Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waxed Cotton Strap Vest

Our most versatile all-season upland hunting vest comes in khaki and blaze orange for optimum visibility and safety, with waxed cotton pockets for longer life in the field. Orvis-exclusive Easy Entry® closure at front pockets give you quick and easy one-finger open and close to get at shells fast. Wears comfortably over whatever layering the weather conditions demand. Indestructible shoulder straps and belt made of heavy-duty nylon webbing. Rugged, waxed cotton sheds water and dirt. In blaze orange, dark khaki. Imported.Bird hunting vest in two sizes: M/L(chest sizes 40-44), XL/XXL(chest sizes 46-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest in the market,
September 2, 2014
By: Colomaquail
from Northern ca
"I've been a filson man for 30 years... But had to change... Orvis vest is better for 3 main reasons...
1. She'll capacity in the front pockets along with the open and close flex band ... This allows you to crawl on you belly and not loose your shells...
2. Over quality and construction is superior to filson.
3. Vented bag to keep the birds cooler...
"
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 4, 2014
By: Fish333
from Clearwater, Florida
"Great hunting vest. Works great for the warmer weather here in Florida."
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Vest,
January 15, 2014
By: Finstofeathers
from Arizona
"Like the functionality and light weight. Only drawback are the straps, the longer it's worn they seem to stretch out a little. Hard to adjust them for that just right fit. Overall, a good vest."
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
January 4, 2014
By: Thedean
from MS
"As advertised. Good fit and easily adjusted for heavy coat or just a shirt."
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ill fitting,
December 31, 2013
By: BeanCreekOutfitters
from Texas
"Quality material and construction but ill fitting in my opinion. Got it for husband for Christmas per his request. Ordered xl-xxl according to size chart but it was too small. I tried on and just couldn't get straps adjusted to fit comfortably. Maybe just us since other reviewers love it."
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bird hunting,
December 21, 2013
By: Brittany2
from Indiana
"Comfortable fit, lightweight, with plenty of space for gear and an occasional bird.
The real test will be next fall in southeast Montana.
"
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of many purchases over the years.,
September 19, 2013
By: Jefffff
"The shoulder straps were VERY difficult to adjust! There has got to be a more simple strap adjustment!"
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
September 19, 2013
By: PorterDog
from Killeen, Tx
"I am a new to hunting and had previously borrowed some kit from my friend to hold shells and doves. Deciding to get more serious, I looked at what Orvis had to offer. I have used the vest twice now and love it. The only issue is figuring out the shoulder straps at first, but after that it rides well, the pouches on the back for birds and your water bottle are easy to access and the front pouches hold plenty of shells and any paperwork you need to carry. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in upland hunting."
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight and Convenient,
September 6, 2013
By: JDub1962
from Chanhassen, MN
"I have been very pleased with this product. I bought it as a light weight vest for hot days in the field. It has exceeded my expectations and has made early season hunting more enjoyable."
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Technical vest,
June 10, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I would call this a technical vest. Lots of storage, very well made, but more complicated than many others I've looked at. Also, the orange mesh material is somewhat stiff and plastic in nature. It doesn't have the suppleness of a fabric like polyester. Frankly, it was unappealing to me and, ultimately, I returned it for something of a simpler design from another manufacturer. However, if you're going to be out in the field with your dog(s) and carrying a lot of stuff this may be exactly the vest you need."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Much Improved Design,
March 29, 2013
By: Aluminum
from Austin, Texas
"The prior design Orvis waxed cotton strap vest did not have re-inforced corners on the upper inside corner of the spring clip closing front pouches. After very little use, the metal edge worn through the waxed cotton and put a deep scratch in the wooden forearm of my favorite shotgun. I through the Vest out!
The new model has re-inforced corners. I used it this week without concern about damaging my shotgun. Nice work."
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I need, nothing I don't,
February 20, 2013
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"My dog teaches me new things about pheasant hunting every year. This year, I finally learned her most valuable lesson to me - shut up, and KEEP UP! As a result, I shot more pheasants than I ever have before, but also realized that I needed to travel as light as possible. I already have a good collection of blaze orange shirts/sweaters to suit any conditions, so I wanted a strap vest that fit close, carried 10 shells, my license, e-collar transmitter, and (*hopefully*) a pair of roosters. This vest does all of that, with room for a little bit more if-needed in the back pocket. I also insist on NO METAL on the front that could scratch stocks, and this vest delivers. I was between the two sizes (45" chest), so I ordered the M/L to keep it as streamlined as possible. It's perfect. As long as the metal from the spring pockets does not wear through - I'm happy!"
