Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sharptail Hunting Pants

When normal brush pants aren't enough. The Sharptail Pants are a heavy duty brush pant designed to handle the toughest bull thorns, cactus, and wild rose thorns. Waxed polyester facing over a cotton canvas body. Covered side zips on the legs and lined in nylon for easy on-and-off over boots. Articulated knees eliminate binding when kneeling or stepping over logs and deadfalls. Belt loops, interior suspender buttons, and a high rise back. In tan/brown. Shell is cotton. Facing and lining are polyester. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Available in 30" and 32" inseams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Review 1 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants,
March 26, 2014
By: jsdkms
from PA
"I bought these pant based on the reviews and have not been disappointed! Great quality and perfect weight for 30-50 degree days.
The only nit I have is that the brush resistant fabric is a little loose on the bottom of the legs and creases.
"
Review 2 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
March 12, 2014
By: jsdkms
"I own Filson and UA field pants and I can say that these are better pants that both those makes! True to size and wash great!"
Review 3 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Hunting pants,
February 18, 2014
By: BigCampy13
from Southern California
"The cut is wonderful, along with the high rise in the back, the snaps for your boots is pure genius. Comfortable and waterproof and tough. If and when they wear out, Im getting somemore. Articulated knee makes crashing through the briars no problem to keep your balance."
Review 4 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the field,
February 11, 2014
By: Pedro6
from Hasting, MN
"Excellent hunting pants for various field conditions, with dsurable fabric. Allows for flexable movement"
Review 5 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many Seasons,
February 8, 2014
By: GordonsForever
"I recently purchased the Sharptail Hunting Pants. The fit is great, I like the zipper bottoms, and it is clear from the quality that the pants will last many seasons."
Review 6 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great field pants,
January 27, 2014
By: JPT2000
from PVB, FL
"Size was dead on and the quality is top notch. If you need field pants, you found them !"
Review 7 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upland Hunt Trousers,
January 22, 2014
By: mcraigp
from South Carolina
"Primary use of these pants are under my light weight waders. Good insulation for those cold days & colder water. Also good for those upland colder days when brambles & snags would defeat regular clothes."
Review 8 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the woods,
January 14, 2014
By: pepl
from Michigan
"I love these pants, there are comfortable and easy for move around in."
Review 9 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
December 18, 2013
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I've had a few upland pants over the years and none that fit as well as these. They're not too baggy, but not too trim so they don't get caught in the brush on the sides of the trail but they also don't bind. The gusseted crotch and articulated knees are helpful here as well. They're a lot lighter than any of my older brush pants, so I was skeptical, but they've proven their worth both in pheasant fields in Illinois and bear country in Virginia. The deep pockets are great and the shirt-keeper waist certainly gets the job done. I will note, though, that after about 15 wearings, I developed a hole in the lining where the panels meet at the crotch. This was easily rectified with some needle and thread, but it seems like some bar tacks could have prevented it all together."
Review 10 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 14, 2013
By: WingmanAlberta
from Alberta canada
"Best hunting pants ever. I do a lot of sharptail...Hun and pheasant hunting on the prairie...in the coolies and in rose thorns and these are the best ever. They are comfortable warm and non binding. Buying them for my buddy for Christmas.....sooo good."
Review 11 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bird hunting pants,
October 31, 2013
By: leebeau18
from Chickamauga, GA
"Well put together. Very comfortable and very dry in a wet grass."
Review 12 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite pants,
October 22, 2013
By: Nastynick
from Wisconsin
"I have several hunting pants from Orvis and these are by far my favorite. They're light, very comfortable and stylish. I only give them 4 stores because I haven't had then long enough to attest to durability. Though I look forward to many great years with these pants."
Review 13 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleasantly suprised,
August 20, 2013
By: eyesbyday
from Conway, AR
"Love the fit of these pants. As name suggests, back of pants ride higher for a snug, comfortable fit. Very high quality materials and real comfortable to wear. I actually bought the Upland briar pants from Germany and returned them because I like these better. Haven't field tested these yet, but dove season is fast approaching."
Review 14 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pants,
March 4, 2013
By: mikeepitt5
from Pittsburgh PA
"I purchased these after hunting season. I normally wear 34x30 carpenter jeans, but the 34x30 in this pant was a little tight in the legs, especially near the bottom. The 36X30 fit nice and loose with room for thermals under if necessary, even after shrinking a bit after washing. I would recommend ordering one size up from normal.
Quality of the pants is excellent. The zippers are nice, and the pants seem very well made. I expect them to hold up for a few years of rough grouse hunting. I would've given them 5 stars, but I haven't had the chance to wear them in anything really nasty yet."
Review 15 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
button,
February 13, 2013
By: weav
"only one back suspender button, very disappionting from you"
Review 16 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not what i expected,
February 2, 2013
By: JoePa
from pennsylvania
"i have had the pants for about a month- for 159$ i figured this was a solid pair of pants that would last for years and the zippers on the sides were key being that i wear muck boots but dont like to tuck my pants- my first experience with these pants was great however i was hunting a pheasant farm in knee high grass no thorns- today we decided to hunt the state game lands that border the pheasant farms fields-these pants are advertised as being able to handle the toughest thorns- im going to b real- i went home with cuts all over my legs from thorns and when i was showering i pulled a thorn out of the skin above my knee- not to mention the facing on these pants tore in numerous locations- the representative was very nice and i will b getting a full refund so i guess its all good..but still for how they are advertised and also the price i would have expected more from these pants"
Review 17 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best,
January 12, 2013
By: DolceVita
from San Diego, California
"Best upland hunting pant ; design, fit, and materials perfect ; durable; excellent value."
Review 18 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A solid piece of gear...,
December 28, 2012
By: PinePlains
from Mollbtook, NY
"The pants are warm, well-made, and fit great. Perfect for a day in the field. Roomy enough for a base layer, yet they fit true to size."
Review 19 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
October 30, 2012
By: Rhindo
from Kansas City
"Mid weight upland hunting pant, Pros:
1. Lined, silky no chaffing, seem to be warm
2. Zip Bottoms
3. Articulated knees
4. rubber around waist to keep shirt in
Can't wait to try them in South Dakota next week!
"
Review 20 for Sharptail Hunting Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built,
August 25, 2012
By: Wirehair1
from South Carolina Lowcountry
"I had the pleasure of field testing the prototype model last year.
I first noticed how well they fit, elastic in the waist makes them very comfortable. I wore them in heavy cover with no punctures from thorns or briars. Water proofing worked as it should. Leg zippers help at the end of the day.
The only thing I would change is the facing, it needs to go all the way up the front of the pants.
Nice job guys!"