Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill

Paws down, the toughest and softest ToughChew® fabric we've ever created. Our original ToughChew chew-resistant dog bed was tough. This bed is even tougher. Developed exclusively by Orvis, these dog beds are constructed with two layers for the ultimate in chew protection, and feature an outer fabric engineered in a full ripstop weave from incredibly tough and durable 1,000-denier nylon. The zipper is constructed of solid brass for added strength and durability. As tough as these beds are, they're also luxuriously soft, with a silky nylon microfiber surface that your dog will love. ToughChew chew-resistant dog beds stand up to even the most persistent chewers. If your dog can chew through one of these durable dog beds, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.263 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
9
5 of 19(26%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Review 1 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Give it a Chance!,
August 5, 2014
By: TeacherDeb
"At first, our 27 pound pug ignored this bed. As other reviewers have reported, it took about a month for him to snuggle up to it. Now, it's the only place you can find him! He put holes in his last bed in a few weeks, but we have had this bed three months, and it still looks perfect. I did not notice any noises from this bed as other reviewers have reported."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't seem a ToughChew,
July 1, 2014
By: jenniferl
"I've ordered many ToughChew beds over the years, but my recent order of 3 of these beds was disappointing. My dogs chewed through all 3 within a matter of 30 minutes to 2 hours! These were not the same great quality beds I typically receive from the ToughChew line. I'll be reordering the ToughChew with the canvas fabric.
Orvis, as usual, gave me wonderful customer service by issuing a full refund and offering free shipping on my reorder of new beds. The customer service at Orvis is top of the line and I'll be a customer for life."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Eh...,
March 7, 2014
By: PatrickLuisandDixie
from Houston, TX
"I was very excited to order this bed for Milo- He is a 2 year old Jack Russell who likes to chew. The first bed arrived and after a wee bit of coaxing, Milo got on it. He liked it and I was happy. I came home a couple of days later and Milo had chewed 8 holes through the cover. So I called an Orvis sent me another cover. I put the new one on and all was good for a couple of weeks. Then I came home and there were 3 holes in the new bed. I called Orvis and asked if there was a tougher ""Tough Chew". The representative was so helpful. She refunded the cost of the bed to my card. Such great service. Always a pleasure doing business with Orvis."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sad,
January 18, 2014
By: Jezy
"I was so disappointed in the new fabric for the tough chew bed. I have purchased Orvis beds for four different dogs over the last 14 years and each and every dog has loved their bed.
The fabric on this bed makes a ton of noise when the dog moves around. Our dog has chosen to lay on a blanket next to the bed over laying on the bed. I will be returning this and buying another bed."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed in the "New" Toughchew,
January 14, 2014
By: lightdance
from Michigan
"My little cocker spaniel loves his bed...and he loves to chew on it. We've purchased two of the "old" though chew beds. The "new" tough chew bed is excellent quality but has some attributes that don't work for me:
* my dog had a hole in it within 24 hours
* the fabric is not breathable so I have to leave it unzipped so that he can lay on it without feeling like he is balancing on a balloon.
* it crunches - I wake up at night to the sound of the bed fabric "crunching" if he shifts position.
I'm very disappointed in this dog bed and won't purchase it again.
"
Review 6 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bizarre Choice of Fabric,
November 3, 2013
By: DakotasOwner
from Sacramento, CA
"Fabric is like a nylon suede. Makes a lot of noise. Dog chewed through it too. Dog sleeps on it about half the time."
Review 7 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not the bed for my dog,
October 27, 2013
By: WJC12196
from Upstate NY
"This bed is very pouffy (kind of like a water bed) and makes a crinkly noise when the dog moves on it. Neither one of which does my dog like. She ended up laying on the floor next to it, never on it. Not good."
