Orvis Ratings and Reviews

ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar

Paws down, the toughest and softest ToughChew® fabric we've ever created. Our original ToughChew chew-resistant dog bed was tough. This bed is even tougher. Developed exclusively by Orvis, these dog beds are constructed with two layers for the ultimate in chew protection, and feature an outer fabric engineered in a full ripstop weave from incredibly tough and durable 1,000-denier nylon. The zipper is constructed of solid brass for added strength and durability. As tough as these beds are, they're also luxuriously soft, with a silky nylon microfiber surface that your dog will love. ToughChew chew-resistant dog beds stand up to even the most persistent chewers. If your dog can chew through one of these durable dog beds, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Review 1 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Didn't quite make it 2 days,
November 4, 2013
By: JoshT33
from Mississippi
"Received the bed.. (was hesitant on ordering but money back guarantee, so what the heck.) Bed is puffy as stated.. like an air ballon, My 1yr old Boykin spaniel didn't mind and jump right on it.. reminded me of a kid on a moon bounce for a little bit.. He took right to it, with no problem. chewed, and scratched on it as he normally does, and it was showing no signs of tearing... Unfortunately it took an overnight of boredom from my dog and I woke up to it shredded. Will be sending back... Maybe ORVIS will redesign it.. Maybe my dog will learn his bed is not a toy.. Who knows... time will tell."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Tough Enough & Not Waterproof,
August 27, 2013
By: IrritatedPurchaser
"We bought this bed hoping it would be the one our boxer couldn't rip through with her nails. She loves to "fluff" her bed & she usually rips regular beds (and we trim her nails). She managed to rip this one too. Also if your dog has an accident on the cover and you don't see them do it, the next time you go to wash the cover you will get a lovely (smelly) surprise when you unzip the cover. Why wouldn't they make the cover waterproof if it is tough enough for them not to chew through? Once the urine gets inside the cover there is only a very thin barrier between the cedar chips & the washable cover, so good luck getting the urine smell out of the cedar chips. I wouldn't waste my money on this."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great BUT...,
July 29, 2013
By: DogMominKS
from Lawrence, KS
"I was looking forward to this -- my dogs have shredded the most recent dog nest cover. The material is strongly reinforced, the color and texture were heavenly (blue/gray). Unfortunately, the cover was SO well made that it didn't "breathe" -- it acted like a big balloon. I tried releasing the zipper and squeezing the extra air out, but it was still puffed up. My little Gracie -- a mill mama rescue -- was terrified of it...would not get on it, so I had to return it. If this had been for any of my other three dogs (who are quite assertive) we likely would have been okay. I got a replacement dog nest cover in polyester and Gracie LOVES that! Orvis is still the best!"
Review 4 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough bed fabric,
June 6, 2013
By: MNBeagleOwner
from Minnesota
"I have had many dog beds for my beagle over the years and none would last more than 1-2 months based on her habit to chew the bed as she falls asleep. I purchased this bed in 2011 and my dog has finally chewed through the cover. I contacted Orvis and they promptly refunded my purchase due to original bed being discontinued.
I will be getting a new bed tough bed due to this outstanding customer service and good product."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"toughchew" lasts just two days,
December 29, 2012
By: Minot
from Maine
"My golden retriever has chewed a hole in his new bed after just two days. I thought the bed would at least last a season."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase,
December 9, 2012
By: Colon
from Las Marias, Puerto Rico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My Boxer dog love the bed, he took your time to walk in circle every night to sleep. He sleep all the night and hes snoring tell me that he really comfort and happy in your new bed."
Review 7 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mixed blessing,
November 19, 2012
By: tripper
from Toronto Canada
"Yes it seems to be chew proof and in the end the purchase will have been worthwhile. BUT my Brittany took 2 weeks of coaxing to use it. It makes a noise when stepped on and the air does nor release from the cover so it is like sitting on a slowly deflating balloon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ToughChew® Round Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill and Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down the toughest bed ever!,
August 26, 2012
By: Sindeyrella
from Montreal, Qc
"By far the toughest dog bed out there. My dog has chewed through most beds during her puppy stage and this bed is still around. Not only is it still intact but there isn't a tear, rip or hole in it. I love that you can get different fills for the cover, so the bed will grow with my dog's changing needs as she grows and ages. Put it to the test yourself!"