Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waxed Cotton Strap Vest

Our most versatile all-season upland hunting vest comes in khaki and blaze orange for optimum visibility and safety, with waxed cotton pockets for longer life in the field. Orvis-exclusive Easy Entry® closure at front pockets give you quick and easy one-finger open and close to get at shells fast. Wears comfortably over whatever layering the weather conditions demand. Indestructible shoulder straps and belt made of heavy-duty nylon webbing. Rugged, waxed cotton sheds water and dirt. In blaze orange, dark khaki. Imported.Bird hunting vest in two sizes: M/L(chest sizes 40-44), XL/XXL(chest sizes 46-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clearly, Designed by a Bird Hunter,
August 22, 2015
By: Rymansetter
"Being a passionate grouse and woodcock hunter, I wear strap vests almost all the time. The vest MUST have two features: a generous exterior pocket on the back and NON-PADDED shoulder straps. The Orvis strap vest has a rear exterior pocket large enough for rain gear, GPS, camera lunch etc. The current fetish for padded shoulder straps seems good in theory, but in practice they badly interfere with your gun mount. The Orvis vest straps are sturdy but thin and flexible enough that you don't notice them when you mount the gun. The strap buckles are also well out of the way. This tells me that the vest was designed by a real bird hunter. My only suggestion would be that a locking mechanism be incorporated on the rear pocket zipper to prevent the zipper from coming undone from movement and heavy brush."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd strap vest in 30 year's,
July 27, 2015
By: birdhunter1967
from Memphis, TN.
"I was given a used Orvis strap vest by my father when I was about 15 years old. It was tattered and covered with cuckleburs then. Last year the game pouch got caught on a limb while riding an ATV and tore a large hole in the bottom. After 30 some odd year's, I decided it was time for a replacement. I hope to get 30years out of my new vest. Heck, at 47, I hope to get another 30years out of me!"
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one,
May 20, 2015
By: Orax
from Northern De.
"Very comfortable, well made. I use the tan one for dog training and the orange one for hunting. I leave the Filson in the closet."
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Strap Vest!,
April 30, 2015
By: dkonsult
from Saginaw, MI
"After looking and studying this vest repeatedly, my wife surprised me and ordered it for my birthday. I wasn't sure if this was the vest I wanted, as I had also looked at another lighter weight vest as well. Once I tried this vest on, I couldn't have been happier. I am going on my third trip to North Dakota this fall and this vest is making the trip with me. Love that it has waxed cotton for durability and rain resistance and also netting to make it lightweight. The strap across the chest helps distribute the weight, so it's not all on the shoulders. Orvis is a great company and I am proud to wear this vest when hunting."
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
April 13, 2015
By: Orax
from Northern De.
"Much better than the Flison I have. I plan on ordering another in blaze. Great fit, good quality!"
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Move over Filson,
April 4, 2015
By: Orax
from Northern De.
"just received this vest a day ago and tried it today. Fantastic vest!
I have the Filson light weight vest and this is head and shoulders above it (the Filson gamebag is not lined and blood soaks through onto your shirt and pants. And, the Filson is not near as comfortable as the Orvis) I am going to order another in Orange next week. A friend tried mine on and is going to order one as well.
"
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best strap vest I've ever used,
March 4, 2015
By: JohnRoss
from Albany, GA
"I have looked at or owned several strap vests over the last couple of years, looking to use on warmer days instead of a full vest. Finally found one that has strap adjustment buckles that don't interfere with the gun mount and doesn't break the bank. Who wants metal or plastic buckles between the butt of your gun and your shoulder!? Buckles fixed in place behind your shoulders - simple and smart design."
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
February 18, 2015
By: Lenwatts
from Fair Oaks, CA
"Very comfortable and convenient to use. Great features ease of bird storage and cleaning of pocket areas."
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
February 3, 2015
By: Tylerabcxyz
from Southern, VT
"I bought this vest for rabbit hunting. I have used it for about a month and it is great. It stands up to all of the briar patches and honeysuckle I have to walk through. The front pockets are nice for extra shells. Always right there when you need them."
