Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat

The timeless warmth of wool meets the lush softness of alpaca in our beautifully tailored funnelneck coat. So slimming and flattering with front and back princess seaming and clean lines. Covered button-front placket. On-seam pockets. Fully lined. Wool/alpaca/polyamide/other outer; polyester/viscose lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: 4-16; about 34" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Review 1 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
February 11, 2014
By: cassieflury
from wynne arkansas
"warm but lightweight,this coat meets all my expectations. classic styling makes this coat a long time friend,"
Review 2 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Coat,
January 21, 2014
By: HoneyHugo
from Hamburg, PA
"I love my new alpaca wool coat which I drooled over when I first caught sight of it. I really adore the color, the funnel neck and especially the warmth although the coat weighs so little. I waited for it to be put on sale and could wait no longer! I really love my new coat!"
Review 3 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coat great except for buttonholes and sleeve lengt,
January 16, 2014
By: ElversonWalker1
from Elverson, PA
"I absolutely love this coat and tried to find reasons that I should keep it. The sleeves were a little long, but I could have lived with that. The buttonholes are set inside individual little plackets which makes it difficult to button the coat. I tried several times, but the time involved in putting the coat on and taking it off were too much for me."
Review 4 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dress'-up & casual,
January 15, 2014
By: haha
from Davison, MI
"What a refreshing design for casual wear or dress up. Also the length is great for getting in and out of a vehicle. Love it!"
Review 5 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat,
January 14, 2014
By: LadyK
from Online
"Very well made and stylish coat. This coat arrived the evening before the arctic chill hit which was perfect timing. Warm coat but not too heavy. Others mentioned that the sleeves were long. They were a bit but all sleeves tend to be long on me and I didn't notice this being any different. True to size."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
January 13, 2014
By: aescpbd
from Wallburg, NC
"I am very impressed with the quality of this coat. The first detail I noticed, that is rare today, is that the 3 button cuffs, such as seen on a man's sport jacket, has actual buttonholes. This is a detail of a very well made item. Also, the piping where the lining is attached to the facing is beautiful. The online description says the garment is wool & alpaca. The wool content is 47%, alpaca, 37%. 14% polyamide (probably for stabilizing) and 2% other fiber. The alpaca makes it very soft to the touch. All in all, I am very satisfied with the purchase and after having seen it, the price is quite understandable."
Review 7 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever!!!,
January 6, 2014
By: Fify
from Knoxville, TN
"This is the best coat I have ever purchased. It is very warm and most importantly very elegant looking.
The material is extremely nice and very soft to the touch. I recommend it immensely.
"
Review 8 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Winter Coat,
January 3, 2014
By: BMarkwal
from Chicago, IL
"Ordered this beautifully tailored, fully lined, merlot colored coat as Christmas gift for my wife. She loves the soft, luxurious, alpaca wool and repeatedly commented how surprisingly warm, elegant, and light this garment feels."
Review 9 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful, warm and soft,
December 24, 2013
By: fawnfields
"Already had compliments on the coat. It is beautiful, the wool is so soft."
Review 10 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, warm, stylish,
December 22, 2013
By: BusyMom1
from Northern Virginia
"Superb material, excellent fit, true to size, I wear it constantly in the cold weather"
Review 11 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
September 25, 2013
By: farmerg
from Alberta
"Surprisingly lightweight. Beautiful cut and fit. Sleeves just a tad long, but I don't mind that. Looking forward to wearing this coat."
Review 12 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cuddly jacket,
July 8, 2013
By: spumoni
from New York, NY
"This is a lovely soft wool jacket.
It feels soft, most likely warm, and is a lovely heather natural light brown
alpaca color. Unfortunately the fold
of the color did not feel comfortable on me and that is the reason I returned it. Perhaps on someone with a longer torso this would be a better fit. it appears a good style to wear almost any style scarf tucked in tied and worn outside the top of the garment.
I was sorry to have to return this.
"
Review 13 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Lightweight coat,
June 12, 2013
By: Hollyhock6
from England
"The coat would be perfect if the sleeves weren't so long. They will need to be shortened. But this is a small price to pay for an attractive coat of quality at an affordable price."
Review 14 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful coat in a a practical colour,
June 11, 2013
By: Evike
from Albany Western Australia
"This coat is excellent, long enough to keep body warm, and still allows freedom of movement. Elegant, warm, pretty. I love it."
Review 15 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful coat,
March 4, 2013
By: Barnacle
"The color was great, the fit was just fine with the exception of the sleeve length ... had to have the sleeves shortened. I can't wait to get it back from the tailor..."
Review 16 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a "dream" find,
February 26, 2013
By: HokieIndian
from Orange, VA
"This coat is beautiful beyond belief, fits like a glove and is the perfect color to go with so many of the clothes I wear. I look forward to wearing it and showing it off for years to come!"
Review 17 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wool/alpaca coat,
January 11, 2013
By: whydoihavetohaveone
"I bought this coat for my wife and she loves it. Its a beautiful light weight and warm coat. Well made and detailed, and very soft."
Review 18 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Coat,
January 6, 2013
By: jannybananny
"I loved the picture online and in the catalog of this wool/alpaca coat. Previous reviews made me question what size to order. I settled on a size 8 (my usual size in coats). While the coat fits properly across the chest and hips, I am having it altered by my seamstress as the sleeves are too long and the shoulders are a bit too big. I'm willing to incur this additional expense to an already pricey coat because the coat itself is beautiful, soft and classy looking."
Review 19 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
onthebay,
December 29, 2012
By: onthebay
from Virginia Beach
"The merlot color is very attractive. While being very warm, this coat feels very light weight. The fit was perfect--not tight over a dress jacket."
Review 20 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful Coat BUT,
December 9, 2012
By: Bugs51
from Worthing
"I loved this coat. It feels beautiful & luxurious to wear. Really well made. Lovely colour (Heather Brown) but unfortunately the cut is tight. I am usually a UK 15 with Orvis, so took Orvis advice and sized up to a UK16. Fit on hips a little too snug. Does not allow for winter weight clothes underneath. Also because I sized up I found the arms far too long. If I was to exchange for a size UK18 the shoulders would be too big and length of the arms would be even longer on me! Shame as despite the price I would bought it had it fitted and flattered, but at that price it has to be a perfect fit and I have to be absolutely delighted with it, so I am sorry to say I had to return it."