Review 8 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holds Up!,
October 26, 2013
By: Missjeni
from MD
"Okay, at first he wouldn't get on it and it seemed stiff and not at all comfy. After a month (yes, a month) he liked it and after continually attacking if for over several months it is STILL a bed with NO holes! No other will last with my little Boston Terror! This bed DOES what it says. It takes time to break it in."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed; Even Better Customer Service,
August 8, 2013
By: SMGNYC
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We ordered two of the XL tough chew round dog's nest with polyester fill for our three dogs... one bed was for the living room, the other for the kitchen. We chose to order these beds from Orvis because we knew the craftsmanship would be great (and we loved the look as well) and also- we wanted to purchase a bed that would last a lifetime and knowing that the beds come with a guarantee against the dogs being able to destroy them, it was great peace of mind. Our dogs love their beds. We have a Wheaten Terrier, a French Bulldog and a Pit Bull and they have never once made even a dent of any kind of destruction in the beds. The covers zip off and are very easy to wash and put back on. But the best part of our experience with Orvis has been the exceptional customer service. Having three dogs on the beds caused them to somewhat flatten out over time. I wrote to Orvis to ask about purchasing some additional filler and instead, they sent us 6 bags of the stuffing, compliments of Orvis. This was just what the beds needed and we would have been happy to pay for them but Orvis went well above what we even expected in terms of their customer service. I spoke with them on a Tuesday and had two large boxes complete with the 6 bags of stuffing on my doorstep by the end of the week. We couldn't be happier with these beds and neither could our dogs. Thanks again!"
Review 10 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
New design is a big mistake,
July 24, 2013
By: dogswbeards
from Burlington, MA
"I am a loyal Tough Chew customer (have owned 6 over the past decade and all have withstood the test of time), but this new design was a true disappointment. I should have listened to the reviews: the bed is loud (really!) and stays puffed up like a balloon. My dogs will sleep on any surface and wouldn't go near this bed after hopelessly attempting (multiple times) to settle onto it. Orvis took back both beds without a problem. I hope they will bring back the old design soon."
Review 11 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orvis Dog Bed,
January 22, 2013
By: daddy1000
from West Nyack NY.
"purchased this bed and was VERY unhappy. It was hard, and uncomforable. My Dog would not go on it. the good news the people at the store gave me a full refund!"
Review 12 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't even last a day...,
December 28, 2012
By: MrsWoolman
"This is the second tough chew bed we've had. The first one lasted at least 3 months before my dog chewed a hole in it. This new one (different material than first tough chew) did not even last a day. This material is a lot weaker and my dog managed to break through the zipper too. I'm going to wait a little longer before I turn it in for it's replacement, but definitely do not want this style/model again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not What We Expected....,
November 26, 2012
By: BeauTheLab
"We purchased 2 of these beds for our 2 black labs and almost immediately decided to return them. Our dogs have the previous version of this bed and loved them. We thought we were getting the same thing, but apparently they've changed the material. The new version is as loud as an air mattress, seems less comfortable, and even after tempting our dogs with treats we can't get them on these new beds. We had such a great experience w/Orvis on their last beds we're going to return these and try something different."
Review 14 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToughChew Dog Bed,
November 15, 2012
By: StevetheBeagle
"I purchased a round tough chew dog bed after desperately searching for a bed my dog, Steve, would not be able to chew and try to eat. This has been the best bed for him. He loves his bed! Steve did attempt to chew it when I first took it out of the box, however it was so tough (and heavy) that we quickly gave up. There still isn't a single tear or chew mark. Truly worth the money!"
Review 15 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not tough enough...,
November 14, 2012
By: LAS27
"My 1 year old lab mix got through this after about 6 times laying on it. I plan to contact Orvis about using him as a tester of other models that they think are difficult to destruct for chewing dogs like mine. Doesn't live up to the marketing..."
Review 16 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Noisy and holds air,
November 11, 2012
By: Kimba
from Pawling, NY
"The cover is sort of like micro-suede. The colors are beautiful. But the bed cover fills with air when not used, and fluffs up high. When my puppy tries to get on it it's difficult to walk on, and as the air escapes it makes a lot of noise as the fabric squashes down under her feet."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Improved" worse than previous,
November 1, 2012
By: SDBeagle
from San Diego, CA
"Last Christmas I bought my 2 year old beagle this bed. 6 months later he destroyed it. Customer service was outstanding and replaced the bed with a new one. This one lasted 4 months before my little 13 pound beagle destroyed it. I just got my new, improved design of the tough chew bed and after being in the bed for 3 hours he was able to chew all the way through to the stuffing. In my opinion, not an effective tough chew bed, but the customer service is wonderful to work with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not indestructible,
October 23, 2012
By: DudleyDoodle
from Inverness, UK
"This arrived today and my two year old dog chewed a hole in the cover within an hour. However, he now seems to have given up trying.....for now!
Customer Service at Orvis is 5 Star and they offered to return & refund cost, inc postage/courier, etc. I would love to get another one, maybe when dog is a bit older.
Maybe make one out of kevlar?
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1