Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbour® Adventure Jacket

Stay dry and warm in cold, damp weather. Barbour's Adventure Jacket features a water-resistant shell and a quilted lining; a two-way-zip with a studded storm flap ensures a weather-tight front closure. Tuck-away throat latch. Soft corduroy collar. Four snap-flap exterior pockets; two zip-closed interior pockets. Snap-adjustable cuffs. Barbour Adventure Jacket for men in navy. 100% polyamide. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52). Contemporary Fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
had to return this one,
August 28, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"As many have commented, the sizing of this jacket is just plain odd, and no this is not a "Barbour thing", I own 4 other Barbour jackets and have managed to find the right fit. With this one, either the sleeves were way too long or the shoulders were way too tight, I just never felt comfortable in it. I also wasn't too sure about the materials which didn't seem up to the usual Barbour quality."
Review 2 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
100% Satisfied,
May 21, 2013
By: BG1111
from West Palm Beach, FL
"I must start of by saying it's not exactly easy to purchase a jacket online without seeing it, touching the material and trying it on for size but after reading the other reviews and comments and sizing chart, I placed my order and upon receiving it, tried it on and it fit like a glove, perfectly and boy, what a sharp looking jacket it is; i couldn't wait to wear it out and had my first opportunity 1 day later; so excited, I will cherish this jacket for many years to come. I would definitely recommend it. It is very stylish looking, comfortable, great is cool & rainy weather- 5 stars all the way."
Review 3 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 14, 2013
By: Relman
"This isa great jacket,but the size is an issue. I wear a 46L sportcoat and got the XXL. It fits, but barely. They say the XXL corresponds to a size 50-52, but that is an underestimate."
Review 4 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket with styled-down subtlety,
April 18, 2013
By: PAGTracker
from New York, NY
"Too many comments centered on the user-error of buying the wrong size jacket. Size up by one size and you will be fine. I am a 40R jacket and I bought a size Large. Fits perfectly.
Let's get this back on track.
The Adventure jacket is perfectly to my taste as it is essentially a version of Barbour's Enfield jacket but much improved in features: quilted lining, Gore-Tex, snap button hardware is not shiny and it has a waterproof shell instead of waxed cotton. No waxed shell may not be to the Barbour purist but it is maintenance free and I prefer the more subdued look of a fabric shell over waxed cotton.
There are no Barbour patches or emblems on the jacket save the lettering on the snap buttons. Other than the unmistakable style or the quality of the jacket, it does not outwardly scream Barbour. But those that know Barbour style will recognize its iconic styling cues and those that appreciate Barbour quality can revel in their discretion when wearing it.
This is a very nice jacket."
Review 5 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barbour Gets it Wrong,
January 3, 2013
By: DAMK
"I did like this jacket spotted in a shop however only small available. Did a bit of research on tracking it down on web - determined that I needed to go XXL where I am usually L. However, even allowing for this, Barbour have got the sizing on this so wrong. Returned within a few days - sizing inconsistent even allowing for a fitted cut. However, I would note Orvis Service very helpful on telephone queries."
Review 6 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review the product - not the sizing!,
December 29, 2012
By: WinterMan123
from Northeast
"Everyone so far reviewing this product has reviewed the admittedly European sizing and seems to have disregarded the quality and finish of the coat and hardware. Stop being ridiculous. Buy one size up from what you normally would, and you'll be fine.
The quality of the construction on this coat is outstanding. The GoreTex coating will provide a far better and lower-maintenance finish than traditional Barbour Wax-Cloth. The coat is remarkably easy to care for - wash and dry. No muss no fuss. Classic styling, definitely could be referred to as 'timeless'. Looks good in jeans, looks good with a tie. For those looking for a coat that will last them many years, and aren't afraid of dropping a few sheckles, this is a great bet."
Review 7 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size !!!,
November 25, 2012
By: Tasmanian
"I had to return twice the BARBOUR ADVENTURE JACKET : the size is not right.
The first one was an L : too small. The second was a XL, still too small (could not close it and the shoulders were narrow).
I did not make a mistake :
I own several Barbour Jackets (among which a Vintage Leather International Jacket, a Porchester Leather Jacket, a Border Waxed Jacket…), all in size L ; and they suit me perfectly.
I also own a Sportsman sweater in size L.
This said, this Barbour Adventure Jacket seems, as usual with Barbour, very well made : even if Orvis did not advertise it, it is made with Gore Tex.
"
Review 8 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour adventure Jacket,
November 22, 2012
By: Steven1
from Guildford
"My overall impression of this jacket is excellent.
Warm,waterproof & windproof.
It lends itself to an outdoor sports jacket that can also be used for smart casual use.
The zip was a little tight and difficult to use.Will probably slacken off through use.
The sizing is poor.
I am a size large however you need to go for a size up for it to fit properly. The XL fits a normal
L (Large) man.I had to exchange the large I purchased over the internet for the larger size.
Over all.
I am very happy with my purchase.
"
Review 9 for Barbour® Adventure Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
way too small,
November 20, 2012
By: WoodysDad
from Tampa
"I have owned multiple Barbour jackets over the years. They have all run large. I have a 49" chest and a 40" waist., and usually order an XL which traditionally fits fine in a Barbour. This jacket is the new contemporary cut so I ordered an XXL. I am not sure if the jacket is mis-sized or if the cut is just a joke. The sizing information lists the chest as a 50-52. It is likely more like a 44-46. I had my brother try it on. He is a 44 chest and it fit him fine. Even the forearms are tight. Barbour really missed the boat with this one. I don't normally ask for shipping back but I am going to on this one."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.