Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet

Barbour's classic tartan is reprised in a cozy yet lightweight diamond-quilted gilet vest. Layered over a sweater on a sunny fall afternoon or under a parka on the coldest winter morning, this versatile design will be a cool-weather favorite. Neatly shaped with front and back princess seaming. Finished with twill-tape trim at the V-neck, armholes and roomy patch pockets. Rugged antiqued bronze zipper. Diamond-quilted gilet vest in multi plaid. Polyester shell; polyamide lining. Washable. Imported.Barbour heritage fit in sizes 4-14; about 26½" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Review 1 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
December 17, 2014
By: LadyBug2
from Pagosa Springs, CO
"I love everything I have ordered from Orvis except for my most recent purchase. The fabric weight and print were everything the description said it would be. Where it failed was the design shape. It was long, but too long for my 5'4" height. When it hit my hip area it's too slender of a cut for hips (I have at most 36" hips) and it causes the vest to rise up on my shoulders. I love everything except that and was disappointed that I needed to return it. I ordered a sz 8 and any larger the whole vest would've been too large."
Review 2 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
October 14, 2014
By: suthrncrna
from Bristol TN
"This vest has typical Barbour excellent quality. The fit is true to size and has a flattering fit. I prefer this style so that a collar is not always in your face. Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
September 18, 2014
By: Lakecountrywoman
from St. Paul, MN
"I purchased this in Size 14 and it fits perfectly (5'6", bust 38DD, 160 lbs.). I love that it doesn't have a collar to stick into my chin. Wish Barbour would make this one and the other green vest I bought reversible, green on one side, plaid on the other. Could also use a two-way zipper."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great transition vest,
March 20, 2014
By: Runthedog
"I love this vest. I gave the vest 4 stars because in hindsight I do like to have a collar on a vest or jacket for looks and wind protection. Other than that, this is perfect! Classy cor, sturdy zipper, flattering generous fit ( I went down a size) and the pockets are perfect for keys cellphone and wallet. When zipped the vest is extremely figure flattering. It works great as an underlayer under a heavier coat and if it ever gets warmer here in the NE I look forward to wearing it sprin and fall paired w t-shirts short or long sleeved to ward off morning chill."
Review 5 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ordered 1 Size Larger than Usual,
December 23, 2013
By: Englishpointerz
from Vestal, NY
"Love the vest! 1st one I ordered was size 12 (after I chatted with online rep for measurements). For me, even though the chat measurements provided sounded perfect, when it arrived I found it to be slightly more snugly tailored than expected. It seemed too restricting over a lightweight cotton turtleneck, maybe due to princess seams? Usually I wear size 10-12. Exchanged it for size 14 which fits much nicer such that I can wear a turtleneck & fleece or wool sweater beneath. If you need freedom of movement or like to wear layers (I wear mine to walk English Pointers and need non-restrictive fit), then you might wish to order 1 size larger than usual. Today while in town doing holiday shopping, I received two compliments on my tartan Barbour vest (and one compliment came from a man.) Love the interior zippered pocket! The tartan vest dresses up an unbuttoned canvas field coat when zipped and layered beneath. Understated and classic in appearance."
Review 6 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tartan Vest,
December 28, 2012
By: GayleT
from On-line Orvis
"I love the tartan on this vest and the material. It's feminine yet sporty. Great quality and as always, Orvis delivers fine products for the outdoor person. I would recommend this vest for anyone who loves Barbour and Orvis!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
November 29, 2012
By: DecoysMom
"Love the Barbour quality and plaid pattern, but the fit is a little funny. A little too large on top but maybe it will be better with a heavier sweater during the cold weather"
Review 8 for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and comfortable,
October 23, 2012
By: YoungWidow
from Alexandria, VA
"I fell in love with the look, so British. Now I like the comfort in this mild weather. Pockets, Pockets!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Barbour® Women's Tartan Betty Gilet
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1