Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat

The timeless warmth of wool meets the lush softness of alpaca in our beautifully tailored funnelneck coat. So slimming and flattering with front and back princess seaming and clean lines. Covered button-front placket. On-seam pockets. Fully lined. Wool/alpaca/polyamide/other outer; polyester/viscose lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: 4-16; about 34" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Review 1 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style and Comfort,
September 18, 2014
By: dotanne
from Portland, ME
"I have been looking for a warm winter coat for a couple of years to replace my current coat. This is exactly what I wanted because it is very comfortable, light weight, a lovely style but because of the materials it is warm. I managed to snag it when it was on sale so my usual size was not available but except for the sleeves being too long the coat seems to be cut in a way that the exact size is not crucial. I am having a tailor shorten the sleeves and then it will fit perfectly."
Review 2 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Winter Coat,
September 10, 2014
By: LMaclano
from Cape Cod
"I have had my eye on this coat since I first saw it on line. The sale price was great. The coat is well made, softest wool, great lining, classic lines and I love the wine color. Orvis quality is the best."
Review 3 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very classy coat!,
September 10, 2014
By: Alllie353
from DuBois, Pa.
"Received a beautiful wool/alpaca coat as a gift. Just love the color and how soft the coat is. It is actually a size smaller than I normally wear-and fits perfectly. Looking forward to cooler weather so I can wear it!"
Review 4 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful. . .but wrong for me,
September 2, 2014
By: Lhomm
from Finger Lakes, NY
"This is a lovely coat. The material is beautifully soft and the construction seemed to be of excellent quality. Unfortunately, this has princess styling which does not fit me. I ordered my usual size and I was concerned that if I ordered a larger size the already too long sleeves would be so long they would not be able to be shortened in a way which would be satisfactory."
Review 5 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium service!!!,
August 27, 2014
By: PerrysMom
"This coat appears to be beautifully made. The service was excellent - when the first coat I ordered was not the correct size, I called to exchange it for a different size. Orvis somehow found one in a retail store which was promptly sent to me."
Review 6 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for winter,
August 27, 2014
By: coopsmom
"Love this new coat...cannot wait for cold weather to wear it. Beautifully made, and the perfect length.
Thank you for such quality and style.
Joan in King George VA"
Review 7 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning,
August 25, 2014
By: Sunsurfsand
"Gorgeous coat. Well worth the price. Soft and warm."
Review 8 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
February 11, 2014
By: cassieflury
from wynne arkansas
"warm but lightweight,this coat meets all my expectations. classic styling makes this coat a long time friend,"
Review 9 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Coat,
January 21, 2014
By: HoneyHugo
from Hamburg, PA
"I love my new alpaca wool coat which I drooled over when I first caught sight of it. I really adore the color, the funnel neck and especially the warmth although the coat weighs so little. I waited for it to be put on sale and could wait no longer! I really love my new coat!"
Review 10 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coat great except for buttonholes and sleeve lengt,
January 16, 2014
By: ElversonWalker1
from Elverson, PA
"I absolutely love this coat and tried to find reasons that I should keep it. The sleeves were a little long, but I could have lived with that. The buttonholes are set inside individual little plackets which makes it difficult to button the coat. I tried several times, but the time involved in putting the coat on and taking it off were too much for me."
Review 11 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dress'-up & casual,
January 15, 2014
By: haha
from Davison, MI
"What a refreshing design for casual wear or dress up. Also the length is great for getting in and out of a vehicle. Love it!"
Review 12 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat,
January 14, 2014
By: LadyK
from Online
"Very well made and stylish coat. This coat arrived the evening before the arctic chill hit which was perfect timing. Warm coat but not too heavy. Others mentioned that the sleeves were long. They were a bit but all sleeves tend to be long on me and I didn't notice this being any different. True to size."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
January 13, 2014
By: aescpbd
from Wallburg, NC
"I am very impressed with the quality of this coat. The first detail I noticed, that is rare today, is that the 3 button cuffs, such as seen on a man's sport jacket, has actual buttonholes. This is a detail of a very well made item. Also, the piping where the lining is attached to the facing is beautiful. The online description says the garment is wool & alpaca. The wool content is 47%, alpaca, 37%. 14% polyamide (probably for stabilizing) and 2% other fiber. The alpaca makes it very soft to the touch. All in all, I am very satisfied with the purchase and after having seen it, the price is quite understandable."
Review 14 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever!!!,
January 6, 2014
By: Fify
from Knoxville, TN
"This is the best coat I have ever purchased. It is very warm and most importantly very elegant looking.
The material is extremely nice and very soft to the touch. I recommend it immensely.
"
Review 15 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Winter Coat,
January 3, 2014
By: BMarkwal
from Chicago, IL
"Ordered this beautifully tailored, fully lined, merlot colored coat as Christmas gift for my wife. She loves the soft, luxurious, alpaca wool and repeatedly commented how surprisingly warm, elegant, and light this garment feels."
Review 16 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful, warm and soft,
December 24, 2013
By: fawnfields
"Already had compliments on the coat. It is beautiful, the wool is so soft."
Review 17 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, warm, stylish,
December 22, 2013
By: BusyMom1
from Northern Virginia
"Superb material, excellent fit, true to size, I wear it constantly in the cold weather"
Review 18 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
September 25, 2013
By: farmerg
from Alberta
"Surprisingly lightweight. Beautiful cut and fit. Sleeves just a tad long, but I don't mind that. Looking forward to wearing this coat."
Review 19 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cuddly jacket,
July 8, 2013
By: spumoni
from New York, NY
"This is a lovely soft wool jacket.
It feels soft, most likely warm, and is a lovely heather natural light brown
alpaca color. Unfortunately the fold
of the color did not feel comfortable on me and that is the reason I returned it. Perhaps on someone with a longer torso this would be a better fit. it appears a good style to wear almost any style scarf tucked in tied and worn outside the top of the garment.
I was sorry to have to return this.
"
Review 20 for Wool/Alpaca Funnelneck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Lightweight coat,
June 12, 2013
By: Hollyhock6
from England
"The coat would be perfect if the sleeves weren't so long. They will need to be shortened. But this is a small price to pay for an attractive coat of quality at an affordable price."