Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box

Easily distinguish your dry-fly box from your nymphs with this waterproof double-sided clear fly box. This durable micro-slit foam box features clear lids, and comes in three sizes: small 1½"H x 5"L x 4"W; medium 1½"H x 6"L x 4"W; large 1¾"H x 7"L x 4½"W. Imported.4½"W. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
70 of 72(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Review 1 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite box,
October 24, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I needed a new box for saltwater flies and this box filled the opening. The double sided feature makes twice as much room. Plus the clear doors makes fly selection quick, with little chance of losing flies, since you can now quickly see what's available before opening. I've bought all three sizes now, but the medium and large seem to be the best for my needs. I'm now using this for streamers and all saltwater patterns."
Review 2 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Box,
October 23, 2014
By: PortsmouthMark
from Portsmouth, NH
"I really like the size of the box and the way the closing mechanisms work. I haven't had these on the water yet, but they do seem to be a strong upgrade from my SA boxes. My only suggestion for feedback/improvement on these is that the large box needs to have foam slots better suited to accept larger flies. When loading it up with large saltwater flies the foam slots don't really hold the hook as well as my old SA fly boxes."
Review 3 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly boxes,
October 21, 2014
By: Mazamaparker
from Used in Alaska this last August
"I love that I can look at the contents of my fly boxes and see it all at once. Terrific product."
Review 4 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Water full fly box,
October 21, 2014
By: beatingtheman
from LaGrange GA
"Ran faucet water over the box and it leaked at the clasp openings. Great quality box if you do not expect waterproof, just water resistant. Returned for a refund. Great Orvis customer service as usual."
Review 5 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality box,
October 15, 2014
By: TroutDominator73
from Horsham, PA
"I am relativity new to fly fishing and found this box very well constructed and easy to handle. Manipulating and closing with one hand was important and that is very easy with this box. Much easier than traditional Plano boxes of the same size. I am ordering more in smaller sizes to fit other pockets in my vest."
Review 6 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Open Water tight Fly Box,
October 14, 2014
By: bucketlist73
from Malverne NY
"I used this fly box on our trip to the Beaverkill this weekend. The clear cover made it easy to choose my fly. I put my dry flies on one side and my nymphs on the other. and the snap lock was easy to open on the river. The two sided feature is great ,
I recommend this fly box.
"
Review 7 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly box,
October 14, 2014
By: Sammmmy
"This is exactly what it looks like and does exactly what it is supposed to do. We are pleased with this purchase."
Review 8 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Box,
October 6, 2014
By: JackLaw
from Pittsburgh, PA
"No more fumbles at stream side trying to guess what is in the fly box. Now you can see the flies. Floats too."
Review 9 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
October 5, 2014
By: TXflyfisher
from Belton, TX
"I purchased the large version so I could use a single fly box with my sling pack, and I wanted to be able to see the flies before I opened the box. This fly box worked great. It was easy to load, closed securely and allowed me to find and select the fly I needed quickly."
Review 10 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value!,
September 26, 2014
By: catchnofishAl
from Oriental, NC
"Very attractive box with excellent functionality. Flies are easy to see before opening box. After seeing/using the first one, I ordered a second. Fairly Priced."
Review 11 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stop here and Take a look, it is worth the money,
September 22, 2014
By: Olivthefrenchy
from Galveston, TX
"Must have, the large format is great for saltwater flies!
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 12 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great box but not 100% waterproof,
September 8, 2014
By: TurkeyBum
from Alabama
"I really like this fly box - it holds an incredible number of flies in a relatively small space. However, I took a dunking with three of these boxes in my vest and one side of one box came up with quite a bit of water inside, and I wasn't under very deep or very long. I've noticed that the seal on some sides feels tighter than others. I guess one out of six seals leaking isn't too bad, but waterproof should mean WATERPROOF. I'm sure Orvis would exchange it, but it's not worth the hassle or expense of returning it. Some day someone is going to come out with a "Pelican Case" style fly box that is WATERPROOF."
Review 13 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fly box,
August 14, 2014
By: Trentshreeve
from Tampa, Florida
"It's been a great fly box. It holds my saltwater flys perfectly. Only thing is when I wade fish I keep it in my cargo pocket and it doesn't stay waterproof when submerged for a few hours of fishing. But I'm ok with that. It doesn't hold the water in so it never gets heavy. Foam is good as well and I can see it lasting for awhile. Overall great product."
Review 14 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect,
July 15, 2014
By: Inishmotor
"For the price its well made and just the right size for my son as he starts fly fishing."
Review 15 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value,
July 9, 2014
By: skultety
"Well built, reasonably priced and just the right size."
Review 16 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fly box,
July 8, 2014
By: allthumbs10
from Northwest Arkansas
"I ordered one of these in medium for myself and another in small for my wife. I've only used it a couple of times, but it's a pleasure to use while standing in the river. I particularly like the ease of opening and closing and the ability to see the flies on both sides without opening. One note of caution; the description says it's 1.5 in. high, but in reality it is 1 7/8 inches. Bear that in mind if that's a deal breaker for you."
Review 17 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
July 8, 2014
By: JustPassingThru
from Perdido Key, FL
"I own all 3 sizes and am a huge fan. I especially enjoy the Large size for Saltwater,as it fits in my wading vest pouch perfectly and holds all the saltwater flies I need for a day!"
Review 18 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super buy!,
June 17, 2014
By: Bobalama
from Little Rock, AR
"Great box! We'll constructed and as waterproof as they come. Plenty of capacity - even for saltwater flies. Better yet for freshwater flies. I bought two - one for me and one for my son. Of course he wants it loaded with flies!!!"
Review 19 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal,
June 12, 2014
By: Bmockfly1
from Nj,ny trout town USA
"Easy to use, great visibility even in low light evening hatches. Water tight."
Review 20 for Waterproof Double-Sided Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
June 5, 2014
By: Passatman
from Stevensville MI
"This fly box is very good quality and well constructed. Really like the see through cover."