Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waxed Cotton Strap Vest

Our most versatile all-season upland hunting vest comes in khaki and blaze orange for optimum visibility and safety, with waxed cotton pockets for longer life in the field. Orvis-exclusive Easy Entry® closure at front pockets give you quick and easy one-finger open and close to get at shells fast. Wears comfortably over whatever layering the weather conditions demand. Indestructible shoulder straps and belt made of heavy-duty nylon webbing. Rugged, waxed cotton sheds water and dirt. In blaze orange, dark khaki. Imported.Bird hunting vest in two sizes: M/L(chest sizes 40-44), XL/XXL(chest sizes 46-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improved from the 90s version,
January 5, 2015
By: fieldbredESS
"Spouse has an older version of this vest from the late '90s. Really like my new training/trialing and hunting vest. I like the zipped pocket on the back and the built in holders for 2 water bottles."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional grreat vest,
January 5, 2015
By: blklabsrus
from Bozeman MT
"I am a hard corps, gum shoe pheasant hunter in MT. Hunt in heat and blizzards, 35 days a year. Finding birds is tough and we walk far, so gear has to be functional. It is easy to get birds into the pouch with one hand and easy to get into the shell pouch quickly to reload. (I tuck the flap into the pocket) The waxed cotton mesh does not catch on briers or barbed wire and does not pick up burrs. The pouch has loops for water bottles and holds 3 pheasants easily and comfortably because the hip strap is in the right place! The pouch on the back is good for little extras. The straps do not get in the way for gun mounting. I have tried all the other vests and this is the best. Orvis got it right! thank you!"
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best strap vest,
December 27, 2014
By: MyteefineCowboy
from Austin, TX
"Option for pockets to stay wide open for easy and quick access to shells; good straps keep vest in place;"
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
November 18, 2014
By: johnharris
from saratoga ny
"This vest is comfortable and versatile. I not only found it roomy for hunting but the bird pockets are great for carrying birds for training."
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Vest,
November 13, 2014
By: Lexi008
from NW Ohio
"Lightweight, comfortable, Love zippered compartment on back and snap pockets in front. Have had multiple vests and this one is the one I had been searching for!"
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great simple upland vest,
November 3, 2014
By: Chris1563
"This vest is perfect for a day out in the fields. The snap open pockets are a handy feature as they don't require the need to hold a flap open and still keep everything inside"
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best grouse/woodcock vest on market,
October 26, 2014
By: Birddoggrouseman60
from Midland, MI
"I have owned numerous vests over the past 25 years. I find the Orvis strap vest to be the best engineered vest our there for grouse and woodcock hunting. Outstanding design with tons of room in the pockets for shells, GPS, gloves, Leatherman, wallet and keys. The waxed cotton is my second Orvis vest of this design I have owned and I love it. Can't believe others are still trying to sell the concept of padded shoulder straps! That is a huge drawback on gun mount when hunting quick flying game like grouse and woodcock. Orvis got it right...........best there is!"
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of All Worlds,
October 25, 2014
By: DadMac
from Connecticut
"The strap vest lets you use the same set-up regardless of conditions - from training in the heat of July to slogging through January snow jump-shooting those die-hard mallards. I've worn this bad boy in those conditions and everything in-between, including over waders in chest-high water and over a t-shirt for September geese. Most importantly, it holds up when you are pounding through the briars after woodcocks. You'd think that airy mesh back which is so cool in the summer would shred to pieces in thorns, but nope - it's wearing like iron for me. Dedicated slots for water bottles, easy open shell pouches, nice pocket in back for lunch / jacket / first-aid kit, buckles in back not where you mount -- yeah this vest is the best of all worlds. Recommended to me by a Maine guide, my wife got one too - we'll be handing them down to our sons one day. Lengthen the straps to make it easy to reach the water bottle, your dog's working hard so keep him hydrated."
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fastest delivery,
October 23, 2014
By: helmlaw
from Rapid City, S.D.
"My son and I went on a pheasant trip and ordered this last minute. It came quickly, we used it on our hunt."
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome hunting vest,
October 14, 2014
By: Boanerges
from Gueydan La
"This by far the best hunting vest I have come across. I'm a duck and goose hunting guide and have to carry lots of extra stuff to the blind and I don't like a hunting bag. This vest is very well made and I would recommend to anyone."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight and Functional,
October 14, 2014
By: BrianC32
"I am new to upland hunting and purchased this as my first field vest. I was shocked out how light it was even when filled with a box of shells, water bottle, and by the end of the day 3 grouse. Was able to walk around all day without any fatigue and the small amount of blood from the birds washed off with ease."
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best clothing tool in my arsenal!,
September 22, 2014
By: dogcaller
from Virginia Beach, VA
"Light, comfortable, sturdy, practical, useful. Pockets and compartments are easy to access for ammo, water, snacks, birds, and dog equipment. Great for hot days and can be layered over coat for cold days. Almost more of a necessary tool than a piece of clothing! I love it!!"
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vest in the market,
September 2, 2014
By: Colomaquail
from Northern ca
"I've been a filson man for 30 years... But had to change... Orvis vest is better for 3 main reasons...
1. She'll capacity in the front pockets along with the open and close flex band ... This allows you to crawl on you belly and not loose your shells...
2. Over quality and construction is superior to filson.
3. Vented bag to keep the birds cooler...
"
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 4, 2014
By: Fish333
from Clearwater, Florida
"Great hunting vest. Works great for the warmer weather here in Florida."
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Vest,
January 15, 2014
By: Finstofeathers
from Arizona
"Like the functionality and light weight. Only drawback are the straps, the longer it's worn they seem to stretch out a little. Hard to adjust them for that just right fit. Overall, a good vest."
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
January 4, 2014
By: Thedean
from MS
"As advertised. Good fit and easily adjusted for heavy coat or just a shirt."
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ill fitting,
December 31, 2013
By: BeanCreekOutfitters
from Texas
"Quality material and construction but ill fitting in my opinion. Got it for husband for Christmas per his request. Ordered xl-xxl according to size chart but it was too small. I tried on and just couldn't get straps adjusted to fit comfortably. Maybe just us since other reviewers love it."
Review 18 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for bird hunting,
December 21, 2013
By: Brittany2
from Indiana
"Comfortable fit, lightweight, with plenty of space for gear and an occasional bird.
The real test will be next fall in southeast Montana.
"
Review 19 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of many purchases over the years.,
September 19, 2013
By: Jefffff
"The shoulder straps were VERY difficult to adjust! There has got to be a more simple strap adjustment!"
Review 20 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
September 19, 2013
By: PorterDog
from Killeen, Tx
"I am a new to hunting and had previously borrowed some kit from my friend to hold shells and doves. Deciding to get more serious, I looked at what Orvis had to offer. I have used the vest twice now and love it. The only issue is figuring out the shoulder straps at first, but after that it rides well, the pouches on the back for birds and your water bottle are easy to access and the front pouches hold plenty of shells and any paperwork you need to carry. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in upland hunting."