Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Genuine Suede Safari Hat

Using premium pig suede from Wolverine Leather of Rockford, Michigan, our hat makers craft a fine safari hat with a full complement of features. The CoolMax® sweatband creates a secure fit and wicks moisture; a full-grain-leather hatband with an Orvis pin adorns the exterior. Underbrim and brim edge covered in pure cotton canvas. Safari hat in chestnut. Genuine pigskin sueded leather, pure cotton, and pure silk. USA.Sizes: L(7¼"-7⅜"). 2¾" brim; 4½" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Review 1 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suede Safari Hat,
May 30, 2013
By: RichardR
from Kaneohe, HI
"I really like the look of it and it has been comfortable from day 1. It by chance fit perfectly. Because the brim slopes down, I can easily wear it while driving. Its also not as hot as other leather hats.
Love the hat!!!"
Review 2 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyingdog,
February 26, 2013
By: Flyingdog
from Oregon Coast
"I have long admired the Orvis Suede Safari Hat, but as a Graduate Student it was out of the question...until a recent sale. And now I am sporting this fine hat. I have seen others at the mall leather shop that I almost bought but am so glad I waited. This one puts them to shame. Silk lining and production weatherproofing keep this hat looking good in and out of the rain. No need to waterproof it! It is a perfect match for the Suede Munitions Vest. The look is classic Americana at its best!"
Review 3 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it too!,
February 2, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I have to many hats,to many styles and way to many choices.I'm a trucker so I'm never home to wear them and they will last forever until a yard sale.That said,I feel I'm able to give a review on this expensive suede safari hat and be well informed doing so.I have many just like it made from twill and canvas,I'm sure you know the brands.But this one does stand out because of the quality and comfort.Made in USA is good but no guarantee of quality of course,but it seems well made so I added it to my collection and really hope that when it is used in the rain I will still be happy.I plan to use it for dressier occasions."
Review 4 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally found the hat!,
December 31, 2012
By: Crayon
"Exactly the hat we've been looking for--but having troubling getting the right fit. Wish it came in actual hat sizes. The Large is too big and the Medium is much too small. Will try another L to see if the fit is any different. Hope it works because the hat is perfect and great quality."
Review 5 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift for a hat enthusiast,
December 31, 2012
By: Mamalight
from Springfield, VA
"My husband has many hats and is very particular in his choices. This hat fit his standards and he's worn it numerous times since I got it for him as a Christmas gift. He likes it a lot. The only slight concern was sizing. It does run slightly small. I saw that in another review and was unsure whether which size to order. However, it does stretch slightly and it seems to fit better the more he wears it."
Review 6 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safari hat,
December 28, 2012
By: WLAN
from North Carolina
"Excellent quality,very well made. I would strongly recommend."
Review 7 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: wackywife
"very well constructed - handsome on my husband - nice choice of color."
Review 8 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not great,
December 28, 2012
By: Mazy17
"The suede was marred and the brim was very bent. Not one of their better products."
Review 9 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit well and very comfortable!,
December 27, 2012
By: welchman
from Bayview, Idaho
"Wonderful hat with distinctive style, fit, and warmth."
Review 10 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
December 15, 2012
By: DonaldM
from Upstate, NY
"Made in USA, real leather, properly treated, unique. Wear one and gave one to son."
Review 11 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent but sizing a problem,
December 11, 2012
By: Clipper001
"I ordinarily take a 7 1/8 and Medium here is just slightly small. I know Large would be too big, so I had some of the cardboard firmer-upper removed and think it will work. Too bad Orvis doesn't make more sizes."
Review 12 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT HAT!,
October 11, 2012
By: MichaelW
from Orange County, CA
"This hat is awesome. the quality is superb and it looks very cool. Nice!"
Review 13 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what I wanted.,
October 8, 2012
By: vespertilio
from Essex UK
"Arrived promptly. Very comfortable but prefer to have the back turned up so it does not interfere with my hooded coat collar.
Have not tried it yet in the rain.
"
Review 14 for Genuine Suede Safari Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
October 1, 2012
By: Khakkiman
from Upstate, NY
"Well made. A rare suede hat -- not a cap. And MADE IN USA! Just right for not so formal times."