Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sharptail Hunting Pants

When normal brush pants aren't enough. The Sharptail Pants are a heavy duty brush pant designed to handle the toughest bull thorns, cactus, and wild rose thorns. Waxed polyester facing over a cotton canvas body. Covered side zips on the legs and lined in nylon for easy on-and-off over boots. Articulated knees eliminate binding when kneeling or stepping over logs and deadfalls. Belt loops, interior suspender buttons, and a high rise back. In tan/brown. Shell is cotton. Facing and lining are polyester. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Available in 30" and 32" inseams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Review 1 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great upland pants,
December 17, 2014
By: John1Hydro
from Fort Collins, CO
"These are the best upland pants I have veer owned. They are generously cut and comfortable to wear. They handle even the heaviest cover well. The stretch in the waist and the boot zippers are a nice feature and in spite of the inner lining, they do not seem to be too hot. Finally, they also look very good. There's a pocket for a knife, but a small knife pocket (like you have in jeans) would be a welcome addition. Great pants - I bought a second pair already because I like them that much."
Review 2 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable and functional,
December 2, 2014
By: Notes
"Received these hunting pants two weeks ago and have had two Upland Game day hunts in them. With temperatures in the single digits one day and high teens the other, the pants easily accommodated thermals underneath without limiting my mobility whether I was climbing over downed branches, rock walls or thick brush."
Review 3 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost Perfect,
November 24, 2014
By: eaglerock
from Butler, PA
"I am a firm believer in the Missouri Breaks pant and was looking for a pant for more severe weather. Orvis nailed this one on the head. The pant is roomy, well made and has all the features I was looking for. If the facing were 1000 denier and it was available with a Gore Tex lining it would be better than perfect.
Allow for a bit of shrinkage when washing and go hit the briar patches."
Review 4 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Upland Pants,
November 4, 2014
By: uplandhuntertommyB
from Memphis, TN
"I have been pheasant hunting in SD and ND for over 10 years. Found some fields hunted had thrones and briars that would penetrate the uplands pants I have worn for years. I purchased from Orvis the Sharptail Field Pants after reading wonderful reviews on them. Not only did they fit wonderful, I was as sharp as any hunter in our group. To the point: Our first morning the temperature was in the teens and warmed to the low 30's. I wore patagonia under garments with the Sharptail pants. Never ever did I even feel anything but warmth on my legs. Usually I am pulling my pants up from time to time. There is a rubber belt sewn inside just lower than the belt line that maintained the level I wear my pants. Found the Sharptails extremely warm (as in the reviews), light weight and comfortable. You as a hunter always looking to see what everyone else is wearing. Well when the big dogs come off the porch, they will be looking at you. The second day the winds were in excess of 25 miles an hours, dust filled my Browning Gold so I used an oil packet to clean the bolt and got some oil on both legs of my pants. Spray and wash and the they look just like new. Trust Orvis in the Sharptail Pants, they are as fine as you can ever want. Twelve of us from Memphis harvested an even 103 pheasants in three days while in Aberdeen, SD."
Review 5 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
October 14, 2014
By: HHF3
from Austin, TX
"These pants are an incredibly comfortable and durable product. Seemed large in the waist right out of the package but after washing was true ot size. Have worn them in multiple types of cover and provided great protection."
Review 6 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants,
March 26, 2014
By: jsdkms
from PA
"I bought these pant based on the reviews and have not been disappointed! Great quality and perfect weight for 30-50 degree days.
The only nit I have is that the brush resistant fabric is a little loose on the bottom of the legs and creases.
"
Review 7 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
March 12, 2014
By: jsdkms
"I own Filson and UA field pants and I can say that these are better pants that both those makes! True to size and wash great!"
Review 8 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Hunting pants,
February 18, 2014
By: BigCampy13
from Southern California
"The cut is wonderful, along with the high rise in the back, the snaps for your boots is pure genius. Comfortable and waterproof and tough. If and when they wear out, Im getting somemore. Articulated knee makes crashing through the briars no problem to keep your balance."
Review 9 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the field,
February 11, 2014
By: Pedro6
from Hasting, MN
"Excellent hunting pants for various field conditions, with dsurable fabric. Allows for flexable movement"
Review 10 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many Seasons,
February 8, 2014
By: GordonsForever
"I recently purchased the Sharptail Hunting Pants. The fit is great, I like the zipper bottoms, and it is clear from the quality that the pants will last many seasons."
Review 11 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great field pants,
January 27, 2014
By: JPT2000
from PVB, FL
"Size was dead on and the quality is top notch. If you need field pants, you found them !"
Review 12 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upland Hunt Trousers,
January 22, 2014
By: mcraigp
from South Carolina
"Primary use of these pants are under my light weight waders. Good insulation for those cold days & colder water. Also good for those upland colder days when brambles & snags would defeat regular clothes."
Review 13 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the woods,
January 14, 2014
By: pepl
from Michigan
"I love these pants, there are comfortable and easy for move around in."
Review 14 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
December 18, 2013
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I've had a few upland pants over the years and none that fit as well as these. They're not too baggy, but not too trim so they don't get caught in the brush on the sides of the trail but they also don't bind. The gusseted crotch and articulated knees are helpful here as well. They're a lot lighter than any of my older brush pants, so I was skeptical, but they've proven their worth both in pheasant fields in Illinois and bear country in Virginia. The deep pockets are great and the shirt-keeper waist certainly gets the job done. I will note, though, that after about 15 wearings, I developed a hole in the lining where the panels meet at the crotch. This was easily rectified with some needle and thread, but it seems like some bar tacks could have prevented it all together."
Review 15 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 14, 2013
By: WingmanAlberta
from Alberta canada
"Best hunting pants ever. I do a lot of sharptail...Hun and pheasant hunting on the prairie...in the coolies and in rose thorns and these are the best ever. They are comfortable warm and non binding. Buying them for my buddy for Christmas.....sooo good."
Review 16 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bird hunting pants,
October 31, 2013
By: leebeau18
from Chickamauga, GA
"Well put together. Very comfortable and very dry in a wet grass."
Review 17 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite pants,
October 22, 2013
By: Nastynick
from Wisconsin
"I have several hunting pants from Orvis and these are by far my favorite. They're light, very comfortable and stylish. I only give them 4 stores because I haven't had then long enough to attest to durability. Though I look forward to many great years with these pants."
Review 18 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleasantly suprised,
August 20, 2013
By: eyesbyday
from Conway, AR
"Love the fit of these pants. As name suggests, back of pants ride higher for a snug, comfortable fit. Very high quality materials and real comfortable to wear. I actually bought the Upland briar pants from Germany and returned them because I like these better. Haven't field tested these yet, but dove season is fast approaching."
Review 19 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pants,
March 4, 2013
By: mikeepitt5
from Pittsburgh PA
"I purchased these after hunting season. I normally wear 34x30 carpenter jeans, but the 34x30 in this pant was a little tight in the legs, especially near the bottom. The 36X30 fit nice and loose with room for thermals under if necessary, even after shrinking a bit after washing. I would recommend ordering one size up from normal.
Quality of the pants is excellent. The zippers are nice, and the pants seem very well made. I expect them to hold up for a few years of rough grouse hunting. I would've given them 5 stars, but I haven't had the chance to wear them in anything really nasty yet."
Review 20 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
button,
February 13, 2013
By: weav
"only one back suspender button, very disappionting from you"