Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater

Layer this sweater under a vest or jacket, or wear it on its own. But no matter how you choose to wear it, the waterproof mesh lining ensures you'll stay warm, dry, and comfortable. Pure lambswool. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Review 1 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product - Fast Shipping,
May 29, 2013
By: JP44
from Georgia
"Excellent Barbour quality. Does have a trim fit. Nice alternative to a quilted jacket or Fleece"
Review 2 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too Tight in the sleeves,
May 29, 2013
By: NewbieCustomer
from Canada
"I am 5'7, 185 lbs, 40 short jacket, 16 collar shirt with a sleeve length of 33.
I ordered this sweater in large and there was a problem with fit. Specifically, it was extremely tight fitting in the sleeve/wrist area.
In all other respects it fit very well. I normally take a medium sweater, but this runs small.
In terms of quality, it is very good. Just not a good fit for me."
Review 3 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 25, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I'd recommend getting this as opposed to a liner, it is both warmer as it covers the arms and is pretty nice to wear on its own. I found the sizing to be pretty true, I am a 40R/5'11"/175 lbs and the medium fits well (ordered both the medium and large because, well, it is a Barbour, and ended up sending the large back)."
Review 4 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros and cons for Summit Zip Sweathr,
April 29, 2013
By: chaiwallahbob
from C Spring Colo
"I have owned Barbour since 1971 and has preformed wonderful
The sweater is a different story
After a few wearings the pockett started to separated from the body of sweater both at the top and bottom
Also the pockets are not deded; enough and the zipper could b e longer
also lacking is a inner pocketfor s tall,long bi-fol wallet that would thsr has a button top closer
"
Review 5 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok,
March 8, 2013
By: steve6006
from chicago
"This is a pretty cool sweater (mine is that brown one with little dots)
I would have chosen a different lining instead of the predictable and boring preppy plaid. Maybe stripes inside or a soft rich flannel plaid."
Review 6 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Barbour item in my Outdoor Gear,
January 21, 2013
By: InfoMgmtExec
from Bellevue, WA
"This is an interesting item from Barbour. A sweater with an insulated line. A great replacement for my quilted vest and good compliment to my Bedale coat to keep me warmer without too many layers. it is snug fitting, but grows on you quickly. Thanks Barbour."
Review 7 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam's charcoal sweater jacket,
January 1, 2013
By: lancerette
from Iowa City, IA
"My son's very happy with this garment, and I'm not saying that because I want to win the prize. Susan of Iowa City"
Review 8 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for southern winters,
December 28, 2012
By: gunsndogs
from Texas
"Looks sharp & fits close to the body yet doesn't feel constricting at all. Comfortable down to about 35 F but not too warm to wear inside.
Makes an excellent liner to a Barbour coat when it drops below freezing.
Very versatile in that it looks distinguished enough for business but rustic enough for a training day w/ the dogs."
Review 9 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST SWEATER,
December 28, 2012
By: Southernhunter
from Louisiana
"This is simplistic warmth for any southern damp wintery days or function. They have really hit the nail on the head with this one. True to size. The liner is the best."
Review 10 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product, but...,
December 8, 2012
By: freddd
from Maryland, USA
"This basically seems to be a very nice, utilitarian product, which I have purchased to wear under a coat and around the flat during a Northern European winter. The problem is that the first one delivered to me was poorly manufactured. Somehow, the lining of the right sleeve had been improperly sewn into the cuff, so that it took a gargantuan effort to extend one's hand through the sleeve and out into the open. This was not expected from a Barbour product, but perhaps it is simply that I am used to their quality standards from the days when their products were made in England. Anyway, Orvis made things right very quickly, by sending a replacement that appears to be better-made. At least I can get my arm through the sleeve on the new one!"
Review 11 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
sadly very tight,
December 4, 2012
By: LivDip
from New York, NY
"Love Orivs, but this sweater is very very tight for a XL. Quality is lovely though."
Review 12 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 3, 2012
By: 09876
"The construction of this produce is excellent. It should be noted that this sweater is true size (not vanity sized). I returned the original purchase for the next size up . Also the zipper is a left-handed zipper which is common of English clothing but may seem odd to America consumers probably familiar with right handed zippers."
Review 13 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
zipper on wrong side,
November 28, 2012
By: pcolakid
from pensacola FL
"seemed to be small for a large. zipper on wrong side like a womens jacket. easy return process. love most items my first return in years."
Review 14 for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barbour,
November 20, 2012
By: dlbco
from Cleveland Ohio
"I wear a large or Xl. With this sweater a xl did not fit. It was disappointing. As a long time Orvis customerthe return went flawless. Interesting that the Orvis sweater that is similar is 1/3 the cost and fit perfectly in xl . Also stands up to the elements"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Barbour Summit Zip Thru Sweater
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2