Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Danish Legacy Sweater

A true Danish tradition, this classic shawl collar sweater design has kept Scandinavian hunters warm for over 100 years. Manufactured in Denmark by the hunting experts at Laksen, no detail of the original pattern has been overlooked. Extremely dense weave creates ample insulation and increases durability. Shawl collar. In olive green. 100% new wool. Gentle wool wash. Do not tumble dry. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danish Legacy Sweater
Review 1 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love sweaters,
January 15, 2014
By: orangesleeves
from Kansas
"The quality and fit of this sweater is outstanding. I particularly like the weave around the bottom of the sweater and the cuffs. Good weight and real warmth."
Review 2 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect sweater,
January 14, 2014
By: izzierambo
from Old Church, VA
"I like this sweater enough to own and wear two of them. In Virginia, in winter when I hunt or shoot, heavy sweaters are my best line of defense against cold. If only they had put a wind barrier lining in it, I could forgo an exterior hard-shell layer of clothing. Maybe the wind doesn't blow in Denmark?"
Review 3 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
December 12, 2013
By: Workhorse
from New Jersey
"Excellent quality construction and materials. Unfortunately, the body of the sweater is not as sized. I usually have additional room in a 2XL. This sweater fit at best like an XL. In addition the body is about 3"-4" too short. To be honest, I am not sure who this sweater would fit. I had to return the sweater. Overall very disappointing particularly given the guality of construction and materials. Until the sizing issues are resolved, I cannot recommend this product to a friend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School in All the Right Ways,
November 26, 2013
By: HorseandWriter
from Beaverton, OR
"By far one of the best products I've purchased in a long while -- the hand and weight of the knit, color, fit and construction are all exceptional. This is a level of quality that delivers a long-lived favorite. "Made in Denmark" pleases me almost as much as "Made in the USA." I only wish I could find more items made this well."
Review 5 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice sweater but...,
February 4, 2013
By: jeff1swampscott
from Boston, MA
"Great material, nice looking but fit just not right. Sleeves too long."
Review 6 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor fit in XXL,
January 24, 2013
By: labrat
from Hatfield Pa.
"Long in the sleeves, big in the chest and short in the torso. Returned for refund.If your built like an ape this over-priced sweater might work for you."
Review 7 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice,
January 3, 2013
By: fishercat
"A very good and warm sweater. Was a bit short in the XL, the XXL was a good length and not too much wider in the body."
Review 8 for Danish Legacy Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth & Comfort,
December 29, 2012
By: casvop6
from Pinehurst, NC
"Extremely warm and comfortable sweater; very high quality and wears great. Can't go wrong."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Danish Legacy Sweater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1