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improved from the 90s version,
January 5, 2015
By: fieldbredESS
"Spouse has an older version of this vest from the late '90s. Really like my new training/trialing and hunting vest. I like the zipped pocket on the back and the built in holders for 2 water bottles."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional grreat vest,
January 5, 2015
By: blklabsrus
from Bozeman MT
"I am a hard corps, gum shoe pheasant hunter in MT. Hunt in heat and blizzards, 35 days a year. Finding birds is tough and we walk far, so gear has to be functional. It is easy to get birds into the pouch with one hand and easy to get into the shell pouch quickly to reload. (I tuck the flap into the pocket) The waxed cotton mesh does not catch on briers or barbed wire and does not pick up burrs. The pouch has loops for water bottles and holds 3 pheasants easily and comfortably because the hip strap is in the right place! The pouch on the back is good for little extras. The straps do not get in the way for gun mounting. I have tried all the other vests and this is the best. Orvis got it right! thank you!"
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best strap vest,
December 27, 2014
By: MyteefineCowboy
from Austin, TX
"Option for pockets to stay wide open for easy and quick access to shells; good straps keep vest in place;"
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
November 18, 2014
By: johnharris
from saratoga ny
"This vest is comfortable and versatile. I not only found it roomy for hunting but the bird pockets are great for carrying birds for training."
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Vest,
November 13, 2014
By: Lexi008
from NW Ohio
"Lightweight, comfortable, Love zippered compartment on back and snap pockets in front. Have had multiple vests and this one is the one I had been searching for!"
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great simple upland vest,
November 3, 2014
By: Chris1563
"This vest is perfect for a day out in the fields. The snap open pockets are a handy feature as they don't require the need to hold a flap open and still keep everything inside"
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best grouse/woodcock vest on market,
October 26, 2014
By: Birddoggrouseman60
from Midland, MI
"I have owned numerous vests over the past 25 years. I find the Orvis strap vest to be the best engineered vest our there for grouse and woodcock hunting. Outstanding design with tons of room in the pockets for shells, GPS, gloves, Leatherman, wallet and keys. The waxed cotton is my second Orvis vest of this design I have owned and I love it. Can't believe others are still trying to sell the concept of padded shoulder straps! That is a huge drawback on gun mount when hunting quick flying game like grouse and woodcock. Orvis got it right...........best there is!"
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of All Worlds,
October 25, 2014
By: DadMac
from Connecticut
"The strap vest lets you use the same set-up regardless of conditions - from training in the heat of July to slogging through January snow jump-shooting those die-hard mallards. I've worn this bad boy in those conditions and everything in-between, including over waders in chest-high water and over a t-shirt for September geese. Most importantly, it holds up when you are pounding through the briars after woodcocks. You'd think that airy mesh back which is so cool in the summer would shred to pieces in thorns, but nope - it's wearing like iron for me. Dedicated slots for water bottles, easy open shell pouches, nice pocket in back for lunch / jacket / first-aid kit, buckles in back not where you mount -- yeah this vest is the best of all worlds. Recommended to me by a Maine guide, my wife got one too - we'll be handing them down to our sons one day. Lengthen the straps to make it easy to reach the water bottle, your dog's working hard so keep him hydrated."
Review 18 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fastest delivery,
October 23, 2014
By: helmlaw
from Rapid City, S.D.
"My son and I went on a pheasant trip and ordered this last minute. It came quickly, we used it on our hunt."
Review 19 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome hunting vest,
October 14, 2014
By: Boanerges
from Gueydan La
"This by far the best hunting vest I have come across. I'm a duck and goose hunting guide and have to carry lots of extra stuff to the blind and I don't like a hunting bag. This vest is very well made and I would recommend to anyone."
Review 20 for Waxed Cotton Strap Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight and Functional,
October 14, 2014
By: BrianC32
"I am new to upland hunting and purchased this as my first field vest. I was shocked out how light it was even when filled with a box of shells, water bottle, and by the end of the day 3 grouse. Was able to walk around all day without any fatigue and the small amount of blood from the birds washed off with ease."