Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waxed Cotton Strap Vest

Our most versatile all-season upland hunting vest comes in khaki and blaze orange for optimum visibility and safety, with waxed cotton pockets for longer life in the field. Orvis-exclusive Easy Entry® closure at front pockets give you quick and easy one-finger open and close to get at shells fast. Wears comfortably over whatever layering the weather conditions demand. Indestructible shoulder straps and belt made of heavy-duty nylon webbing. Rugged, waxed cotton sheds water and dirt. In blaze orange, dark khaki. Imported.Bird hunting vest in two sizes: M/L(chest sizes 40-44), XL/XXL(chest sizes 46-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome hunting vest,
October 14, 2014
By: Boanerges
from Gueydan La
"This by far the best hunting vest I have come across. I'm a duck and goose hunting guide and have to carry lots of extra stuff to the blind and I don't like a hunting bag. This vest is very well made and I would recommend to anyone."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight and Functional,
October 14, 2014
By: BrianC32
"I am new to upland hunting and purchased this as my first field vest. I was shocked out how light it was even when filled with a box of shells, water bottle, and by the end of the day 3 grouse. Was able to walk around all day without any fatigue and the small amount of blood from the birds washed off with ease."
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best clothing tool in my arsenal!,
September 22, 2014
By: dogcaller
from Virginia Beach, VA
"Light, comfortable, sturdy, practical, useful. Pockets and compartments are easy to access for ammo, water, snacks, birds, and dog equipment. Great for hot days and can be layered over coat for cold days. Almost more of a necessary tool than a piece of clothing! I love it!!"
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest in the market,
September 2, 2014
By: Colomaquail
from Northern ca
"I've been a filson man for 30 years... But had to change... Orvis vest is better for 3 main reasons...
1. She'll capacity in the front pockets along with the open and close flex band ... This allows you to crawl on you belly and not loose your shells...
2. Over quality and construction is superior to filson.
3. Vented bag to keep the birds cooler...
"
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 4, 2014
By: Fish333
from Clearwater, Florida
"Great hunting vest. Works great for the warmer weather here in Florida."
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Vest,
January 15, 2014
By: Finstofeathers
from Arizona
"Like the functionality and light weight. Only drawback are the straps, the longer it's worn they seem to stretch out a little. Hard to adjust them for that just right fit. Overall, a good vest."
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
January 4, 2014
By: Thedean
from MS
"As advertised. Good fit and easily adjusted for heavy coat or just a shirt."
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ill fitting,
December 31, 2013
By: BeanCreekOutfitters
from Texas
"Quality material and construction but ill fitting in my opinion. Got it for husband for Christmas per his request. Ordered xl-xxl according to size chart but it was too small. I tried on and just couldn't get straps adjusted to fit comfortably. Maybe just us since other reviewers love it."
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bird hunting,
December 21, 2013
By: Brittany2
from Indiana
"Comfortable fit, lightweight, with plenty of space for gear and an occasional bird.
The real test will be next fall in southeast Montana.
"
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of many purchases over the years.,
September 19, 2013
By: Jefffff
"The shoulder straps were VERY difficult to adjust! There has got to be a more simple strap adjustment!"
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
September 19, 2013
By: PorterDog
from Killeen, Tx
"I am a new to hunting and had previously borrowed some kit from my friend to hold shells and doves. Deciding to get more serious, I looked at what Orvis had to offer. I have used the vest twice now and love it. The only issue is figuring out the shoulder straps at first, but after that it rides well, the pouches on the back for birds and your water bottle are easy to access and the front pouches hold plenty of shells and any paperwork you need to carry. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in upland hunting."
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight and Convenient,
September 6, 2013
By: JDub1962
from Chanhassen, MN
"I have been very pleased with this product. I bought it as a light weight vest for hot days in the field. It has exceeded my expectations and has made early season hunting more enjoyable."
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Technical vest,
June 10, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I would call this a technical vest. Lots of storage, very well made, but more complicated than many others I've looked at. Also, the orange mesh material is somewhat stiff and plastic in nature. It doesn't have the suppleness of a fabric like polyester. Frankly, it was unappealing to me and, ultimately, I returned it for something of a simpler design from another manufacturer. However, if you're going to be out in the field with your dog(s) and carrying a lot of stuff this may be exactly the vest you need."
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much Improved Design,
March 29, 2013
By: Aluminum
from Austin, Texas
"The prior design Orvis waxed cotton strap vest did not have re-inforced corners on the upper inside corner of the spring clip closing front pouches. After very little use, the metal edge worn through the waxed cotton and put a deep scratch in the wooden forearm of my favorite shotgun. I through the Vest out!
The new model has re-inforced corners. I used it this week without concern about damaging my shotgun. Nice work."
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I need, nothing I don't,
February 20, 2013
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"My dog teaches me new things about pheasant hunting every year. This year, I finally learned her most valuable lesson to me - shut up, and KEEP UP! As a result, I shot more pheasants than I ever have before, but also realized that I needed to travel as light as possible. I already have a good collection of blaze orange shirts/sweaters to suit any conditions, so I wanted a strap vest that fit close, carried 10 shells, my license, e-collar transmitter, and (*hopefully*) a pair of roosters. This vest does all of that, with room for a little bit more if-needed in the back pocket. I also insist on NO METAL on the front that could scratch stocks, and this vest delivers. I was between the two sizes (45" chest), so I ordered the M/L to keep it as streamlined as possible. It's perfect. As long as the metal from the spring pockets does not wear through - I'm happy!"
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Vest,
January 24, 2013
By: Segs
from Georgia
"Awesome vest. Only complaint is the way the load is distributed. Should be more like the bird n lite products that have waist and chest straps that cinch tight to distribute the load like a hiking pack. Otherwise very good quality vest."
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mesh vest,
January 15, 2013
By: DLAWDOG
from San Diego, CA
"I just tested the mesh vest hunting quail in the Baja. It works as advertised, allowing me to hunt for an extended period without getting drenched in sweat. I carry two bike water bottles for my hunting dogs, so the integrated pockets for bottles were welcome. The only failing were the shoulder straps, which slipped repeatedly. My fix in the field was a wrap of duct tape on the straps at the buckles, which held at least for the time being."
Review 18 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Upland Vest,
December 30, 2012
By: BrowningShooter
from Northern California
"The best upland vest I own. I own numerous popular upland vests but nothing compares to my Orvis.
This vest has quality construction, lots of pockets, nice size bird bag & is light weight. This vest holds all the stuff a hard hunting bird hunter & his dogs will need. No other vest works as well in warm or cold temperatures.
I highly recommend this Orvis vest."
Review 19 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best strap vest i have seen,
December 29, 2012
By: Bubbaholmes
from New York State
"I would recommended this item for any outdoor adventures. Strong with wonderful capacity for all day heavy or light items. Looks to be of long lasting construction."
Review 20 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy On/Off Vest,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Vest is easy to get in and out of and is not in the way during hunts. Feels durable. Very pleased."