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Vest,
January 24, 2013
By: Segs
from Georgia
"Awesome vest. Only complaint is the way the load is distributed. Should be more like the bird n lite products that have waist and chest straps that cinch tight to distribute the load like a hiking pack. Otherwise very good quality vest."
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mesh vest,
January 15, 2013
By: DLAWDOG
from San Diego, CA
"I just tested the mesh vest hunting quail in the Baja. It works as advertised, allowing me to hunt for an extended period without getting drenched in sweat. I carry two bike water bottles for my hunting dogs, so the integrated pockets for bottles were welcome. The only failing were the shoulder straps, which slipped repeatedly. My fix in the field was a wrap of duct tape on the straps at the buckles, which held at least for the time being."
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Upland Vest,
December 30, 2012
By: BrowningShooter
from Northern California
"The best upland vest I own. I own numerous popular upland vests but nothing compares to my Orvis.
This vest has quality construction, lots of pockets, nice size bird bag & is light weight. This vest holds all the stuff a hard hunting bird hunter & his dogs will need. No other vest works as well in warm or cold temperatures.
I highly recommend this Orvis vest."
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best strap vest i have seen,
December 29, 2012
By: Bubbaholmes
from New York State
"I would recommended this item for any outdoor adventures. Strong with wonderful capacity for all day heavy or light items. Looks to be of long lasting construction."
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy On/Off Vest,
December 28, 2012
By: JDC2
from Virginia
"Vest is easy to get in and out of and is not in the way during hunts. Feels durable. Very pleased."
Review 18 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks for listening,
December 6, 2012
By: ThornBird
from Michigan
"I had the predecessor from Orvis to this vest - which was nearly perfect except that the shell pockets were mesh instead of waxed cotton (which was mentioned as problem for this vest in another review). Well, I loved that vest - but I am very serious bird hunter - and I do a LOT of grouse hunting in Michigan (along with other bird hunting in Sodak/Nodak/Kansas, etc.). Anyway - after about 4 seasons, the mesh on the shell pockets on the prior version of this vest just got ripped ragged by thorns and brush, etc. (basically where you find grouse) and I had to tape them to keep the shells from falling out. I wrote the Orvis product team (and I think others fed back similar comments) - and they DID A NEW VERSION exactly according to the "ideal vest" description provided.
The result: the BEST bird vest on the market. The mesh back is light - and the zip pocket allows you to carry extra garments/or shed garments as you heat up and cool down. The game pocket allows birds to cool quickly - and its secure (my dog likes to try to pick my pocket some times). It has two water bottle sleeves (which ALL vests should have), and the spring closures on the shell pockets are - in my opinion - the perfect balance between secure and easy to open. Plus - it has outside pockets which are great for extras.
This is a fantastic product. If you are a serious bird hunter, you will immediately see the advantages. No other vest has all these features together.
PLUS - this just shows what kind of company Orvis really is . . . they take feedback seriously, and they respond to the needs of their customers. Whoever did the redesign on the "nearly perfect" prior version must like to hunt as much as I do.
5 stars - and my thanks!"
Review 19 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over Engineered,
November 1, 2012
By: MountainandPlains
from Colorado
"Purchased this strap vest to replace the Orvis strap vest I hunted with for the past 10 years. This new vest uses a heavy waxed tin cloth which makes the pockets difficult to open and close. The pockets will not stay open and they dont close tightly so the pockets fill with debris that sticks to shells and the tin cloth inside the pockets. You can't fully clean out the pockets. I'd buy the same design if Orvis would use the previous nylon material which would be lighter and easier to keep clean. Huge Orvis fan but this one just missed the target."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic upland vest,
October 24, 2012
By: CJ01
"I looked at a number of vests before buying this one and believe I got the best upland vest on the market. I wanted a light weight system that you can wear over layers when cold and that won't heat you up when it warmer. I also liked the fitting system and the pockets. Its simple without being too much gear but amply holds shells, gloves, camera, water bottle, dog stuff, and hopefully a few birds. I just broke it in on a grouse trip and loved it. Highly recommended."