Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Leather Martingale Dog Collar

All the benefits of a traditional Martingale dog collar with the added beauty of vegetable-tanned English bridle leather and solid-brass hardware. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale dog collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. Please note: Martingale collars are for use when walking your dog only, and are not recommended for everyday wear or for tying out your dog. Made in USA.Even sizes 16"-26".
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Review 1 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome, Quality & Functional,
December 23, 2013
By: Englishpointerz
from Vestal, NY
"Handsome and Functional! Quality made with substantial brass hardware (D-rings, buckle, etc.) and riveted reinforcement. I feel it is an elegant Martingale that doesn't sacrifice functionality in exchange for good looks. We received compliments on this collar while in the waiting room of our veterinarian."
Review 2 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicest collar ever,
December 19, 2013
By: janetleigh
from brighton , mi
"this is a very high quality collar, excellent for walks, tiny little choke effect, but very little, couldn't hurt dog with it, glad I bought it."
Review 3 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great collar @ great price !,
December 17, 2013
By: K9tcher
from NH
"The collar is nice leather & well made. The smaller sizes would be better with narrower width & buckles like the martingale insert.
Can't beat the quality, function and price for this dog collar.
"
Review 4 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice collar but sizing wrong,
November 5, 2013
By: Kathrynb
from Southampton, UK
"I brought this collar because it looked beautiful in the picture - however I wish I'd read the reviews properly first. As others have commented, the size guide is wrong and the collar only fits as I have it on the last hole. Unfortunately the larger sizes were out of stock. Apart from the size problems, the collar is of good quality and people have commented how nice it looks"
Review 5 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Quality,
October 14, 2013
By: LabloverG
from Bridgwater
"Another quality product from Orvis as we have come to expect. Only criticism is that would have got 5 stars had the leather been a little softer. I anticipate it will soften with use. It looks very smart."
Review 6 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Collar,
October 9, 2013
By: Lila625
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This collar is beautiful - looks magnificent on our husky/samoyed mix, Kai. Rich brown leather and solid brass hardware make a real statement. Definitely order a size at least 2 inches larger. Otherwise, highly recommend!!"
Review 7 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bentley Loves Her New Dog Collar,
October 7, 2013
By: CocoaBentely
"My name is Bentley, I am 7 months old, and I am a Labrador Retriever. My people purchased a new leather collar for me and I really feel all grown-up when wearing it. My lady likes it as it is sturdy because I sometimes get excited and pull pretty hard; but when she puts a gentle tug on it, I know that I need to settle down. It also matches me because I am chocolate brown and so is my new collar."
Review 8 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 19, 2013
By: SeanBo
from Jacksonville, FL
"I originally bought this collar for the looks. Turns out that it also has a little choke feature in it if tugged very hard. This is especially good for my German Shepard. I was looking for something that had a professional look and that's what I got along with the strain feature. Thanks!"
Review 9 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best collar ever,
September 4, 2013
By: nerodog
from sarasota, fl
"i have never purchased a collar that so many people have complimented me on. this is a very high quality leather collar. it looks gorgious on my dog. very expensive looking, thick and strong leather, yet very soft. runs small! i may have to purchase another for a spare. a lot of collar for the money. i have paid double for much less quality!!!"
Review 10 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quality,
August 27, 2013
By: Deecy
from Annapolis, MD
"This collar is beautiful. I am glad that I read other reviews because I "upped" the size as suggested. A 22" fits my German Shepherd dog perfectly."
Review 11 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
August 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Tallahassee, FL
"What great leather! I am super happy with the collar especially since it was also a fair price. I hope to get many years of use from it. Highly recommended! (order a size up!)"
Review 12 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality, Directions Need Update,
July 26, 2013
By: DocMom2Four
from Midwest
"The quality seems excellent and this collar is just what we needed for secure but safe (for the dog) control of our powerful Ridgeback. But, like many other buyers, I had to return the first collar. I followed the sizing directions and ordered a size 18. I had to return it for a size 22! The printed size is for the length of the collar from end to end of the leather (not the first buckling hole), but the measurement you take is for the collar in its buckled length. You need to add 4 inches to the measurement behind the dog's ears. My only disappointment is that Orvis hasn't fixed the sizing directions after so many people have brought this to their attention. They should also print the buckled collar length! That's the reason for 4 stars instead of 5."
Review 13 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality Collar,
June 30, 2013
By: GoldenLady
from Boise, ID
"I followed the review and added 4" to the measurement of the neck behind the ears of my dog to get the correct size. It fits great and looks fabulous! Even my dog trainer asked where I purchased it! Great quality and doesn't stain or damage the coat of my English Cream Golden Retriever. It did take several days to soften the leather."
Review 14 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing Problem,
June 12, 2013
By: TrailSteward
from Maine
"You must add 4 inches to the measure around the neck behind the ears for the closed position, because the manufacturer is incorrectly measuring the collar in the OPEN position, as well as not allowing a minimum 2" extra measure needed to buckle the collar! Hence, an 18" measure on the dog becomes a 22" collar. Very nice collar once it actually fits!"
Review 15 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Quality,
March 11, 2013
By: TootsJack
from Glenside PA
"Do not go by the instructions on ordering the size. I had to return both collars for the next larger size. After measuring the neck you need to add 2"! These look great. We attached brass nameplates....look classy."
Review 16 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice looking,
November 29, 2012
By: GSophie
"Nice looking and well made (so far - let's see how it fares the test of time). Reasonably priced.
Downside is that the metal buckle and loops lose the "golden" paint on the leather. I assumed it was brass but probably not as I don't think brass loses its color on leather.
I would like something solid and simple and functional without gold color to make it look prettier.
If it's functional, it's usually beautiful - see equestrian equipment.
"
Review 17 for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
choose much bigger size,
November 14, 2012
By: mbkennedy
from Pasadena, CA
"I chose the collar size based on a recommendation of 2 inches larger than the measurement around the top of my dogs neck (behind his ears). The size 18 collar is much too small, partly because it is stiff. I will have to return it for two sizes larger because I want to use the tighter fastener holes to have room for him to grow."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Leather Martingale Dog Collar
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1