it."
Review 12 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worked One Time,
May 26, 2013
By: lalockeye
from Louisiana
"The first time our cat had a hair all this cover worked perfectly and I sent in a good review. Then we washed it according to the instructions. The next hair all soaked through to the comforter. Then we washed the coverlet again ( according to the instructions) and one of the seams ripped. Now it is just acts as another layer on the bed there is no protection left. Last wash the inner membrane tore and knotted up."
Review 13 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Dogproof Bed Cover,
May 23, 2013
By: DaneLucysMom
from TN
"I purchased this about 2 years ago for our King bed and Great Dane Lucy. It keeps her little spiky hair from getting on the sheets and comforter. Between washings I vacuum it when vacuuming the floors. Lucy has had "accidents" during the night a few times and I just wash and dry the cover for easy clean up. The color (lotus) is still as vibrant as when new. Lucy loves sleeping on it during the day with her toys. We definitely use a lighter comforter because as the cover keeps any moisture away from the sheets it also keeps our body heat under the cover (my only criticism)."
Review 14 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy,
May 20, 2013
By: momofsunshine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I thought it was a bit pricey when first purchased, however, it washes great and holds up with both the cat and dog clawing, so it is well worth it. My friend babysat my dog and she had ruined his bedspread the time before, well he used it and it worked for him too. I'd recommend it out of the box. Will see how long it lasts. Would like a few more color choices."
Review 15 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 14, 2013
By: tanar
"Great weight and looks sharp. It really protects the bedding."
Review 16 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great improvement !!,
May 13, 2013
By: Sunshinesmile
"This coverlet is a life saver for me..
My dogs love curling up on the bed with me at night but I have a springer with a leakage problem every once in a while. This coverlet looks classy and yet it keeps the bedding dry. I had purchased the same product a few years ago and you have made some fabulous improvements. It's much lighter and you don't have the problem cotton underlining anymore.
Love the stone color!!
"
Review 17 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had Potential,
May 11, 2013
By: gkraft4
from Austin, TX
"The top microfiber material is nice; however, after washing the top and bottom layers don't square up and there is a loose elastic band inside."
Review 18 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stiff unpleasant feel,
May 9, 2013
By: bigdogadopter
from Burlington, VT
"Orvis makes the best dog beds ever and I have bought 3 of them so I figured this product would be as good. Unfortunately I found the the fabric oddly stiff, like a tarp and the top surface shifted all the time from the underside which was quite soft. My ver large St. Bernard/Golden mix pup jumps on the bed when I'm not home but does not sleep on it. It seemed that something was not right with the way the whole coverlet was designed and constructed. I also ordered 2 shams which were so huge, I had no pillows big enough to fit and sent them back, but I did keep the coverlet, hoping it might get better with use."
Review 19 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Water Resistant!,
April 30, 2013
By: JGrel
"I bought this blanket because I have an older medium sized dog with ocassional incontinence. It does NOT protect my bedding and mattress from "accidents" as it claims to. Total waste of money!"
Review 20 for Dog-Friendly Sham
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bed Covers a Must!,
April 22, 2013
By: LabLover87
from Central, NJ
"I have 2 Labs who love to get wet and dirty and also love to sleep on my bed. I got tired of washing my bedding all the time and finally got this nice cover. It is perfect! Keeps the dirt and wet off my bedding and the pups are happy as they still get the comfort of the bed all day!"